Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Robert Alexander Collection Relating to Frederik Pohl

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 27 Feb 2017

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Alexander, Robert.
Title: Robert Alexander Collection Relating to Frederik Pohl
Dates: 1936-2013
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Miscellaneous material pertaining to science fiction author Frederik Pohl
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Frederik George Pohl (1919-2013) was an American science fiction writer, editor and fan. He wrote novels and short stories, and was for ten years the editor of the Hugo Award-winning magazines Galaxy and If. He won numerous awards over the course of his ceventy-five-year career, including the Damon Knight Memorial Grand Master Award in 1993, and was inducted into the Science Fiction and Fantasy Hall of Fame in 1998.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Robert Alexander Collection Relating to Frederik Pohl consists of a few items pertaining to science fiction author Frederik Pohl, including two signed items and a photograph of Pohl with an unidentified man.


Arrangement of the Collection

No order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Included with the collection were more than two hundred novels and short story collections by Pohl, many of which were special or limited editions. These have been sent to Rare Books for cataloging. Please refer to the Classic Catalog and search on "Gift of Robert Alexander" to locate these items.

See also the Frederik Pohl Papers.


Subject Headings

Persons

Pohl, Frederik.

Subjects

American literature -- 20th century.
Authors, American.
Editors -- United States.
Novelists, American.
Science fiction, American.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Fanzines.
Photographs.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Robert Alexander Collection Relating to Frederik Pohl,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Robert Alexander, 2016.


Table of Contents

Memorabilia


Inventory

Memorabilia
Miscellaneous 1936, 1937, 2013 - correspondence, photograph, signed fanzines