Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Pro-Brush Image Collection

A description of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Warner-Lambert Company.
Title: Pro-Brush Image Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1970s
Quantity: 1 linear ft.
Abstract: Contains 1406 slides of machinery and plastic products of the Pro-Brush company, and 45 color transparencies and 20 fading Polaroid snapshots of models posing with Pro-Brush products.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The A. P Critchlow Company in Florence, Massachusetts, which made buttons, daguerreotype cases and picture frames, evolved into the Florence Manufacturing Company by 1866. Their premier product, the Pro-phy-lactic toothbrush, occasioned a change in name to the Prophylactic Brush Company. In 1931, it was bought out by the Lambert Company. The Lambert Company merged with Warner-Hudnite Company in 1932 to become Warner-Lambert Prophylactic Division of Standard Oil of Ohio. The abbreviation of "Pro-Brush" was adopted.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Pro-Brush Image Collection contains 1406 slides of machinery and plastic products of the Pro-Brush company, and 45 color transparencies and 20 fading Polaroid snapshots of models posing with Pro-Brush products.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has numerous holdings in the areas of plastics and industrial design. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Prophylactic Brush Company.
Warner-Lambert Company -- Archives.

Subjects

Plastics industry and trade.
Plastics machinery.
Toothbrushes.

Genres and Forms

Photographs.
Promotional materials.
Slides (photographs)
Transparencies.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Pro-Brush Image Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from National Plastics Center and Museum, 11/06/2008.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: DGI/MM
Date: 2006
Revision history: Feb 2009 - converted to EAD (MRC); Jun 2009 - photos redistributed (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Slides
Box 1 Manufacturing ca. 1970s
Box 1 Models ca. 1970s
Box 1 People ca. 1970s
Box 1 Plants and buildings ca. 1970s
Box 1 Products and objects ca. 1970s
Box 2 Products and objects ca. 1970s
Box 1 Text and diagrams ca. 1970s
Photographs
Box 2 Polaroids 1970s - models posing with Pro-Brush products
Box 2 Transparencies 1970s - models posing with Pro-Brush products transparencies have turned to the reddened stage of deterioration and Polaroids have deteriorated dramatically
Printed material
Map-Case 1, Drawer 97 Florence Manufacturing, "Pro-phy-lactic Brush" ad circa 1910-1924

Return to top