Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Aleona Ship's Account Book

An inventory of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 8 Mar 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Aleona (Ship)
Title: Aleona Ship's Account Book
Dates: 1803-1804
Quantity: 1 volume
Abstract: Account book of a merchant ship's voyage from Baltimore, Maryland to Amsterdam, Holland and back. Disbursements for food, stowage, clearing papers, fees, equipment, repairs, wages, crew clothing.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Nothing is known about this ship other than what is given in the volume. William Armstrong Fairburn's Merchant Sail, a comprehensive six-volume index of ships, lists four ships with this or a similar name (Aleona, Abeona, Abeona II, and Abeyone), but the earliest of these was built in 1811 so none is a match.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Aleona Ship's Account Book is the account book of a merchant ship's voyage from Baltimore, Maryland to Amsterdam, Holland and back. The account book lists disbursements for food, stowage, clearing papers, fees, equipment, repairs, wages, crew clothing.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single volume.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Other ship's logs of various types in our holdings include those of the Iris, Lowther Castle, Canandaigua and Nimrod. Personal logs of sailors aboard various ships include John Sewall (medical officer on the U.S.S. Saratoga) and William Manson (captain of the Simon Taylor).


Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Aleona (Ship)

Subjects

Merchant marine -- 19th century.
Merchant ships -- 19th century.
Ship's papers -- 19th century.
Shipping -- 19th century.

Genres and Forms

Account books.

Occupations

Shipping.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Aleona Ship's Account Book,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1968.


Table of Contents

Financial papers


Inventory

Financial papers
Volume MV-2 Account book 1803-1804