Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Association for Continuing Higher Education (ACHE) Records

An inventory of its records at Syracuse University


The adult education holdings are collectively known as the
Alexander N. Charters Library of Resources for Educators of Adults.

Finding aid created by: -
Date: -

Revision history:
26 Oct 2006 converted to EAD, additions (MRR)
2 Jun 2008 additions (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Association for Continuing Higher Education (U.S.)
Title: Association for Continuing Higher Education (ACHE) Records
Dates: 1952-2007 (bulk: 1970-1988)
Quantity: 8.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Administrative records of the adult education organization - meeting minutes (annual meetings, board of directors, committees), correspondence, directories, financial records, institutional membership files, and publications. Organizations represented include the Association of University Evening Colleges, the Adult Education Association, the Coalition of Adult Education Organizations and the Evening Student Personnel Association. Correspondents whose letters are of greatest depth and duration include Frank C. Carroll and Howell McGee.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Originally founded in 1939 as the Association of University Evening Colleges (AUEC), the organization was renamed the Association for Continuing Higher Education (ACHE) in 1973. ACHE's membership and services encompass the entire spectrum of continuing higher education in the United States and internationally. Initially, as AUEC, it focused on the needs of administrators and faculty of evening colleges, on the assumption that quality evening college professionals lead to quality evening collegiate programs. Today, in addition to evening programs, ACHE services influence all types of continuing higher education activities. The Association membership is divided into eleven regions, each of which conduct one or more regional meetings each year, and ACHE as a whole sponsors a general annual meeting.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Association for Continuing Higher Education (ACHE) Records contains administrative and organizational files from the adult education organization. Of particular interest are the institutional membership files, which offer a unique window into the milieu of American evening colleges in the late 1960s and early 1970s.

Annual meetings contains fliers, brochures, programs, and correspondence relating to ACHE's annual meetings. Board of directors contains lists of board members, minutes from board meetings, and board correspondence. Like most large organizations, ACHE had several dozen committees in existence at any given moment; this material is located in Committee files. Since committees began, ended, merged, separated, and sometimes changed their names at various times, there is some subject matter overlap amongst the files in this series. Regions contains material related to ACHE's separate regional chapters, most from the 1960s and 1970s with a subseries devoted to the 1989 regional conferences. Correspondence comprises general organizational correspondence covering nearly thirty years while Directories covers the same time period. Financial records comprises 35 years of financial reports.

Membership in ACHE was open to any evening college, but required an application and a site visit by ACHE representatives. These reports, formally written up and submitted by the site visit team to ACHE along with their recommendation, cover a range of topics -- enrollment size, course offerings, ratio of full-time to part-time faculty, whether or not evening students had their own student council and/or student publication, registration and commencement fees, and more. Institutional membership files contains applications and reports for more than one hundred evening colleges across the United States, and provides a unique snapshot of the state of evening college programs in the mid-1960s to early 1970s.

ACHE also formed Interassociational relationships with a number of other adult education organizations, including the Adult Education Association of the USA (AEA-USA), American Council on Education, Coalition of Adult Education Organizations (CAEO), Evening Student Personnel Association, International Council for Adult Education, and United States Association of Evening Students.

Publications contains material relating to ACHE's journal, Continuing Higher Education, other publications, and issues of various newsletters and news bulletins.

Miscellaneous includes background information on the organization (bylaws, constitution, statement of goals, handbook, logo development, membership survey, organizational profile), material relating to various miscellaneous topics (the 1967 Galaxy Conference, career education, the Canadian Association for University Continuing Education), and a notebook (disassembled and foldered) on the strategic planning retreat held in 1986.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

The library holds a considerable number of collections related to adult and continuing education. Among them are the records of ACHE's predecessor organization, the Association for University Evening Colleges (AUEC), and the records of the Coalition of Adult Education Organization (CAEO). Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing of all adult education collections.


Subject Headings

Persons

Carroll, Frank C.
McGee, Howell

Corporate Bodies

Adult Education Association
Association for Continuing Higher Education (U.S.), Archives
Association of University Evening Colleges (U.S.)
Coalition of Adult Education Organizations
Evening Student Personnel Association

Subjects

Adult education

Genres and Forms

Applications.
Correspondence.
Minutes.
Newsletters.

Occupations

Educators.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Association for Continuing Higher Education (ACHE) Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of the Association for Continuing Higher Education (ACHE).


