Collection inventory


Finding Aids

American Foundation for Continuing Education (AFCE) Records

An inventory of its records at Syracuse University


The adult education holdings are collectively known as the
Alexander N. Charters Library of Resources for Educators of Adults.

Finding aid created by: EL
Date: Oct 1976

Revision history:
11 Apr 2006 converted to EAD (MRR)
21 Jun 2011 brochure, Box 31; formatting (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: American Foundation for Continuing Education
Title: American Foundation for Continuing Education (AFCE) Records
Dates: 1947-1965
Quantity: 19 linear ft
Abstract: Administrative files, general correspondence, financial documents, programs and projects (conferences, workshops, seminars), and publications. Individual correspondents include William W. Cowan, Stanley A. Gill, Charles A. Nelson, George W. Overton, William J. Trainor, Harold S. Williams, and Jerome M. Ziegler as well as officials from the Fund for Adult Education (FAE).
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Beginning in 1947 as the American Foundation for Political Education, this organization developed liberal education materials for study-discussion programs focused on politics, law, and international affairs; helped organizations, agencies, and institutions through consultation, program development, and leadership training; and prepared special materials on liberal arts and politics for business and industry. In the late 1950’s the Foundation’s subject interests, publications, and clientele grew and encompassed the fields of economics, science, the arts, and the humanities, thus prompting the Foundation to change its name to the American Foundation for Continuing Education. The Foundation garnered financial support largely by grants from the Fund for Adult Education, as well as participants’s fees and service charges. The Foundation ended most of its activities other than publications and revisions in 1965.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

Administrative files contain annual reports, board of directors minutes, meeting reports and agendas, funding information, staff meetings, and miscellany. Correspondence has four divisions: general correspondence (1953-1970); individuals and organizations; outgoing (1962-1969); subject. Key Foundation names appear as correspondents; William W. Cowan, Stanley A. Gill, Charles A. Nelson, George W. Overton, William J. Trainor, Harold S. Williams, and Jerome M. Ziegler; as well as officials from the Fund for Adult Education. Financial documents include account books, auditor and bank statements, income tax and related papers, payroll records, and other common financial data. Programs and projects include conferences, workshops, and seminars sponsored by the Foundation or in which the Foundation played a role. Of note, Arms and Foreign Policy Program (1962), Avenue to the Arts (1959-1963), Explorations of the Universe (1961-1963), Peace Corps Project (1960’s), and Science Program (1959-1964). Publications include discussion manuals and papers. Subject files have material of organizations with which the Foundation had contact. Miscellaneous papers consist of newsletters and an assortment of printed material.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

The library holds a considerable number of collections related to adult and continuing education. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Persons

Cowan, William Wallace
Gill, Stanley A.
Nelson, Charles A.
Overton, George W.
Trainor, William J.
Williams, Harold S.
Ziegler, Jerome M.

Corporate Bodies

American Foundation for Continuing Education.
American Foundation for Political Education.
Fund for Adult Education (U.S.)
Peace Corps (U.S.)

Subjects

Adult education.
Art -- Study and teaching.
International relations.
Science -- Study and teaching.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Manuals (instructional materials)
Minutes.
Reports.

Occupations

Adult education
Teachers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

American Foundation for Continuing Education (AFCE) Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Administrative files

