Collection inventory


Finding Aids

James Lane Allen Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 28 Oct 2011

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Title: James Lane Allen Collection
Dates: 1921-1966
Quantity: 4 folders (SC)
Abstract: Correspondence to and about, and writing by and about, the American novelist and short story author. His work often depicted the culture and dialects of his native Kentucky.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

James Lane Allen (1849-1925) was an American novelist and short story author. His work often depicted the culture and dialects of his native Kentucky, such as his 1894 novel A Kentucky Cardinal.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The James Lane Allen Collection consists of correspondence to and about, and writings by and about, the American novelist and short story author. The collection was probably accumulated by John S. Mayfield, American bibliographer, librarian and book collector.

Correspondence with Allen consists of two brief notes from Allen to Mayfield. Correspondence about Allen contains several letters between Mayfield and various book dealers, and two between Mayfield and the editor of Autograph Collectors Journal regarding an article Mayfield was writing on Allen.

Writings by Allen consist of a printed copy of Allen's short story "The Ash-Can," signed and inscribed by him. Writings about Allen contains a newspaper clipping from the Austin Statesman, 1925; manuscript drafts of Mayfield's article "The Cordial and Logical Mr Allen"; and a copy of the Autograph Collectors Journal in which the published article appears.


Arrangement of the Collection

Alphabetically by type of material.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has a number of published works by Allen cataloged in our Rare Books holdings, as well as several other small collections created by John S. Mayfield. Please refer to the Classic Catalog and search on either of their names for a complete list.


Subject Headings

Persons

Allen, James Lane, 1849-1925 -- The ash-can.
Allen, James Lane, 1849-1925.
Mayfield, John S., 1904-1983.

Subjects

Authors, American -- 19th century.
Regionalism in literature.

Places

Kentucky -- In literature.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Essays.
Manuscripts for publication.
Short stories.

Occupations

Authors, American.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

James Lane Allen Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unknown.


Table of Contents

Correspondence

Writings


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 676 With Allen 1924
SC 676 About Allen 1948, 1951-1952, 1966 - includes some dealer lists
Writings
SC 676 By Allen 1921 - "The Ash-Can," reprint from Century Magazine, signed and inscribed
SC 676 About Allen 1925, 1952