Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Adirondack Timber & Mineral Company Correspondence

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 22 Aug 2007

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Adirondack Timber & Mineral Co.
Title: Adirondack Timber & Mineral Company Correspondence
Dates: 1895-1902
Quantity: 1 folder, approx. 20 items (SC)
Abstract: Correspondence of the Adirondack Timber & Mineral Co., Ithaca, New York. The majority is from Titus B. Meigs, Treasurer of the company, to John C. Gauntlett; much of it is on letterhead of the Santa Clara Lumber Company, Tupper Lake, New York, of which Meigs was president.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Titus B. Meigs was a prominent personality in Central New York's timber and lumber industry in the late 19th and early 20th century. He was treasurer of the Adirondack Timber & Mineral Company (Ithaca, NY), president of the Santa Clara Lumber Company (Tupper Lake, NY), and part owner-operator of Dodge, Meigs & Co., lumber manufacturers.

John C. Gauntlett of Ithaca, NY, was involved in finance and public service in Tompkins County; positions held include vice-president of Ithaca Savings Bank and Tompkins County Bank, director of Ithaca Trust Company, member of the school board and National Guard, and town supervisor (twice).


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Adirondack Timber & Mineral Company Correspondence consists of letters and telegrams from Titus B. Meigs, treasurer of the company. All but one are addressed to "John C. Gauntlett, Trustee" and the majority concern checks for distributions from stock or the sale of land owned by the company.


Arrangement of the Collection

Items are arranged chronologically.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Gauntlett, John C.
Meigs, Titus B.

Corporate Bodies

Adirondack Timber & Mineral Company

Subjects

Business enterprises -- New York (State) -- Ithaca.
Lumber trade -- New York (State)

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Telegrams.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Adirondack Timber & Mineral Company Correspondence,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Trade, Steven Resnick.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 199 [General] 1895-1902