Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Constantin Alajalov Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: KM
Date: Mar 1997

Revision history:
7 Nov 2005 EAD file created (MRR)
26 Oct 2012 extent revised (MBD)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Alajalov, Constantin, 1900-1987
Title: Constantin Alajalov Papers
Dates: 1929-1960
Quantity: 0.25 linear ft.
Abstract: Fan mail (1940-1950); published illustrations and covers from The New Yorker (1929-1960); and original drawings.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Illustrator, painter. Born in Rostov, Russia, Alajalov emigrated to the United States in 1923, and became a citizen in 1928.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Constantin Alajalov Papers comprises incoming correspondence and printed material of the Russian-born portrait painter, illustrator and cartoonist.

Spanning 1940-1960, the Incoming Correspondence is almost exclusively about Alajalov's covers for The New Yorker and The Saturday Evening Post.

Printed material consists of artwork and memorabilia, and includes Alajalov's New Yorker covers (1929-1960) and articles about him from American Artist and The Saturday Evening Post.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Alajalov, Constantin, 1900-1987.

Associated Titles

New Yorker (New York, N.Y. : 1925)

Subjects

Art, American -- 20th century.
Art, American.
Artists -- United States.
Illustrators -- United States.
Painters -- United States.
Russian Americans.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Drawings.

Occupations

Artists.
Illustrators.
Painters.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Constantin Alajalov Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Constantin Alajolov, 1964.


Table of Contents

Incoming correspondence

Printed material

Selected index to correspondence


Inventory

Incoming correspondence
Box 1 1940-1960 (2 folders)
Printed material
Artwork
Box 1 The New Yorker covers 1929-1960 (4 folders)
Memorabilia
Box 1 Articles about 1942, 1948

Selected index to correspondence