Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Gladys Brierly Ashour Typescripts

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 4 Aug 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Ashour, Gladys Brierly.
Title: Gladys Brierly Ashour Typescripts
Dates: 1965-1968
Quantity: 0.25 linear ft.
Abstract: Typescripts for several of Ms. Ashour's children's books
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Gladys Brierly Ashour (1907?-2000) was an American author of children's books and stories.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Gladys Brierly Ashour Typescripts consists of six typescripts of Ashour's children's stories. Titles are given in full in the inventory below. At least one was explicitly submitted as a picture book, but the manuscripts do not include any illustrations, only text.


Arrangement of the Collection

Alphabetical by title.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has many collections relating to children's literature as well as a large number of published works. For manuscript collections, please refer to the SCRC Subject Index . For published works, please refer to the Classic Catalog .


Subject Headings

Persons

Ashour, Gladys Brierly.

Subjects

Authors, American.
Children's literature.
Picture books for children.

Genres and Forms

Typescripts.

Occupations

Authors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Gladys Brierly Ashour Typescripts,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Gladys B. Ashour, 1966, 1968.


Table of Contents

Writings


Inventory

Writings
Box 1 Small Witch in the Barn
Box 1 Stocking Full of Christmas - contains 8 very short stories
Box 1 The Dancing Autumn Leaf / The Leaf That Wouldn't Be a Bonfire 1965
Box 1 The Elm Tree Bridge 1965
Box 1 Paleto (The Sad Little Burro) 1965
Box 1 The Sleepy Caboose 1965