Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Lewis Allan Typescript

A description of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 29 Sep 2008

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Allan, Lewis, 1903-1986.
Title: Lewis Allan Typescript
Dates: Undated
Quantity: 1 item (SC)
Abstract: Typescript for a play, "Song of Freedom," by the author of the poem and song "Strange Fruit."
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Lewis Allan was the pen name of Abel Meeropol (1903-1986), a Jewish American writer and poet. He wrote numerous songs and poems, including hit songs for Frank Sinatra and Peggy Lee, and taught at DeWitt Clinton High School in the Bronx. One of his pieces, the anti-lynching poem "Strange Fruit," was performed by Billie Holliday, set to music written by Meeropol; the song was inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame in 1978. Meeropol and his wife were also the adoptive parents of the young sons of Julius and Ethel Rosenberg.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Lewis Allan Typescript consists of the typescript for a play, "Song of Freedom," on the International Workers Order and the role of immigrants in America.

"The opponent of free education are also the enemies of the freedom of the slaves and the rights of women. You pay lip service to the first, but you have no more use for it than you have for the abolition of slavery and sex equality. The three are inseparable."
"Song of Freedom," Lewis Allen

Arrangement of the Collection

One item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has the papers of numerous individuals and organizations involved in education, social activism and reform, and labor. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Persons

Allan, Lewis, 1903-1986.

Corporate Bodies

International Workers Order -- In literature.

Associated Titles

Song of freedom.

Subjects

Radicalism in literature.
Theater -- Political aspects.

Genres and Forms

Plays (document genres)

Occupations

Dramatists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Lewis Allan Typescript,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchased from the Peter Graham Fund for Radicalism in Literature and Art, 2008.


Table of Contents

Writings


Inventory

Writings
SC 237 "Song of Freedom" undated - typescript