Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Mary Raymond Shipman Andrews Papers

An inventory of her papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: CAK
Date: 10 Jun 1979

Revision history:
10 Oct 2007 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Andrews, Mary Raymond Shipman, d. 1936.
Title: Mary Raymond Shipman Andrews Papers
Dates: 1808-1936
Quantity: 2.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American author, dramatist, novelist, poet, and short story writer. Collection includes typescript and holograph writings, including book manuscripts, essays, plays, poems, short stories, and notebooks. Also, some family material, such as writings, clippings, memorabilia, a scrapbook, and correspondence, including letters from Theodore Roosevelt to Judge and Mrs. Andrews.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Mary Raymond Shipman Andrews (1860-1936) was an American author, dramatist, novelist, poet, and short story writer. Her best known piece is The Perfect Tribute, a short story about Abraham Lincoln. Her husband was a judge of the New York Court of Appeals; they resided in Taunton, New York.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Mary Raymond Shipman Andrews Papers is divided into two series. Writings consists of handwritten notes and drafts, typescripts, a few clippings of printed short stories, and one book. Miscellaneous contains limited correspondence, some family letters dating from 1808, some family writings, news clippings and memorabilia.

Of special interest are letters written by Thomas Gold, Mr. Andrews' grandfather, to Peter Smith, abolitionist, and several letters to Judge and Mrs. Andrews from Theodore Roosevelt.


Arrangement of the Collection

Writings are subdivided by type. Miscellaneous is arranged alphabetically by type of material.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Andrews, Mary Raymond Shipman, d. 1936.
Roosevelt, Theodore, 1858-1919.

Subjects

American literature -- 20th century.
American poetry -- Women authors.
American prose literature -- Women authors.
Women authors, American.
Women dramatists, American.
Women novelists, American.
Women poets, American.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Essays.
Notebooks.
Poems.
Scrapbooks.
Scripts (documents)

Occupations

Authors.
Dramatists.
Novelists.
Poets.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Mary Raymond Shipman Andrews Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Writings

Miscellaneous


Inventory

Writings
Handwritten drafts
Box 1 Notebooks (26 volumes)
Box 1 Fragments (2 folders)
Typescripts
Books
Box 1 Florence Nightingale
Box 1 A Very Small Girl
Box 1 Essays
Box 1 Plays (4 folders)
Box 2 Poetry (2 folders)
Box 2 Short stories (11 folders)
Box 2 Fragments
Printed works
Box 3 Magazine stories
Box 3 The Perfect Tribute
Miscellaneous
Box 3 Correspondence (3 folders)
Box 3 Family mementos
Box 3 Herbert Shipman's poetry
Box 3 News clippings
Box 3 Research material
Box 3 Scrapbook