Collection inventory


Finding Aids

George F. Aker Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


The adult education holdings are collectively known as the
Alexander N. Charters Library of Resources for Educators of Adults.

Finding aid created by: PH
Date: Jul 1990

Revision history:
2 May 2006 converted to EAD (MRR)
24 Aug 2006 added "see also" list (MRR)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Aker, George F.
Title: George F. Aker Papers
Dates: 1957-1985
Quantity: 7 linear ft.
Abstract: Consists primarily of correspondence with some printed material, reflecting this educator’s professional career. The papers are arranged chronologically under the following associations and institutions with which Aker was affiliated: Adult Education Association of the U.S.A. (1957-1975), Canadian Association for Adult Education (1964-1970), Florida Adult Education Association (1958-1970), Florida State University (1958-1985), Illinois Adult Education Association (1950s-1960s), National Association for Public School Adult Education (1963-1970), and National Seminar on Adult Education Research (1961-1968). Correspondents whose letters are of significant depth and/or duration include Félix Adam, Sam Roy Allen, Ray Ast, Roger W. Axford, Edgar J. Boone, Alexander N. Charters, James H. Fling, Andrew Hendrickson, Cyril O. Houle, Joseph L. Jacques, Eugene I. Johnson, J.R. Kidd, Malcolm S. Knowles, Burton W. Kreitlow, Huey B. Long, Robert A. Luke, Howard Y. McClusky, Jules Pagano, Robert E. Sharer, Robert E. Snyder, and Wilson B. Thiede.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

George F. Aker was born June 2, 1927, the son of George Mosier and Vera Aker, in Fort Wayne, Indiana. He married Patricia Lou Lawson in 1946 and was the father of four children: Linda Lou, Kathy Ann, Jon Kent, and Susan Nanette. Aker earned a B.S. in 1950 from Purdue University and both an M.S. in 1958 and Ph.D. in 1962 from the University of Wisconsin. He held faculty positions at the universities of Missouri, Wisconsin and Chicago. In 1963 he joined the faculty of the Florida State University at Tallahassee. At the time of his death in 1987 he was a professor of adult education and director of the Division of Educational Management Systems at F.S.U.

An activist in national adult education organizations, Aker was a member of the Adult Education Association of the U.S.A. and its president from 1969-1970. He also served on the board of directors for the National Association of Public School Adult Education from 1963-1970. An author and editor of several books on the field of adult education, including the Handbook of Adult Education (1970), Aker also wrote numerous research papers, journal articles and training guides. George Aker's major professional interests were in the development of graduate study and research programs in adult education, and in psychological research to improve the efficiency of adult learning, especially among the disadvantaged and in third world countries. In addition, Aker pursued an interest in new systems of non-formal education as well as in the coordination of adult education with community services and the development of educational technologies for older persons.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The George F. Aker Papers consist primarily of correspondence with some printed material, reflecting this educator's professional career. The papers are organized under the various associations and institutions with which Aker was affiliated. Arranged alphabetically, they appear as follows.

Within each division there may be several sub-divisions, which appear alphabetically.

The collection is predominantly correspondence, which has been arranged chronologically within each organizational division. A Selected Index to Correspondence appears at the end of the inventory. This alphabetically arranged index indicates the various sub-divisions under which selected correspondents' letters are located, but does not provide access to other materials within the collection with which these individuals may have been associated. Among those selected for inclusion in the index are: persons important to the field of adult education; students and colleagues of Aker; nationally-recognized political figures; and/or persons whose papers are part of the adult and continuing education collections at Syracuse University. The latter are indicated by an asterisk preceding the name of the individual and include Charters, Alexander N.; Hendrickson, Andrew; Houle, Cyril O,; Jacques, Joseph L.; Kempfer, Homer; Knowles, Malcolm S.; Liveright, A.A.; Sharer, Robert E.; Sheats, Paul H,; and Stensland, Per G.

