Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Robert Adams Daybook

A description of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: JTE
Date: 1969

Revision history:
8 Mar 2010 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Adams, Robert, d. 1793.
Title: Robert Adams Daybook
Dates: 1768-1775
Quantity: 1 volume
Abstract: Daybook of Robert Adams, proprietor of a general store in Johnstown, New York. Includes transactions with some well-known individuals such as Sir William Johnson (1715-1774) and his sons and sons-in-law, and Joseph Brant (1742-1807), also known as the Mohawk chief Thayendanegea. Also a microfilm version.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Robert Adams (d. 1793) was the proprietor of a general store in Johnstown, New York.

Sir William Johnson (1715-1774), son Sir John Johnson (1741-1830), nephew and son-in-law Guy Johnson (circa 1740-1788), and son-in-law Daniel Claus (1727-1787) were Loyalists, officers in the British Army, superintendents of Indian affairs in the northern colonies and in Canada, and landed gentlemen of Johnstown.

Joseph Brant (1742-1807), also known as Thayendanegea, was a Mohawk chief and leader of his people against the French and their Indian allies during the French and Indian wars. Joseph Brant's sister Mary (Molly) was Sir William's common-law wife and mother of eight of his children.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Robert Adams Daybook consists of "Day Book Number 4" of Robert Adams' general store in Johnstown, New York. The book includes transactions with a number of notable individuals, among them Sir William Johnson, his son Sir John Johnson, his nephew and son-in-law Guy Johnson, and his son-in-law Daniel Claus. There are also purchases by Joseph Brant, also known as the Mohawk chief Thayendanegea.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single volume.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Adams, Robert, d. 1793.
Brant, Joseph, 1742-1807.
Claus, Daniel, 1727-1787.
Johnson, Guy, approximately 1740-1788.
Johnson, John, Sir, 1742-1830.
Johnson, William, 1715-1774.

Subjects

Business enterprises -- New York (State) -- 18th century.
Businessmen -- New York (State) -- 18th century.
Merchants -- New York (State) -- 18th century.

Places

Johnstown (N.Y.) -- Commerce -- 18th century.
New York (State) -- Commerce -- 18th century.

Genres and Forms

Daybooks.

Occupations

Merchants.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Robert Adams Daybook,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of William H. Van Voast, 1962.


Table of Contents

Financial papers


Inventory

Note on alternate formats:

The entire volume is also available on microfilm in Special Collections Research Center.

Financial papers
Volume MV-503 Daybook 1768-1775