Correspondence

Financial documents

Programs and projects

Publications

Subject files

Miscellaneous


Inventory

Administrative files
Box 1 "AFCE - Origin and Philosophical Basis" undated
Box 1 Administrative manual 1955
Advisors
Box 1 Advisors to AFCE 1961-1965
Box 1 Foundation advisors 1960
Box 1 New 1967-1968
Box 1 Renewed 1967
Box 1 Annual reports 1952, 1968
Board of Directors minutes
Box 1 1947 Apr 17 - 1952 Jun 30
Box 2 1952 Aug 6 - 1953 Apr 1
Box 2 1953 May 9 - 1954 Apr 1
Box 3 1954 May - 1955 May
Box 3 1955 Jun - 1956 Jun
Box 3 1956 Jul - 1957 Jun
Box 4 1957 Jul 1 - 1958 Jun 30
Box 4 1958 Jul 1 - 1959 Jun 30
Box 4 1959 Jul 1 - 1960 Jun 30
Box 5 1960 Jul 1 - 1961 Jun 30
Box 5 1961 Jul - 1961 Dec
Board of directors minutes, meeting reports and agendas
Box 5 1962 Jun 2
Box 5 1962 Nov 3
Box 5 1963 Jun 8
Box 5 1963 Dec 7
Box 6 1964 May 15
Box 6 1964 May 23
Box 6 1964 Nov 14
Box 6 1967 Feb 2
Box 6 By-laws 1953
Box 6 Corporate minutes and by-laws, draft forms 1959
Funding
Box 6 Foundation proposals, grants 1963
Box 6 Fund for Adult Education, grants 1960-1967
Box 6 Johnson Foundation, grants 1961
Box 6 Stern Family Fund 1966
Box 6 Inter-office memoranda 1959, 1960-1962
Box 6 Memoranda, various 1955-1962
Personnel
Box 6 File 1960-1962
Box 6 Resumes, various dates
Box 6 Science administration and programs 1960-1963
Staff meetings
Box 7 1955-1957, notes
Box 7 1961 Nov
Box 7 1962 Jan
Box 7 1962 May
Box 7 1962 Jul
Box 7 Staff memoranda 1962-1963
Box 7 Statistical information (AFPE) 1955
See also Subject files: American Foundation for Political Education
Box 14 Termination of AFCE 1965
Miscellaneous
Box 7 AFCE transfer to Aspen, CO 1965
Box 7 Future of AFCE (Trainor memorandum) 1963
Box 7 New York Office, transfer of 1963
Box 7 New York State registration papers 1953
Correspondence
General files
Box 7 1953-1960
Box 7 1961 Jan 1 - Aug 31
Box 7 1961 Sep 1 - Oct 31
Box 8 1961 Nov 1 - Dec 31
Box 8 1962 Jan 1 - Mar 31
Box 8 1962 Apr 1 - Jun 30
Box 8 1962 Jul 1 - Dec 31
Box 8 1963
Box 8 1964
Box 9 1965
Box 9 1966 Jan 1 - Jun 30
Box 9 1966 Jul 1 - Dec 31
Box 9 1967-1970
Individual files
Box 9 Arden House Conference 1959
Box 9 Bell and Howell 1960-1961
Box 9 Boardman, Harry 1959-1964
Box 9 Brooks, Shepherd 1957-1961
Box 9 Chagy, Gideon 1959-1962
Box 10 Crohn, Richard J. 1956-1961
Box 10 Daedalus 1960-1962
Box 10 Development and planning committee 1961
Box 10 Financial committee 1957-1962
Box 10 Geldzahler, Walter S. 1961
Box 10 General Electric Co. 1959-1960
Box 10 General Foods Corp. 1959-1960
Box 10 Harlan, H.C. 1960-1965
Box 10 Johnson, Robert B. 1961-1962
Box 10 Kendall College 1966-1967
Box 10 Moldof, Edwin 1961
Box 10 Nelson, Charles A. 1960-1964
Box 10 Oceana Publications Ltd. 1962-1964
Box 10 Percy, Charles H. 1960
Box 10 Pickus, Robert 1959-1961
Box 10 President's Commission on National Goals 1960
Box 10 Raymond, Bernard 1960-1962
Box 10 Stone, Sumner 1958-1961
Box 10 Trainor, William J. 1952-1962
Box 10 University of Chicago staff 1960-1962
Box 10 Washington office 1961
Outgoing files
Box 11 1962 Jan-Feb
Box 11 1962 Mar
Box 11 1962 Apr-May
Box 11 1962 Jun-Dec
Box 11 1963 Jan-Apr
Box 11 1963 May-Aug
Box 11 1963 Sep-Dec
Box 11 1964 Jan-Jun
Box 12 1964 Jul-Dec
Box 12 1965 Jan-Jun
Box 12 1967 Mar-Jun
Box 12 1967 Jul-Dec
Box 12 1968 Feb-Dec
Box 12 1969 Jan-Jun
Financial documents
Account books
Box 15 1957-1958
Box 15, 16 1958-1959 (6 folders)
Box 16 1960-1962 (5 folders)
Box 17 1962-1963 (2 folders)
Box 17 Auditors' statements 1952-1958 (4 folders)
Box 18 Bank books 1960-1969
Box 18 Bank records 1963-1965
Bank statements
Box 18 General account 1959-1963
Box 18 Operating fund account 1959-1963
Box 18 Payroll account 1959-1963
Box 18 Miscellaneous 1959-1963, 1965-1969
Box 18 Budget 1954-1955, 1962-1963
Box 19 Check books 1959-1960 (3 folders)