The Adult Education Association of the U.S.A. files date from 1957-1975. The period between 1969-1970 is particularly well represented, as during this time George Aker was president of AEA-USA. Within this division are the correspondence and printed material of the AEA's commissions, including the Commission of Professors of Adult Education, and various other committees, councils, and sections. Correspondence, chapter outlines and drafts for the Handbook of Adult Education (1970), of which Aker was the editor, are also included.

A file for the Canadian Association for Adult Education dates from 1964-1970. Included is some correspondence, general organizational information, and publication lists as well as background material and minutes of this organization's 1970 annual meeting.

The Florida Adult Education Association file contains correspondence and printed material from 1958-1970. The printed material includes meeting reports and minutes, constitutions, and the 1966-1967 Yearbook and Membership Directory.

The largest division in the collection is for Florida State University, the files of which range from 1958-1985. Incoming and outgoing correspondence is chronologically arranged but not interfiled. In addition to those individuals already mentioned as important to the collection, there are many other colleagues with whom Aker worked daily and whose contributions are noteworthy, some of whose papers are part of the adult and continuing education collections at Syracuse University (the latter are indicated by an asterisk preceding the name of the individual):

In addition, there are files for the Division of Educational Management Systems which Aker directed following the consolidation of the Department for Adult and Continuing Education and other educational departments within the university. The Institute on Education for Older Citizens (co-directed with Andrew Hendrickson) and the National Institute for Resource Development and Utilization in Adult Basic Education - Phase III are also major sub-divisions under Florida State University. Completing these organizational records are site visitation reports for the Career Opportunities Program, conferences and meetings files, newspaper clippings, and an Information File which includes material on adult education grouped by subject.

There is one file for the Illinois Adult Education Association dating from the 1950s-1960s. This file contains a copy of the constitution and bylaws as well as a readings list and speech from the 1963 annual meeting.

The National Association for Public School Adult Education covers the period 1963-1970. It includes files for Aker's tenure as a member of its board of directors and his involvement with the Professional Development Committee. As is true of the collection in general, these files contain mostly correspondence, but there is some printed material, primarily in the form of budgets, minutes and reports.

The National Seminar on Adult Education Research is the final division in the collection. It covers the annual seminar from 1961-1968, with each file devoted to a particular year. Included in the files may be any combination of correspondence and printed material such as reports, rosters and general seminar information.


Arrangement of the Collection

The following is an outline of the arrangement of the collection. A more detailed listing of the collection contents, with specific references to location, appears below.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

The library holds a considerable number of collections related to adult and continuing education. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

In particular, see also the following:

Persons in this collection whose papers are also held by Special Collections Research Center are indicated in the Selected Index to Correspondence by an asterisk.


Subject Headings

Persons

Adam, Félix, 1922-
Aker, George F.
Allen, Sam Roy.
Ast, Ray J.
Axford, Roger W.
Boone, Edgar John, 1930-
Charters, Alexander N.
Fling, James H.
Hendrickson, Andrew, b. 1899.
Houle, Cyril Orvin, 1913-
Jacques, Joseph L.
Johnson, Eugene I.
Kidd, J. R. (James Robbins), 1915-1982.
Knowles, Malcolm Shepherd, 1913-
Kreitlow, Burton W.
Long, Huey B.
Luke, Robert A.
McClusky, Howard Yale.
Pagano, Jules.
Sharer, Robert E., 1900-
Snyder, Robert E.
Thiede, Wilson.

Corporate Bodies

Adult Education Association.
Canadian Association for Adult Education.
Florida Adult Education Association.
Florida State University.
Illinois Adult Education Association.
Institute on Education for Older Persons (Florida State University)
National Association for Public School Adult Education.
National Seminar on Adult Education Research (U.S.)

Subjects

Adult education -- Research
Adult education -- United States
Educators -- United States
Older people -- Education

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Educators.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

George F. Aker Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of George F. Aker, 1976-1986


Table of Contents

Adult Education Association of the U.S.A.

