Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Jane Abernathy Papers

An inventory of her papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: DW
Date: May 1980

Revision history:
28 Mar 2007 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Abernathy, Jane R.
Title: Jane Abernathy Papers
Dates: 1913-1962
Quantity: 2 linear ft.
Abstract: Ms. Abernathy was a teacher for 20 years in the Burrall Sunday School Bible Class for Young Women, Calvary Baptist Church, Washington, D.C. where her husband, Rev. Dr. William S. Abernathy, was pastor. Died 1965.
Abstract: Correspondence, printed material and writings on religious subjects.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Jane Abernathy was the wife of a minister who served twenty years in the Calvary Baptist Church, Washington, D.C. She wrote on theological subjects for almost fifty years, using some of her ideas in the Burrall Bible Class for girls. She also served in her husband's place, delivering sermons on those occasions when he was unavailable.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Jane Abernathy Papers are divided into three series. Correspondence is a mixture of personal and business letters, etc. Printed material is a collection of church programs, religious pamphlets, and other material related to Calvary Church. Writings includes Mrs. Abernathy's theological ideas spanning the years 1913-1957 as well as eleven folders of undated material.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Abernathy, Jane R.

Corporate Bodies

Calvary Baptist Church (Washington D.C.).

Subjects

Baptists -- United States.
Bible -- Study and teaching.
Religious education of girls.
Women teachers.
Women, Baptist.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Manuscripts (document genre)

Occupations

Teachers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Jane Abernathy Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Theodore Abernathy (son).


Table of Contents

Correspondence

Printed material

Writings


Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 Assorted 1921-1939, undated
Printed material
Box 1 Church programs 1921-1947, 1960-1961
Box 1 Newspaper, The Calvary Caller 1960-1962
Box 1 Notebook, Burrall Bible Class undated
Box 1 Pamphlets, miscellaneous undated
Writings
Religious, miscellaneous
Box 1 4 volumes undated
Box 1 undated (8 folders)
Box 2 undated (3 folders)
Box 2 1913-1921, 1926-1947 (13 folders)
Box 3 1950-1957