Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Producers' Exchange of Labour for Labour Association Broadside

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Producers' Exchange of Labour for Labour Association (Philadelphia, Pa.)
Title: Producers' Exchange of Labour for Labour Association Broadside
Inclusive Dates: [1828]
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Broadside advertising several items offered at the Philadelphia Labour for Labour Store
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

"The Philadelphia Labour for Labour Store was the first instantiation in America of Josiah Warren's 'Labour Exchange' scheme, in which hours of labor were exchanged for commercial goods. Warren's aim was to abolish money transactions and to make it possible for "producers with little or no capital...to maintain their economic independence by establishing co-operative retail stores" (Commons, History of Labour in the United States, p. 95). In the same year, 1828, Warren established the most famous of the American Labor Exchanges, the Cincinnati Time Store, in Cincinnati; the enterprise was highly succesful, even issuing its own "labor note" currency, but Warren closed the business in 1830 to pursue the establishment of his utopian colonies at "Utopia" (Ohio) and "Modern Times" (New York), where his anarchist commercial theories were put into community-wide practice." [from dealer catalog]

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Producers' Exchange of Labour for Labour Association Broadside is a single sheet, printed on one side, listing seven products available at the Labour for Labour Store of Philadelphia, a co-operative enterprise established in 1828 by followers of American proto-anarchist Josiah Warren. Items include "Lemon Acid" and "Golden Tincture." It is a .

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Warren, Josiah, 1798-1874.

Corporate Bodies

Producers' Exchange of Labour for Labour Association (Philadelphia, Pa.)

Subjects

Anarchism -- United States.
Anti-globalization movement.
Cooperative societies -- United States.

Places

Philadelphia (Pa.)

Genres and Forms

Advertisements.
Broadsides.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Producers' Exchange of Labour for Labour Association Broadside,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2020.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 18 Dec 2020
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Printed material
SC 865 Broadside, "Golden Tincture" and other items [1828]

Return to top