Canadian Association for Adult Education

Florida Adult Education Association

Florida State University

Illinois Adult Education Association

National Association for Public School Adult Education

National Seminar on Adult Education Research

Selected index to correspondence


Inventory

Adult Education Association of the U.S.A.
Box 1 AEA Reporter 1970
Box 1 Budgets 1968-1970
Commissions
Box 1 Adult Basic Education 1969-1973
Commission of Professors of Adult Education
Box 1 Annual Meetings 1964-1972, 1975 (10 folders)
Box 1 Committee, Reporting 1959
Box 1 Committee, Research and Dissemination Assessment 1970
Box 1 Correspondence 1957-1971
See also Selected Index to Correspondence.
Box 1 Membership 1959-1970
Box 1 Newsletter 1972, 1975
Box 1 Objectives and Activities ca. 1968
Box 1 Progress Reports 1967-1968
Box 1 Skill Bank Summary 1968
Box 1 Study of the Career Patterns of Adult Education circa 1960
Box 1 Planning Adult Education Learning Systems, Facilities and Environments 1968-1974
Box 1 Research 1969-1970
Committees
Box 1 Action Now 1970
Box 1 Committee of Adult Education Organizations 1969
Box 1 Committee on Committees 1968-1970
Box 1 Executive 1967-1970
Box 1 Future Conferences 1969-1970
Box 1 Government Relations 1969-1971
Box 1 Inter-Association Relations 1969
Box 1 Joint AEA-NAPSAE 1960, 1968-1969
Box 1 Legislative Policies 1969-1972
Box 1 Mainline 1969
Box 1 Membership and Field Services 1967-1970
Box 1 National Program Resources Center 1969-1970
Box 1 Nominations and Elections 1967-1970
Box 1 Publications 1968-1970
Box 1 Regional Boundaries 1968
Box 1 Relationships between AEA and its Affiliates 1967-1970
Box 1 Resolutions 1968-1970
Box 1 Social Philosophy 1968-1970
Box 1 Steering 1966-1971
Conferences
Box 1 Annual 1962-1963, 1967-1971 (7 folders)
Box 1 Delegate Assembly 1967, 1968, 1969
Box 1 Galaxy Conference 1970
Box 1 1st National Consultation 1965
Box 1 Constitutions 1965-1970
Box 1 Correspondence, general 1967-1971 (3 folders)
See also Selected Index to Correspondence.
Councils
Box 1 State Associations 1969-1970
Box 1 Urban Affiliates 1970
Handbook of Adult Education 1970
Chapter Drafts
Box 1 Part I, Chapter 7, "The Educators of Adults" / Cyril Orvin Houle
Box 1 Part III, Chapter 23, "Curriculum and Content" / Roger W. Axford - 1st Copy, 2nd Copy
Box 1 Part III, Chapter 31, "Self-Fulfillment" / Glenn Jensen
Box 1 Part IV, Chapter 29, "Continuing Education in the Professions" / Alexander N. Charters
Box 1 Chapter Titles and Outlines
Box 2 Correspondence 1968-1970
See also Selected Index to Correspondence
Box 2 Guidelines 1968
Box 2 Preface 1969
Box 2 Reference materials
Box 2 Regional associations 1970
Sections
Box 2 Address lists 1967-1970
Box 2 Armed Forces Education 1962, 1969-1970
Box 2 Community College 1969-1970
Box 2 Community Development 1970
Box 2 Continuing Education for Women 1970
Box 2 Correctional Institutions 1969-1970
Box 2 Graduate Student 1969-1970
Box 2 Home and Family Life 1969
Box 2 Liberal Adult Education 1970
Box 2 Mass Media in Adult Education 1967-1970
Box 2 Public Affairs Education 1969
Box 2 Training and Professional Development 1969-1970
Box 2 Task Force on Common Concerns 1966
Canadian Association for Adult Education
Box 2 Miscellaneous 1964-1967
Florida Adult Education Association
Box 2 Miscellaneous 1958-1970
Florida State University
Box 2 Ad Hoc Committee on Promotion and Tenure
