Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Hartley Burr Alexander Letter

An inventory of his item(s) at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRR
Date: 26 May 2006

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Alexander, Hartley Burr, 1873-1939
Title: Hartley Burr Alexander Letter
Dates: 1925
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: 2-page holograph letter, signed
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Hartley Burr Alexander, anthropologist, poet, philosopher, educator and authority on North American Indian mythology, is perhaps best known as author of the symbolism and inscriptions on the Nebraska State Capitol and other buildings across the United States. He was born in Lincoln, Nebraska; raised in Syracuse, New York; and lived in Lincoln, where he was a professor of philosophy at the University of Nebraska. He was inducted into the Nebraska Hall of Fame in 1989.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The collection consists of a single two-page holograph letter dated 17 Oct 1925 on University of Nebraska letterhead. The letter is addressed to "Dear Mr. La Flesche" in Washington DC and is signed. Francis La Flesche was also an American Indian scholar, particularly of the Osage. The letter mentions both Alexander's book Manito Masks, and an unidentifed book by La Flesche (probably The Osage Tribe: Rite of Vigil published in 1925).


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Alexander, Hartley Burr, 1873-1939
La Flesche, Francis, d. 1932

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Hartley Burr Alexander Letter,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Removed from Rare Books


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 161 Letter: "Dear Mr. La Flesche..." 17 Oct 1925 - holograph, signed