Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Adolphe Adam Manuscript

An inventory of his item(s) at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRR
Date: 24 May 2006

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Adam, Adolphe, 1803-1856
Title: Adolphe Adam Manuscript
Dates: undated [1803-1856]
Quantity: 1 folder
Abstract: Original manuscript score of a song (unidentified) by French composer Adolphe Adam
Language: French
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Adolphe Adam was a French composer. He wrote primarily for the theatre, composing operas, ballets, light operas and vaudeville during his career. He is best known for some of his ballets, such as Giselle and Le Corsaire.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The collection consists of a single original manuscript (two leaves, written on both sides) for a song, in Adam's handwriting and with his signature at the top. The words are in French. The song is not identified.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

The Belfer Audio Archive at Syracuse University has recordings of a number of Adam's works. For a list, please refer to the Classic Catalog and search for "Adam, Adolphe" as author.


Subject Headings

Persons

Adam, Adolphe, 1803-1856.

Subjects

Music -- France.
Music -- Manuscripts.

Genres and Forms

Scores.

Occupations

Composers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Adolphe Adam Manuscript,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchased, July 1965


Table of Contents

Writings


Inventory

Writings
Package 1 Manuscript score undated