Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Archbold Family Collection

A description of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 9 Sep 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Archbold family.
Title: Archbold Family Collection
Dates: 1790-1916
Quantity: 24 linear ft.
Abstract: Correspondence, photographs, family histories, scrapbooks, manuscripts, diaries, address books and more, most relating to John Dustin Archbold and his daughter Anne Archbold.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

John Dustin Archibold (1848-1916) John Dustin Archbold (1848-1916) was an American capitalist, philanthropist, and President of the Board of Trustees at Syracuse University. He was known as John D. Rockefeller's right hand man at the Standard Oil Company and was the company's frequent spokesperson. After the Standard Oil Company's dissolution in 1911 due to a Supreme Court decision, he became president of the Standard Oil Company of New Jersey, a position he occupied until his death. He was a close friend of Syracuse University Chancellor James R. Day, and gave almost $4,000,000 to the University over his lifetime. His donations financed the construction of the Archbold Stadium, Archbold Gymnasium, and the Sims Hall dormitory. His grandson John Dana Archbold (1910-1933) was a philanthropist, engineer, conservationist, businessman, dairy farmer, Officer of the Order of the British Empire, and trustee emeritus of Syracuse University.

Anne Archbold, John's daughter, was born in 1873. She married Armar Dayrolles Saunderson, a British MP, in 1906. She was a strong supporter of science, parks and conservation. She and her family were the owners and builders of Hillandale, a 78-acre estate near near Georgetown, where their guests included guests included Queen Elizabeth, Gertrude Stein, Eleanor Roosevelt, Leopold Stokowski, Noel Coward and Madame Chiang Kai-Shek. Like the rest of her family she was an active philanthropist, contributing to numerous civic and fine arts causes.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Archbold Family Papers consists of correspondence, photographs, family histories, scrapbooks, manuscripts, diaries, address books and more, most relating to John Dustin Archbold and his daughter Anne Archbold.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

See also the John D. Archbold Papers.


Subject Headings

Persons

Archbold family.
Archbold, Anne, 1873-1968.
Archbold, John D. (John Dustin), 1848-1916.

Corporate Bodies

Standard Oil Company

Subjects

Petroleum industry and trade -- United States.

Places

Europe -- Description and travel.

Genres and Forms

Address books.
Calendars.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Diaries.
Genealogies.
Passports.
Photograph albums.
Photographs.
Scrapbooks.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Archbold Family Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of the American Heritage Center, University of Wyoming, 2008.


Table of Contents


Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.