Career Opportunities Program - Site Visitation Reports
Box 2 Sequatchie County 1971
Box 2 South Carolina Commission for Farm Workers, Inc. 1968
Box 2 Walker County 1971
Box 2 Competency Based Program of In-Service Teacher Training in Adult Education 1972
Conferences
Box 2 Louisiana-Arkansas Bi-State Conference undated
Box 2 New York Association for Continuing Education, 22nd Annual Conference 1973
Correspondence
See also Selected Index to Correspondence
Box 2 Incoming 1958-1971 (25 folders)
Box 3 Incoming 1972-1974 (17 folders)
Box 4 Incoming 1975-1985 (41 folders)
Box 5 Outgoing 1958-1971 (27 folders)
Box 6 Outgoing 1972-1984 (46 folders)
Educational Management Systems
Box 6 Advisory Committee 1976-1978
Box 6 North American Conference on Adult Education 1967
Box 6 Priorities 1977
Box 6 Technical Assistance 1976
Box 6 University Simon Rodriguez 1976
Information File
Box 7 Adult Armchair Education Program
Box 7 Adult Education Association of the U.S.A.
Box 7 Civic Education
Box 7 Community Services
Box 7 Florida Council on Aging
Box 7 Holt Adult Education Newsletter
Box 7 Liberal Arts Colleges
Box 7 Migration, Resettlement and Adjustment
Box 7 Military
Box 7 National Center for Health Statistics
Box 7 National Community School Education Association
Box 7 New Institutional Arrangements and Organizational Patterns for Continuing Education
Box 7 Pakistan
Box 7 Professional Training
Box 7 Research
Box 7 Resources
Box 7 Rural Education
Box 7 Texas Education Agency
Box 7 Veterans
Box 7 Youth Employment Act
Institute on Education for Older Citizens
Box 7 Correspondence 1968-1974 (7 folders)
See also Selected Index to Correspondence
Box 7 Grant Applications 1970-1973 (4 folders)
Papers by Andrew Hendrickson
Box 7 Program Outline 1971
Box 7 Reports 1969, 1972 (2 folders)
Meetings
Box 7 Administrative Council 1973
Box 7 Career Education Curriculum Laboratory Advisory Council 1973
Box 7 Comptroller's Advisory Group 1976
Box 7 Department Faculty 1967-1968
Box 7 Division Directors / Program Leaders 1974
Box 7 Program Advisory Committee 1976
National Institute for Resource Development and Utilization in Adult Basic Education - Phase III
Box 7 Application for Grant 1970
Box 7 Final Report ca. 1971
Box 7 Progress Reports, no. 2-11 1970-1971
Box 7 Staff Meeting Minutes 1970
Box 7 Newspaper Clippings
Box 7 Offender Assistance Project of Florida Junior College 1976
Box 7 Technical and Professional Development Institute for Correctional Educators 1969-1970
Illinois Adult Education Association
Box 7 Miscellaneous 1950s-1960s
National Association for Public School Adult Education
Box 7 Board of Directors 1965, 1967-1970 (5 folders)
Box 7 Conferences, Annual 1963, 1966 (2 folders)
Box 7 Professional Development Committee 1968-1970
National Seminar on Adult Education Research
Box 7 Annual meetings 1961-1968 (8 folders)

Selected index to correspondence

An asterisk beside a name indicates that Special Collections Research Center also has that person's papers. In each case, the name is given first and then the folder title(s) and dates where their correspondence can be found. For example, the first index item "Abolfotouh, Mahin - Florida State University / Correspondence : 1967 Oct. 19 (box 5)" indicates that correspondence with Mahin Abolfotouh may be found in the Florida State University / Correspondence folder in box 5, under the date of October 19, 1967.