Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Margaret Lewis Albanese Papers

An inventory of her papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: KM
Date: May 1987

Revision history:
30 Mar 2007 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Albanese, Margaret.
Title: Margaret Lewis Albanese Papers
Dates: 1951-1969
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American poet. Manuscript poems, notes and worksheets, photographs, and published materials.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Margaret L. Albanese was born in Los Angeles, California on May 25, 1911. She graduated from Mills College with a B.A. in 1933 and was a student at the University of California for the next two years. She married Joseph Albanese in 1935 with whom she had one daughter. Mrs. Albanese produced a radio program of poetry in California from 1947 to 1955; she has since won several awards for her poetry and is the author of Heir to Eden (1951) and Fortune My Foe (1967). Her work has appeared in the London Poetry Review and the Saturday Review. Ms. Albanese was a member of the Poetry Society of America, the California Writers Club, and the American Association of University Women. She lives with her husband in San Rafael, California.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Margaret Lewis Albanese Papers include photographs, manuscripts of music, typescripts of poems, and published material. Subject files consist of a single folder of photographs of Albanese. Manuscripts contains copies of the music written to accompany Albanese's poems, notes and worksheets of her poetry, and a typescript copy of a collection of her poetry, "Therefore with Angels." Finally, Published material compriese two books, Heir to Eden (1951) and Fortune My Foe (1967).


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Albanese, Margaret.

Subjects

American poetry -- 20th century.
American poetry -- Women authors.
Poets, American.
Women poets, American -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Photographs.
Poems.

Occupations

Poets.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Margaret Lewis Albanese Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Margaret Albanese.


Table of Contents

Subject files

Manuscripts

Published material


Inventory

Subject files
Box 1 Photographs of Albanese 1956-1963
Manuscripts
Box 1 Fortune My Foe - typescript with music
Box 1 Therefore with Angels - music
Box 1 Therefore with Angels - typescript of poetry collection
Box 1 Poems (various) - typescripts
Box 1 Notes and worksheets for various poems
Published material
Books
Box 1 Fortune My Foe 1967
Box 1 Heir to Eden 1951
Articles about
Box 1 "Poetry permeates the City," San Francisco Examiner 31 Aug, 1969