Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Thomas Collier Platt Letters

An inventory of his correspondence at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Platt, Thomas Collier, 1833-1910.
Title: Thomas Collier Platt Letters
Inclusive Dates: 1896-1910
Quantity: 2 items (SC)
Abstract: Papers of the American legislator, politician. U.S. Senator and leader in the New York State Republican Party. Two outgoing letters to Thomas Bell and Theodore Roosevelt.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Thomas Collier Platt (1833-1910) of Owego, New York, was an American legislator and politician. A two-term member of the U.S. House of Representatives (1873-1877) and a three-term U.S. Senator from New York in the years 1881 and 1897-1909, he is best known for his contribution to the creation of the City of Greater New York which incorporated the four outer boroughs of Kings, Queens, Richmond and Bronx counties.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Thomas Collier Platt Letters consists of two outgoing letters written in 1896 and 1899. The earlier letter, written while Platt was serving as adviser to the Republican State Committee, acknowledges the "friendly and patriotic sentiments" of a supporter of Platt's views on the future of the Republican Party:

If the men who carp and criticize would do less talking and more work for the purpose of strengthening and building up the Party, we should have an invinceable [sic] Republican Party.

The second item is a letter to then-governor Theodore Roosevelt, proposing General James M. Varnum for a surrogate appointment:

This would not be an ideal appointment, but it seems to me it would be reasonally [sic] acceptable all around, taking everything into consideration.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Letters are in alphabetical order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Bell, Thomas.
Platt, Thomas Collier, 1833-1910.
Roosevelt, Theodore, 1858-1919.

Subjects

Legislators -- United States.
Politicians -- United States.
Republican Party (N.Y.)

Places

New York (State) -- Politics and government, 1865-1950.

Genres and Forms

Letters (correspondence)

Occupations

Legislators.
Politicians.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Thomas Collier Platt Letters,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: KM
Date: Sep 1987
Revision history: 28 Mar 2008 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
SC 44 Bell, Thomas 3 Feb 1896
SC 44 Roosevelt, Theodore 13 Feb 1899

Return to top