Collection inventory


Finding Aids

American Association of Industrial Editors (AAIE) Records

A description of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 6 May 2010

Revision history:
18 Apr 2017 processed (AR)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: American Association of Industrial Editors.
Title: American Association of Industrial Editors (AAIE) Records
Dates: 1939-1969
Quantity: 2.0 linear ft.
Abstract: The American Association of Industrial Editors (AAIE) Records contains meeting minutes, reports, photographs, and other printed materials created and compiled by the American Association of Industrial Editors through its years of operation, 1938-1970.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The American Association of Industrial Editors (AAIE) was formed in 1938 by a small group of industrial publication editors. Within the first year of their association's operation they had memebers from 17 states and were producing their own publications. In 1941 the AAIE joined the National Council of Industrial Editors Association (NCIEA), which later became the International Council of Industrial Editors (ICIE). However, in 1946 the AAIE withdrew from the LCIE as a result of organizational differences. In 1970 the AAIE would again join the LCIE and together they formed the International Association of Business Communicators (IABC). Several months after this merger several former members of the AAIE laid aside materials pertaining to the early years of the AAIE. These materials were gifted, in 1976, to Syracuse University's School of Public Communication. The University had worked closely with the AAIE throughout the 1950's and 1960's. These records were later moved to the University's Special Collections Research Center in 1980.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The American Association of Industrial Editors Records consists of correspondence, minutes and reports, printed material, and historical material.

Correspondence contains corporate and personal correspondences from 1939-1969.

Minutes and reports contains minutes of AAIE meetings and reports from the years 1939-1969.

Printed material contains issues of the AAIE newsletter, Editors Notebook, from 1939-1969 and general printed material from 1939-1967.

Historical materials consists of material specifically laid aside by the AAIE for preservation, from 1943-1963. This series contains photographs, newpaper clippings, and printed materials, including conference programs and the organization's constitution and bylaws.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is arranged by alphabetically by type or topic, with the exception of historical material which is placed at the end of the collection. Within that, material is arranged chronologically.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

American Association of Industrial Editors.
International Association of Business Communicators.
International Council of Industrial Editors.
National Council of Industrial Editors Association.

Subjects

Advertising, Industrial.
Business enterprises -- United States -- History
Business travel.
House organs.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Commercial correspondence
Corporation reports
Minutes (administrative records)
Newsletters.
Photographs.

Occupations

Editors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

American Association of Industrial Editors (AAIE) Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Samuel V. Kennedy, 1980.


Table of Contents

Correspondence

Minutes and reports

Printed material

Historical material


Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 General 1939-1969 (10 folders)
Box 1 General undated
Minutes and reports
Box 1 Minutes and reports 1945-1954 (8 folders)
Box 2 Minutes and reports 1954-1966 (13 folders)
Printed material
Box 2 Editors Notebook 1939-1943
Box 3 Editors Notebook 1944-1969 (11 folders)
Box 3 General 1946-1953
Box 4 General 1954-1967 (4 folders)
Historical material
Box 4 Correspondence 1943-1960 (4 folders)
Box 4 Printed material, general 1941-1963 - conference programs, annual reports, copies of constitution and bylaws, etc. (2 folders)
Box 4 Minutes and reports 1940-1960 (2 folders)
Box 4 Photographs 1950s