Table of Contents

Annual meetings

Board of directors

Committee files

Regions

Correspondence

Directories

Financial records

Institutional membership files

Interassociational relationships

Publications

Miscellaneous


Inventory

Annual meetings
Box 1 Annual meetings 1963-1988 (26 folders)
Box 2 Annual meetings 1989-1990 (3 folders)
Board of directors
Box 2 List of board members 1962-1989
Meetings
Box 2 1971-1990 (29 folders)
Box 2 1992-2007 (6 3.25" floppy discs, MSWord files)
Correspondence
Box 2 1973
Box 2 1976-1979 (4 folders)
Box 2 1983-1989
Committee files
Box 2 Committee masters undated
Box 2 Committee lists and other information 1971-1988
Box 2 Accreditation liaison 1983
Box 2 Advisory 1960-1966, 1983-1984, 1988
Box 2 Aims and objectives 1960
Box 2 Applications of new technology 1984, 1988
Box 2 Awards 1977, 1982-1989
Box 2 Budget and finance 1988
See also Finance (Box 3)
Box 2 Career change 1983, 1988
Box 3 Constitution and bylaws 1987-1988
Box 3 Continuing education for the older adult 1979, 1983-1984
See also Older adults (Box 4)
Box 3 Continuing education for school personnel 1985-1988
Box 3 Counseling 1982
Box 3 Ethics 1982
Box 3 Evening business programs 1962-1965
Box 3 Executive committee 1960-1971, 1979, 1981, 1983, 1985-1989, 2004-2007 (14 folders; 1 CD, MSWord files; CD includes strategic plan, chronology, awards, officers)
Box 3 Finance 1954-1968, 1983-1985
See also Budget and finance (Box 2)
Box 3 Future 1972-1973
See also Strategic planning (Box 4)
Box 3 Graduate education 1988-1989
Box 3 Handicapped adults 1982
Box 3 Higher adult education 1969-1970
Box 3 Human resource development 1988-1989
Box 3 Humanities 1982-1983
Box 3 International continuing higher education 1982, 1984-1985, 1988
Box 3 Labor and education 1982
Box 3 Legislative 1962, 1965-1975 - includes proposed amendments to Title IV, Higher Education Act of 1965
See also Title I of higher education (Box 4)
Box 3 Legislative and legal issues 1979, 1983-1984, 1988
Box 3 Legislative information 1959-1963
Box 3 Liberal education 1958-1960 - includes essay, "When is education liberal?"
Box 3 Local arrangements 1968-1979, 1985-1990 (2 folders)
Box 3 Marketing (task force) 1987-1989 - includes copy of task force findings
Box 3 Membership 1960-1966, 1978-1980, 1988
See also Miscellaneous: Membership survey (Box 8)
Box 3 Membership development 1979, 1983-1988, undated
See also Public information and membership development (Box 4)
Box 3 Membership promotion 1965-1970
Box 3 Membership services and benefits 1987
Box 3 Mentoring 1982-1983, 1985, 1987-1989
Box 3 Military affairs 1972
Box 3 Minimum data and definitions (joint committee) 1960-1980 (4 folders)
Box 3 Minorities and immigrant affairs 1985, 1988 - includes case study, "To improve the sensitivity and curricular adaptability of historically black colleges for students who must work full time"
Box 4 Nominating / Nominations 1958, 1961-1969, 1975-1979, 1983-1984, 1988-1989
Box 4 Older adults 1987-1989
See also Continuing education for the older adult (Box 3)
Box 4 Organization and structure 1961
Box 4 Program 1963-1966, 1970-1972, 1979, 1983, 1987-1989 (5 folders)
Box 4 Public information 1982-1984
Box 4 Public information and membership development 1985
See also Membership development (Box 3)
Box 4 Public relations 1958-1962, 1965-1966
Box 4 Publications 1976-1979, 1982-1985, 1987-1988
Box 4 Quality in education 1975-1978 - includes position paper, "Degree granting abuses"
Regional chairs
See Regions: Council of Regional Chairs (Box 4)
Regions
See Regions: Committee (Box 4)
Box 4 Relationships with other adult education associations 1963-1966 - includes "A paradigm for a new professional association for continuing higher education," a speech given by Alexander A. Liveright to the Association of University Evening Colleges, October 1964
See also Two-year institutions (Box 4); Interassociational relationships (Boxes 7, 8)
Box 4 Research 1952-1968, 1974-1979, 1982-1984, 1988 (2 folders)