Box 19 Financial statements 1960, 1964-1968 (2 folders)
Income tax and related papers
Box 19 1948-1956 (2 folders)
Box 20 1957-1962, 1965, 1967-1968 (5 folders)
Lease papers 1953-1958
Payroll records
Box 20 1951, 1953-1956, 1958 (6 folders)
Box 21 1959-1960
Box 21 Sales tax exemptions (municipal) 1957
Box 21 Working papers (3 folders)
Miscellaneous
Box 21 American Foundation for Political Education 1948
Box 21 Salary scales 1954-1956
Programs and projects
African Leadership Project
See also Subject Files: African Leadership Project
Box 22 Funding 1961-1963
Box 22 Memoranda and various papers 1961-1963
Box 22 Proposal 1962
Box 22 Area Redevelopment Administration 1962-1963
Arms and Foreign Policy Program
Box 22 Memoranda 1962
Box 22 Sessions I-II, International Politics 1962
Box 22 Session III 1962
Box 22 Session IV, Force and Foreign Policy 1962
Box 22 Session V, The Cold War 1962
Box 22 Session VI, Thermonuclear War 1962
Box 22 Session VII, Limited War 1962
Box 22 Session VIII, Arms Control 1962
Box 22 Session IX, Disarmamentr 1962
Box 22 Session X, The Prospects Before Us 1962
Box 23 Aspen Institute for Humanistic Studies 1965-1967 - annual report drafts and related material
See also Subject files: Aspen Institute for Humanistic Studies
"Avenues to the Arts"
See also Subject files: "Avenues to the Arts"
Box 23 Incomplete set 1959
Box 23 Drafts, compilations (Sessions I-VI)
Box 23 Drafts of outlines, etc
Box 23 Permissions, literature 1959-1962 Jun
Box 23 Permissions, literature 1962 Jul - 1963
Box 23 Permissions, music 1959 Feb - 1959 Apr
Box 24 Permissions, music 1959 May - 1962 Mar
Box 24 Readings (1-2)
Box 24 Readings (3-8)
Box 24 Readings (10-11)
Box 24 Business programs, miscellaneous 1961-1963
Box 24 Capitol Hill Seminar proposal 1961-1963 (2 folders)
See also Subject files: Capitol Hill Seminar
Box 24 Carnegie Readings Project 1963-1965
Box 25 "The Citizen and the New Age of Science" 1960-1963 - proposal for a program and final report
See also Publications: Publication brochure and proposal for "The Citizen and the New Age of Science"
Box 25 Conference on Mass Media: Criticism of the Arts 1966-1967
Box 25 Developing Responsible Public Leadership 1961-1963
Box 25 Diplomat's Reading Program 1965-1966
Box 25 Discussion Program on Urbanism 1964 - outline draft
The Executive Seminar
Box 25 [General] 1959-1961 (2 folders)
Box 25 Permissions 1958-1959
"Explorations of the Universe"
Box 25 Discussion guide for text edition of draft circa 1962
Box 26 Discussion leader's guide
Box 26 Memphis Adult Education Center 1962
Box 26 NET television series 1961-1962
Box 26 New York reception 1962-1963
Box 26 Outline undated
Box 26 Suggestions for use of study-discussion program 1963
Box 26 Washington reception 1963
Box 26 Japan seminar 1966-1967
Box 26 KZSU Radio, Stanford University 1963-1966
Box 26 Labor education 1960-1962
Box 26 "Man and the Modern Community" undated - proposals
Box 26 Mass Media Program 1958-1961
"Mystery of Matter"
Box 26 Experimental groups 1963
Box 26 Fort Worth Public Library 1963
Box 26 Proposal outline undated
Box 26 University of Wyoming 1963
Box 26 Western Reserve University 1963
Box 26 Oak Ridge (ORINS) Project 1963-1965 - general correspondence
Box 26 Oak Ridge Summer Institute 1963-1965 - various papers
Box 27 Parent Education Project 1959
Peace Corps
See also Subject files: Peace Corps Project
Box 27 General 1960-1962
Box 27 Negotiated contract 1966
Peace Corps Project
See also Subject files: Peace Corps Project
Box 27 Asilomar costs 1967
Box 27 Commentaries 1966
Box 27 Conference for Project Directors 1967
Box 27 Confidential assessment reports 1962-1966
Box 27 Contracts and financial papers 1967
Box 27 Correspondence 1967
Box 27 Director's training program 1962
Box 27 Permissions to publish 1966
