Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Nathan P. Ames Letters

An inventory of his item(s) at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRR
Date: 26 May 2006

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Ames, Nathan P., 1803-1847
Title: Nathan P. Ames Letters
Dates: 1834
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Two holograph letters to Nathan P. Ames concerning orders placed with his company, Ames Manufacturing, in Chicopee Falls, Massachusetts
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Nathan P. Ames founded a cutlery business in Chicopee Falls, Massachusetts in 1829 which among other things provided a large number of swords by contract to the United States government. The business relocated to Cabotville in 1834 and added a foundry which furnished most of the brass cannon for the United States army, as well as casting statues.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The collection consists of two holograph letters from 1834 (about the time the factory relocated) regarding swords ordered from Ames Manufacturing.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Ames, Nathan P.
Griswold, Henry W.

Corporate Bodies

Ames Manufacturing Company

Subjects

Government contractors, United States
Industrialists, United States

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Industrialists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Nathan P. Ames Letters,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Removed from Rare Books


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 162 Lambert, W[illia]m 21 Jun 1834 - sent from Washington DC
SC 162 Griswold, H[enry] W. 15 May 1834 - signed "H. W. Griswold/Capt. 1st Regt. Arty." and sent from "Castle Pinckney, Charl[e]stown, S.C."