Collection inventory


Finding Aids

William Ashton Letter

An inventory of his item(s) at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRR
Date: 26 May 2006

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Ashton, William
Title: William Ashton Letter
Dates: 1808
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Letter from Captain Henry Harvey of the brig Little George, to William Ashton, receipt for Ashton's wages, payable by the firm of Swartout, Dumont & Co.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The collection consists of a single holograph letter, written by Henry Harvey, Captain of the brig Little George, requesting payment of wages to William Ashton. A note added on the back dated [Sep?] 15th and signed by William Ashton indicates money was received.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Ashton, William
Harvey, Henry, Capt.

Corporate Bodies

Little George (Frigate)
Swartout, Dumont & Co.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Sailors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

William Ashton Letter,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Accessioned 27 May 1969


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 163 Letter 30 May 1808