Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Roger Pineau Manuscripts

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Pineau, Roger, 1916-1993.
Title: Roger Pineau Manuscripts
Inclusive Dates: 1962
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Typescripts, galleys and final published English edition of The End of the Imperial Japanese Navy, by Roger Pineau and Masanori Ito.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Roger Pineau (1916 or 1917-1993) was an American naval officer and historian, with an expertise in Japanese language and military affairs. Pineau attended the Japanese Language School at the University of Colorado and worked in Naval Intelligence during World War II. After the war he served as an interpreter and analyst with the U.S. Strategic Bombing Survey in Japan, and in 1947 was assigned to the Office of Naval History. During his ten years there he assisted in the research and writing of the 15-volume History of U.S. Naval Operations in World War II. In 1957 he joined the State Department where he held several posts, including Chief of Far East Current Intelligence and Social Science Officer for Cultural and Educational Affairs, and from 1965 to 1972, he worked at the Smithsonian as managing editor of the Smithsonian Institution Press.

Pineau was recalled to active duty in 1972 as Director of the Navy Memorial Museum in the Washington Navy Yard. Upon his retirement in 1978, Pineau embarked on an ambitious research and writing project to document the important contributions of the US Navy Japanese Language School. Although he did not live to publish his intended work, his substantial collection of research files formed the core of the the core of the US Navy Japanese/Oriental Language School Archival Project at the University of Colorado at Boulder.

Pineau wrote, co-authored or edited a number of books on Japanese military history, including Picture History of the Pacific War (1952), Midway, the Battle that Doomed Japan (1955), The Divine Wind: Japan's Kamikaze Force in World War II (1960), The End of the Imperial Japanese Navy (1962) and The Japan Expedition 1852-1855: The Personal Journal of Commodore Matthew C. Perry (1969).

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Roger Pineau Manuscripts consists of typescripts, galley proofs and a final published copy of the English edition of The End of the Imperial Japanese Navy, by Roger Pineau and Masanori Ito. The proofs have handwritten corrections, and include a larger set of proofs of maps and illustrations. Also included are prints and negatives for photographs used in the book.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

A copy of Pineau's book is available in the general (circulating) collection. The Robert L. Sherrod Papers also has two folders of correspondence with Pineau.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Ito, Masanori, 1889-1962.
Pineau, Roger, 1916-1993.

Corporate Bodies

Japan. -- Kaigun. -- Rengo Kantai -- History.

Associated Titles

End of the imperial Japanese navy.

Subjects

World War, 1939-1945 -- Naval operations, Japanese.
World War, 1939-1945 -- Pacific Ocean.

Places

Japan -- History, Military -- 1868-1945.

Genres and Forms

Galley proofs.
Illustrations (layout features)
Manuscripts for publication.
Military maps.

Occupations

Authors.
Military historians.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Roger Pineau Manuscripts,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unspecified, 1968.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: TOB
Date: Jan 1969
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Writings
The End of the Imperial Japanese Navy
Box 1 Typescripts with revisions Jan 1962
Box 1 Galley proofs with revisions Mar-Apr 1962 (3 folders)
Map-Case 102 Galley proofs of maps with revisions 1962
Box 1 Photographs used in the book 1917-1945
Box 1 Published edition, Norton 1962

Return to top