Box 4 Resolutions 1969, 1984, 1988-1989
Box 4 Resource linkages / Resource linkages and professional development 1987-1988
Box 4 Strategic planning 1985-1988
See also Future (Box 3); Miscellaneous: Strategic planning retreat (Box 8)
Box 4 Student personnel 1965-1966
Box 4 Student relations 1983, 1984-1985, 1988
Box 4 Teacher education through evening programs 1963-1965
Box 4 Title I of higher education 1965
Box 4 Time and site 1981-1983
Box 4 Two year institutions 1979, 1988, undated - includes report by the Committee on Relations on whether or not evening college deans of two-year colleges should be admitted to full membership in AUEC
Box 4 Urban extension 1969
Box 4 Ways and means 1960
Western regions (task force)
See Regions: Western regions task force (Box 5)
Regions
Box 4 Constitutions and bylaws of regions
Box 4 Council of regional chairs 1987-1988
Box 4 Guide for regional chairs 1990
Box 4 Committee 1964-1980, 1989 (2 folders)
Box 4 Region I 1964, 1967-1968, 1977-1978, 1983-1985
See also 1989 conferences: Regions I, II, III, IV (Toronto) (Box 5)
Box 4 Region II 1964-1965, 1976-1979
See also 1989 conferences: Regions I, II, III, IV (Toronto) (Box 5)
Box 4 Region III 1964-1968, 1970, 1976-1978
See also 1989 conferences: Regions I, II, III, IV (Toronto) (Box 5)
Box 4 Region IV 1963-1965, 1967-1968, 1975-1979
See also 1989 conferences: Regions I, II, III, IV (Toronto) (Box 5)
Box 4 Region V 1964-1968, 1974, 1976-1978, 1989
Box 4 Region VI 1964-1965, 1968, 1970, 1977
See also 1989 conferences: Region VI (Purdue) (Box 5)
Box 4 Region VII 1964-1968, 1970, 1975-1979, 1988-1989
See also 1989 conferences: Region VII (Atlanta) (Box 5)
Box 4 Region VIII 1963-1967, 1972, 1976, 1978, 1989
See also 1989 conferences: Region VIII (Indianola, Iowa) (Box 5)
Box 4 Region IX 1964-1967, 1977-1978
See also Western regions task force (Box 5)
Box 4 Region X 1964, 1967-1968, 1976-1977
See also Western regions task force (Box 5)
Box 5 Region XI 1958, 1961, 1964-1968, 1989
See also 1989 conferences: Region XI (Vancouver) (Box 5)
Box 5 Region XII 1964, 1967
Box 5 Western regions task force 1988-1989 - concerned with increasing ACHE membership and activities in Regions IX and X
1989 regional conferences
Box 5 Regions I, II, III, IV (Toronto) 1989
Box 5 Region VI (Purdue) 1989
Box 5 Region VII (Atlanta) 1989
Box 5 Region VIII (Indianola, Iowa) 1989
Box 5 Region XI (Vancouver) 1989
Correspondence
Box 5 1961-1975 (15 folders)
Box 6 1975-1981 (7 folders)
Box 6 1986-1989 (1 folder)
Directories
Box 6 1962-1964 (2 folders)
Box 6 1968-1969
Box 6 1972-1976 (4 folders)
Box 6 1979-1984 (5 folders)
Box 6 1986
Box 6 1988
Financial records
Box 6 Financial reports 1955-1985 (28 folders)
Box 6 Financial reports 1987-1989 (3 folders)
Box 6 Income taxes 1986
Institutional membership files
Box 6 Membership reports and lists 1988, undated
Box 6 Adams State College 1968-1969
Box 6 Appalachian State University 1975-1976
Box 6 Arkansas State University 1976-1977
Box 6 Auburn University (Auburn, Alabama) 1976-1978
Box 6 Auburn University (Montgomery, Alabama) 1977-1978
Box 6 Beaufort University 1977-1978
Box 6 Bentley College 1970
Box 6 Bryan Community College 1971
Box 6 Bloomfield College 1971
Box 6 Brigham Young University 1966
Box 6 Bronx Community College 1966-1967
Box 6 Chattanooga State Technical Community College 1974
Box 6 Chestnut Hill College 1972-1973
Box 6 Chicago State College 1967
Box 6 City University of New York, Graduate Center 1974
Box 6 City University of New York, Herbert H. Lehman College ca. 1970
Box 6 City University of New York, Queensborough Community College 1967
Box 6 College of Charleston 1974
Box 6 College of New Rochelle 1978
Box 6 College of Notre Dame 1968
Box 6 Dawson College 1973-1974
Box 6 Delaware Technical and Community College 1978-1979
Box 6 Delaware Valley College of Science and Agriculture 1972
Box 6 Delgado Junior College 1972-1972
Box 6 Dutchess Community College 1967
Box 6 East Carolina University 1969
Box 6 East Texas State University 1972