Box 27 Proposal 1965
Box 27 Returned Volunteers' Conference, evaluations 1-7 1967
Box 28 Returned Volunteers' Meetings 1965-1966
Box 28 Returned Volunteers' Program, final report 1967
Box 28 Various papers 1967
Peace Corps Seminar
See also Subject files: Peace Corps Project
Box 28 Discussion leader's guide, Vol. 1 (Vol. 2 missing) 1966
Box 28 Discussion leader's guide, Vols. 3-5 1966
Box 28 Discussion leader's guide, Vols. 6-8 1966
Box 27 "Peace in the Western World" Project 1967
Box 27 "Powerful Newspapers" Conference 1966-1967
Proposals
Box 29 Drafts undated
Box 29 National Science Foundation [ca. 1960-1961]
Box 29 "Pilot Redevelopment Education Program" undated
Box 29 Proposals by AFCE 1962-1963
Box 29 Various areas 1965-1966
Box 29 "The World of the Atlantic" undated
Box 29 Public Careers for Retired Corporate Executives 1964-1966
Box 29 RPCV meeting 1967 - group distributions materials
Box 29 Science and Religion Project 1964
Science Program
See also Subject files: Science Program
Box 29 Clippings and articles 1959-1963
Box 29 Draft of parts 4-9 undated
Box 29 Memoranda and printed material 1957-1960
Box 30 Printed material 1958-1969
Box 30 Promotion undated
Box 30 Various papers 1960-1964
Box 30 "Theological Renewal" 1966
Box 30 Third Southwest Seminar in Public Responsibility 1961-1962
United Steelworkers of America
Box 30 Proposal for Institute on Men and Labor 1962
Box 30 "Men and American Society" 1961
Box 30 Staff training conference 1960
Box 30 Young Presidents' Organization 1966-1967
Publications
Box 30 Advanced Management Training Program 1960 - evaluation report on
Box 30 Carson, Pirie, Scott, Publishers 1961
Box 30 Case histories 1962
Box 30 Complimentary and review copies, lists of 1962-1963
Box 30 Copyrights 1961
Box 30 Critical Issues and Decisions: A Program for Federal Executives 1962-1963 - reprint permissions
Box 30 Discussion Leaders' Manual, revised edition 1962
Box 31 Discussion Manual, draft undated
Box 31 "Education and Democracy" undated
Box 31 "Freedom of the Press," chapter VII undated
Box 31 "Man in the Political Community" 1965-1967
Box 31 "Manual for Leaders of Adult Discussion Groups on World Politics" (AFPE) 1951-1954
Box 31 McGraw-Hill Publishers 1962
Box 31 Miscellaneous forms and agreements 1965-1966
Permissions
Box 31 General 1963-1965
Box 31 "Law and the Lawless" 1968
See also Subject files: "Law and the Lawless"
Box 31 McGraw-Hill 1962-1965
Box 31 "Population in Perspective" (Louise Young, editor) 1967-1968 - outline
Box 31 Production schedules 1962
Box 31 Proofs and original copy for outstanding manuscripts undated
Box 31 "Programs and Publicatons" brochure undated
Box 31 Publication brochure and proposal for "The Citizen and the New Age of Science" 1963
See also Programs and projects: "The Citizen and the New Age of Science"
Box 31 Publications in continuing education 1967-1968
Box 31 Publications list for former CSLEA 1952-1963
Box 32 Publications pamphlet, photo-ready copy various dates
Box 32 Publishers, various papers 1961-1962
Box 32 Radio scripts, Harold Williams 1966
Box 32 Transfer papers for copyrights 1962
Box 32 Westinghouse permissions 1963
Box 32 "What is the Nature of Science?" undated (3 folders)
Subject files
Box 33 Adult Education Association (AEA) 1959-1964
Box 12 African Leadership Project 1962
See also Programs and projects: African Leadership Project
Box 33 American Assembly 1961-1963
Box 33 American Association for the Advancement of Science 1961-1963
Box 33 American Association of University Women 1951-1967 - study guides and various papers
American Foundation for Political Education (AFPE)
See also Administrative files: Statistical information (AFPE)
Box 33 "A Statement Concerning [its] Character, Activities, Purposes, Future Plans and Financial Condition" 1948
