Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Lillian Sweet Allen Papers

An inventory of her papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: --
Date: unknown

Revision history:
12 Apr 2007 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Allen, Lillian Sweet.
Title: Lillian Sweet Allen Papers
Dates: 1905-1961
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American genealogist. Correspondence, manuscripts, photographs, and some published material relating to the genealogy of the Bly, Rich, Sweet, Towner, Vaughn and Whitford families.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Lillian Sweet Allen was an American genealogist. Families of interest to her include the Bly, Rich, Sweet, Towner, Vaughn and Whitford families.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Lillian Sweet Allen Papers are divided into correspondence, subject files, manuscripts and published material. Correspondence (1905-1961) includes letters written by and to Mrs. Allen and Jared E. Allen. They relate to genealogical matters and are arranged alphabetically by subject (i.e. family name). Within each family the correspondence is filed chronologically. One Subject file contains undated photographs of various members of the Sweet family. Manuscripts contains notes and notebooks of Mrs. Sweet concerning the various families. These materials are arranged alphabetically by type and then alphabetically by family name. Finally, Published materials contains a book and two newspaper clippings, arranged alphabetically by type.


Arrangement of the Collection

See Scope and Contents above.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Allen, Lillian Sweet Archives.
Bly family Genealogy.
Rich family Genealogy.
Sweet family Genealogy.
Towner family Genealogy.
Whitford family Genealogy.

Subjects

Women genealogists, United States.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Genealogies.
Notebooks.
Photographs.

Occupations

Genealogists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Lillian Sweet Allen Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift, 1963.


Table of Contents

Correspondence

Subject files

Manuscripts

Published material


Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 Bly family 1924-1927
Box 1 Rich family 1924-1926
Box 1 Sweet family 1905, 1913, 1922-1927, 1947, 1961, undated
Box 1 Towner family 1926
Box 1 Vaughn family 1925-1926
Box 1 Whitford family 1924-1926
Subject files
Box 1 Photographs
Manuscripts
Notes
Box 1 Bly family
Box 1 Rich family - with galley proof
Box 1 Sweet family - and published material
Box 1 Vaughn family
Box 1 Whitford family
Box 1 Notebooks
Box 1 Notebooks
Published material
Box 1 Book, Ancestral Tablets, by William Whitmore
Box 1 Newspaper clippings