Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Antique Comb Collector's Club (AC3) Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 25 Oct 2013

Revision history:
9 Sep 2014 final issue added (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Antique Comb Collectors Club (U.S.)
Title: Antique Comb Collector's Club (AC3) Collection
Dates: 1985-2014
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Index to club newsletters, bibliography of publications of interest, history of the club, more.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The Antique Comb Collector's Club (AC3) was formed in 1985 by Betty Miller and Doris Eff to enable those interested in antique combs and hair ornaments to exchange information and research, and share their passion for these collectible items. The club's first convention was held in Florida in 1993. The club was active until 2013.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Antique Comb Collector's Club (AC3) Collection consists of an assortment of material relating to the club's history. These include a history of the founding of the club, a membership roster from the mid-2000s, copies of the first and last newsletter, a bibliography, and more.


Arrangement of the Collection

Alphabetical by type or title.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Numerous issues of the club's newsletter, Antique Comb Collector, have been cataloged. Please refer to the Classic Catalog to locate these items.

Special Collections Research Center has numerous other collections with sketches, designs and other items related to hair combs. Please search our collections for "combs" to see a full listing.


Subject Headings

Persons

Beall, Glenn.

Corporate Bodies

Antique Comb Collectors Club (U.S.)

Subjects

Hair ornaments -- Collectors and collecting.
Ornamental combs -- Collectors and collecting.

Genres and Forms

Bibliographies.
Indexes.
Newsletters.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Antique Comb Collector's Club (AC3) Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Glenn and Patsy Beall, 2013, 2014.


Table of Contents

Club papers and records


Inventory

Club papers and records
SC 701 Bibliography of relevant publications 2011
SC 701 Index to newsletters 2011
SC 701 History of Antique Comb Collectors Club 1996
SC 701 Membership roster and catalog 2007-2008
SC 701 Newsletters, first and last issues 1985, 2013-2014 - includes letter from Board of Directors member Glenn Beall summarizing the current situation and recommending the club be disbanded