Collection inventory


Finding Aids

James Luther Adams Collection

A description of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 10 May 2016

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Syracuse University. -- Library. -- Special Collections Research Center.
Title: James Luther Adams Collection
Dates: TBD
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Correspondence, memorabilia, printed material, etc. pertaining to James Luther Adams, acquired by Special Collections Research Center separately from the James Luther Adams Papers, through purchase or gift.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

James Luther Adams (1901-1994) was a Unitarian parish minister, social activist, journal editor, distinguished scholar, translator and editor of major German theologians, prolific author, and highly respected divinity school professor for more than forty years. Adams played a pivotal role in the shaping of the discipline of social ethics in the United States.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The James Luther Adams Collection consists of correspondence, memorabilia, printed material, etc. pertaining to James Luther Adams, acquired by Special Collections Research Center separately from the James Luther Adams Papers, through purchase or gift.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

See also the James Luther Adams Papers and the James Luther Adams Foundation Records.


Subject Headings

Persons

Adams, James Luther, 1901-1994.

Subjects

Church and state -- Germany.
Church and state -- United States.
Religion and ethics.
Religion and state -- Germany.
Religion and state -- United States.
Theology -- Study and teaching.

Genres and Forms

Audiorecordings.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Manuscripts for publication.

Occupations

Ethicists.
Theologians.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

James Luther Adams Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of various individuals; see inventory below for details.


Table of Contents


Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.