Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Harry S. Ashmore Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: DMW
Date: 16 Nov 1979

Revision history:
26 Feb 2010 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Ashmore, Harry S.
Title: Harry S. Ashmore Papers
Dates: 1957-1974
Quantity: 2 linear ft.
Abstract: Manuscripts and writings of the Pulitzer Prize-winning American journalist.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Harry S. Ashmore (1916-1998) was an American journalist and author. During his tenure as executive editor of the Arkansas Gazette, the paper won a Pulitzer Prize for Public Service (1957) for its coverage of the school integration conflict in Little Rock, Arkansas. In 1959 he relocated to California where he worked with the Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions in Santa Barbara (1959-1974) and served as editor in chief of the Encyclopedia Britannica (1960-1963). He is the author of eleven books, many of them on civil rights and race in America.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Harry S. Ashmore Papers consists entirely of writings. There are typescripts and galleys of books and articles on various topics of local (Arkansas) and national interest, including Arkansas history, the effects of technological changes, desegregation, busing, racism, etc.


Arrangement of the Collection

Material is arranged alphabetically by title.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has the papers of many notable journalists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing. Many of Ashmore's published works are available in the general collection; please refer to the Classic Catalog to locate these items.


Subject Headings

Persons

Ashmore, Harry S.

Subjects

African Americans -- Southern States.
Freedom of the press -- United States.
Race relations -- United States.
Race relations and the press.

Places

Arkansas -- History.
United States -- Foreign relations -- Vietnam.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Manuscripts for publication.
Speeches.
Typescripts.

Occupations

Author.
Journalist.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Harry S. Ashmore Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Harry S. Ashmore, 1968-1969, 1973.
"Dilemma in Race Relations" gift of Thomas L. Johnson, University of South Carolina, 1978.
"Arkansas and the Burden of Change" manuscripts gift of the Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions, 1978.


Table of Contents

Writings


Inventory

Writings
Books
Box 1 The Burdens of change - typescripts (3 folders)
Box 1 The edge of bitterness - galleys
Box 1 An epitaph for Dixie - typescript, galleys (2 folders)
Box 1 Fear in the air - typescript, galleys (2 folders)
Mission to Hanoi
Box 1 Typescripts
Box 2 Typescripts (6 folders)
Box 2 Research (4 folders)
Box 2 The other side of Jordan - typescripts
Editorial works
Box 2 The technological order - typescript
Speeches
Box 2 "The dilemma in race relations"
Articles
Box 2 "Cause, effect and cure"