Box 7 Eastern Michigan University 1977
Box 7 Elmhurst College 1966
Box 7 Emerson College 1974
Box 7 Fayetteville State University 1973-1974
Box 7 Florence-Darlington Technical College 1975
Box 7 Florida Junior College at Jacksonville 1970-1971
Box 7 Franklin and Marshall College 1968
Box 7 Frostburg State College 1966-1967
Box 7 Gannon College 1979
Box 7 George Mason University 1976
Box 7 Golden Gate University 1975
Box 7 Grambling State University 1975
Box 7 Guilford College undated (ca.1970)
Box 7 Gwynedd-Mercy College 1975
Box 7 Indiana Central College 1961
Box 7 Indiana State University 1975
Box 7 Indiana University of Pennsylvania 1977
Box 7 Loop College 1973
Box 7 Malcolm X College 1974-1975
Box 7 Manhattan Community College 1967
Box 7 Marietta College 1968
Box 7 Marist College 1974
Box 7 Memphis State University 1967
Box 7 Merrimack College 1974
Box 7 Miami Date Junior College 1966-1967
Box 7 Midlands Technical College 1975-1976
Box 7 Milwaukee Area Technical College 1977-1978
Box 7 Mississippi State College for Women ca.1968
Box 7 Mohawk Valley Community College 1967
Box 7 Montgomery College 1972
Box 7 Monroe Community College 1971
Box 7 Montclair State College 1968
Box 7 Nassau Community College 1967
Box 7 New Hampshire College 1976
Box 7 New Haven College 1967
Box 7 New York Institute of Technology 1979
Box 7 Newark State College 1965-1966
Box 7 Northeastern Oklahoma State University 1975
Box 7 Nova Scotia Technical College 1979
Box 7 Onondaga Community College 1974-1975
Box 7 Orange County Community College 1966-1967
Box 7 Orangeburg-Calhoun Technical College 1974-1975
Box 7 Our Lady of Holy Cross College 1977-1978
Box 7 Philadelphia College of Textiles and Science 1964
Box 7 Post College 1977-1978
Box 7 Quinnipiac College 1971-1972
Box 7 Rappahannock Community College 1974
Box 7 Regis College 1968
Box 7 Rhode Island School of Design 1975
Box 7 Richmond Professional Institution 1967
Box 7 Roger Williams College 1971-1973
Box 7 Rollins College 1972
Box 7 St. Ambrose College 1977
Box 7 St. Michael's College 1977
Box 7 Salisbury State College 1977-1978
Box 7 Siena College 1972
Box 7 Somerset County College 1974
Box 7 Southern Colorado State College 1974
Box 7 Southern Connecticut State College 1970
Box 7 Southwest State College 1976
Box 7 Springfield College 1968
Box 7 State University College at Brockport 1970
Box 7 State University College at Oswego 1973
Box 7 State University College of Technology at Utica/Rome 1978
Box 7 State University of New York at Albany 1966-1967
Box 7 State University of New York at Stony Brook 1974-1975
Box 7 Tompkins County Community College 1978
Box 7 Trenton State College 1967
Box 7 Tri-State College 1974
Box 7 Troy State University 1971
Box 7 Ulster County Community College 1972
Box 7 University of Alabama at Birmingham 1977
Box 7 University of Alabama at Huntsville 1975
Box 7 University of Albuquerque 1973-1974
Box 7 University of Arizona 1975
Box 7 University of Colorado 1963
Box 7 University of Georgia 1970
Box 7 University of Houston 1979
Box 7 University of Maine 1963
Box 7 University of Massachusetts 1972
Box 7 University of Missouri 1969
Box 7 University of New Brunswick 1974-1975
Box 7 University of New Hampshire 1968
Box 7 University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill 1967
Box 7 University of North Carolina at Charlotte 1976-1977
Box 7 University of South Alabama 1972
Box 7 University of South Carolina 1978
Box 7 University of Tennessee at Martin 1973-1974
Box 7 University of Tennessee at Nashville 1973
Box 7 University of Virginia 1966
Box 7 Ursinus College 1975
Box 7 Ursuline College 1979
Box 7 Wayne General and Technical College 1974
Box 7 Western Carolina University 1977
Box 7 Western New England College 1966
Box 7 Worcester State College 1974-1975
Interassociational relationships
See also Committee files: Relationships with other adult education associations (Box 4)
Box 7 Adult Education Association of the USA (AEA-USA) 1965-1969
Box 7 Alpha Sigma Lambda 1975-1980, 1983
