Collection inventory


Special Collections home page

American Institute of Architects Records

A description of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 30 Apr 2009



Biographical History

Based in Washington, D.C., the AIA has been the leading professional membership association for licensed architects, emerging professionals, and allied partners since 1857. The AIA serves as the voice of the architecture profession and the resource for its members, through advocacy, information, and community. [Taken from the AIA website, http://www.aia.org/about/index.htm.]


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The American Institute of Architects Records consists of office files, financial files, official records, membership information, publications, films, audiotapes, photographs, exhibit memorabilia, and architectural drawings


Arrangement of the Collection

Most series are arranged alphabetically by name, type, or title.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Additional access restrictions lifted in 2008.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has the papers of many notable architects, inluding Marcel Breuer, Pietro Belluschi, William Lescaze, and many more. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

American Institute of Architects.

Subjects

Architecture -- New York (State)

Genres and Forms

Architectural drawings (visual works)
Audiocassettes.
Film reels.
Minutes (administrative records)
Newsletters.
Photographs.
Reports.

Occupations

Architects.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

American Institute of Architects Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of American Institute of Architects, 1971, 1988.


Table of Contents

Architectural drawings

Board of directors

Exhibit material

Films and audiotapes

Financial material

Official records

Office files

Members

Photographs

Publications

Seminars, conventions and symposia


Inventory