Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Charles Henry Plummer Collection

An inventory of his collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Plummer, Charles Henry.
Title: Charles Henry Plummer Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1790-1893
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Papers and correspondence of the clergyman and temperance reformer.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Charles Henry Plummer was a clergyman in Philadelphia in the nineteenth century. He was active in many Christian societies and social movements, such as the Philadelphia Young Men's Temperance Society and the Christian Society of Centerville.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Charles Henry Plummer Collection contains approximately 150 items of correspondence and other papers, spanning 1790-1893 (bulk 1838-1867). Most of the collection consists of correspondence to and from Plummer from his family and friends, including his wife, Anne Britton Plummer. Common topics of conversation include Plummer's extended family, his preaching activities, and Christian social movements such as temperance. The collection also includes pages of notes for sermons and speeches by Plummer, and a number of small receipts and financial records.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Items are in chronological order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Purchased, 1969.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Plummer family.
Plummer, Anna Britton.
Plummer, Charles Henry.

Subjects

Temperance and religion -- Societies, etc.

Places

Philadelphia (Pa.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Clergy.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Charles Henry Plummer Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: [Summit record]
Date: 2001-01-01
Revision history: 12 Mar 2007 - converted to EAD (MRC); 3 Mar 2010 - updated EAD (LMD)

Return to top