Box 7 American Assembly of Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB) 1976-1978
Box 7 American Council on Education 1964-1968, 1973, 1977 - following the correspondence (i.e. not intermingled by date) are a number of newsletters
Coalition of Adult Education Organizations (CAEO)
Box 7 Articles of incorporation, bylaws 1970, 1972
Box 7 Correspondence 1970-1988
Box 7 Galaxy Conference 1967
See also Miscellaneous : Galaxy Conference (Box 8)
Box 7 International Associates Newsletter 1983-1988
Box 7 International Associates Program of the International Council for Adult Education (ICAE) 1973, undated - program sponsored by CAEO
Box 7 Leadership directories 1977-1979, 1985-1988
Box 7 Membership lists 1971
Box 7 Minutes 1969-1988
Box 7 Miscellaneous papers 1969-1973, 1978-1979, 1986-1987
Box 7 Miscellaneous papers 1970-1973 - includes text of speech, "One Eye on the Future," K. Patricia Cross, Adult Educator of the Year; CAEO testimony before Senate Subcommittee on Education regarding S. 1814
Box 7 CAEO News, vol. 1 no. 2 and vol. 2 no. 1 1974-1976
Box 8 Organizational profile undated
Box 8 Wingspread Conference 1976
Box 8 Continuing Education Technical Assistance Center 1979 (3 folders)
Box 8 Council of National Organizations 1960
Box 8 Evening Student Personnel Association 1966, 1968-1969
Box 8 International Association of Evening Student Councils 1963-1968
Box 8 International Council for Adult Education 1973
Box 8 Library of Continuing Education 1964, 1969-1970
Box 8 National Education Association 1968
Box 8 New York City Community College 1971 - includes report, "Five Years of Activity: A Summary Report," by the Division of Continuing Education and Extension Services
Box 8 Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, Commission on Colleges 1973 - includes informational guide to the Continuing Education Unit
Box 8 United States Association of Evening Students (USAES) 1973
Publications
Continuing Higher Education (journal)
Box 8 Correspondence 1976, 1978-1982
Box 8 Editor search 1978
Box 8 Criteria and guidelines 1988, 1992, 1994
Box 8 Enrollment statistics 1960-1965
Box 8 5 Minutes with ACHE 1977-1989 (4 folders)
Box 8 From the Dean's Desk... 1964-1973 (4 folders)
Box 8 Policies and practices 1953, 1971, 1982
Box 8 Principles of Good Practice 1983, 1984
Box 8 Programs and registrations (AUEC) 1965-1973
Box 8 Programs and registrations (ACHE) 1973-1976
Box 9 Readings (on the Continuing Education Unit) 1972
Box 9 Regional News 1975-1977
Box 9 Who's Who 1964-1966
Miscellaneous
Box 9 Awards chronology 2003 - covers years 1965-2004
For 2004-2007, see CD-ROM in Committee files: Executive Committee, 2004-2007 (Box 3)
Box 9 Brochures 1976, 2000, undated
Box 9 Career education 1976 - includes "Proposed Responses by NUEA to Issues in Higher Education Amendments" and a lengthy report, "New Legislation for Career Education, enacted as Part C of Title III of the Education Amendments of 1976 (Public Law 94-482)
Box 9 Canadian Association for University Continuing Education (CAUCE) 1988-1989 - includes several annual reports and information on the 1989 annual conference
Box 9 Chronology of officers and directors 2004 - covers years 1993-2004
For 2004-2007, see CD-ROM in Committee files: Executive Committee, 2004-2007 (Box 3)
Box 9 Constitution and bylaws 1967, 1977, 1978, 1980, 1981, 1983, 1984, 1986
Box 9 Galaxy Conference 1967
See also Interassociational relationships: Coalition of Adult Education Organizations (CAEO): Galaxy Conference (Box 7)
Box 9 Handbook of Working Rules, Policies and Procedures 1973
Box 9 Historical statement and goals 1988, 2000
Box 9 Leadership conference 1966-1967
Box 9 Logo 1978-1979 - includes wide range of proposed designs, from classical to op art
Box 9 Membership survey 1988
Box 9 Organizational profile 1970
Box 10 Strategic planning retreat 1986, 2007 (2 folders)
For 2007 strategic plan covering 2008-2010, see CD-ROM in Committee files: Executive Committee, 2004-2007 (Box 3)
Box 10 Miscellaneous