Box 33 Evaluation report (J.E. Ivey) and related papers 1952-1953
Box 33 Study of American Foundation for Political Education 1954
Box 33 American Management Association 1959-1961
Box 12 Annual reports, State of Illinois 1953-1958
Aspen Institute for Humanistic Studies
See also Programs and projects: Aspen Institute for Humanistic Studies
Box 34 Communications Conference 1965-1966
Box 34 Selections from the 1963 lecture series 1963
Box 34 Selections from the 1965 Lecture Series 1965
Box 34 Aspen Society of Fellows 1964-1966
Box 34 Atlantic Council of the U.S. 1963-1964
Box 13 "Avenues to the Arts" 1957-1963 (2 folders)
See also Programs and projects: "Avenue to the Arts"
Box 13 Capitol Hill seminar 1962-1963
See also Programs and projects: Capitol Hill Seminar proposal
Box 34 Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions 1962-1963
Box 34 Chicago Council on Foreign Relations 1960-1962 - seminar and various papers
Box 34 Chicago World Politics Program 1956-1962
Box 34 Committee for the Study of Mankind 1958-1961
Box 34 Committee of Correspondence 1960-1962
Box 35 Congressional investigations 1952-1953
Box 35 Council of National Organizations 1960-1961, 1962
Box 13 "Discovering Modern Poetry" 1960-1961
Box 13 "Education for Public Responsibility" 1961
Box 35 Educational television, printed material 1960
Box 35 Encampment for Citizenship 1960
Box 35 Film conference with UCLA 1965-1966
Box 35 Foreign Policy Association, Committee on Community Development 1960-1964
Box 35 Fund Raising Institute 1966
Box 13 Grants from foundations 1961-1965
Box 35 Great Books Foundation 1960-1962
Box 35 Harvard Business School Association 1960
Box 35 Illinois Statewide Conference on Adult Education 1962
Box 36 Institute for International Order 1960-1961
Box 36 Kawin, Ethel 1962
Box 13 "Law and the Lawless" 1967-1969
See also Publications: Permissions: "Law and the Lawless"
Box 36 Law-Science Academy of America 1966-1967
Box 36 Legislation undated
Box 36 Living Library 1962-1963
Box 36 National Center of Communication Arts and Sciences 1966
Box 36 National Council of the Churches of Christ 1963-1964
Box 36 National Educational Television 1959-1963
Box 36 National Science Foundation 1953-1969
National University Extension Association
Box 36 General material 1961
Box 36 Progress report of the Community Development Division 1961-1962
Box 36 NUEA Conference 1962
Box 36 Pasadena (area) Liberal Arts Center 1961-1962
Box 13 Peace Corps. project 1966
See also Projects and Programs: Peace Corps; Projects and Programs: Peace Corps Project; Projects and Programs: Peace Corps Seminar
Box 36 Press analyses, magazine articles 1948-1959
Box 36 Promotion letters 1962-1963
Box 14 Publishers (science publications) 1961-1962
Box 14 Science program 1957-1969 (3 folders)
See also Projects and Programs: Science Program
Box 36 Scientists' Committee for Radiation Information 1963
Box 36 Society for International Development 1962-1963
Box 37 Strategy for Peace Conference 1962-1963
Box 37 Thomas More Institute 1961-1962
Box 37 University of British Columbia 1961-1962
Box 37 University of Illinois, World Affairs Programs 1965
Box 37 University of Miami, Faculty Training Institute 1961-1964
Box 37 University of Wisconsin, Alumni Seminar 1962
Box 37 Urban renewal 1965-1967 - clippings
Box 14 Urban renewal 1963 - miscellaneous
Box 37 Westinghouse Electric Corp. Seminars 1961-1963
Box 37 Wingspread Assembly on National Goals 1959-1961
Miscellaneous
Box 37 Newsletters 1954-1961
Box 37 Printed material 1954-1961
Box 38 Printed material 1962-1966
Box 38 Publications (non-AFCE) 1959-1965
Box 38 Science newsletter layouts undated
Box 38 "Visiting Scholars in the United States" 1966-1967
Box 38 "Worldwide Register of Adult Education 1965
Box 38 Unidentified and fragments various dates