Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Physician's Account Book

An inventory of the item at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Title: Physician's Account Book
Inclusive Dates: 1862-1865
Quantity: 1 volume (SC)
Abstract: Medical ledger, also includes notations about farm work.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Nothing is known of the author(s) of this book other than what can be gleaned from the item itself. Notes from the dealer from whom the book was purchased suggest that the physician was a Dr. James Ferguson, but this cannot be ascertained. Many of the names that appear are Irish.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Physician's Account Book consists of a bound volume of approximately 237 pages, containing notes about charges for medical services. Entries suggest that the physician who kept the ledger was from the Annsville, New York area in Oneida County, New York. At the front of the book is an index containing some 300 names, many of which are Irish. The book was later used in the 1940s for farm and household notes.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has numerous other physicians' account books; please refer to search our collections to locate these items.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Subjects

Medicine -- Practice -- Accounting
Physicians -- New York (State)

Places

New York State -- History -- 1775-1865.
Oneida County (N.Y.) -- History -- 19th century.

Genres and Forms

Account books.
Daybooks.

Occupations

Physicians.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Physician's Account Book,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2014.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 12 Jan 2015
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Business records
SC 727 Account book 1862-1865

Return to top