Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Pennsylvania Adult Education Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

The adult education holdings are collectively known as the
Alexander N. Charters Library of Resources for Educators of Adults.

Overview of the Collection

Title: Pennsylvania Adult Education Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1993-2006
Quantity: 1.0 linear ft.
Abstract: Printed material (conference proceedings, issues of PAACE Journal of Lifelong Learning), most somehow connected with Indiana University of Pennsylvania
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The Pennsylvania Association for Adult and Continuing Education (PAACE) was created in 1978 as a statewide professional organization which serves as an advocate for adult and continuing education. The membership includes professionals and volunteers from all aspects of adult continuing education, that is adult basic and general education, English as a second language, continuing higher education, literacy education, and workforce development. PAACE is also the publisher of The PAACE Journal of Lifelong Learning, a refereed journal published annually with the sponsorship of Indiana University of Pennsylvania.

The Midwest Research to Practice Conference in Adult, Continuing and Community Education, first held in 1981. is a two day meeting held each fall at a major university in the Midwest United States. This conference provides a forum for practitioners and researchers to discuss practices, concepts, evaluation, and research studies to improve practice in adult education.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Pennsylvania Adult Education Collection contains conference proceedings and journal issues.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Alphabetical by type or title, and within that chronological.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

The library holds a considerable number of collections related to adult and continuing education, which collectively are known as the Alexander Charters Library of Resources for Educators of Adults. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing. Holding also contain numerous publications (books, newsletters, pamphlets, and professional journals); please refer to the Classic Catalog to locate these items.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Midwest Research-To-Practice Conference in Adult and Continuing Education.
Pennsylvania Adult and Continuing Education Research Conference.

Associated Titles

PAACE journal of lifelong learning.

Subjects

Adult education -- Research.
Adult education -- United States.

Places

Pennsylvania.

Genres and Forms

Journals (periodicals)
Proceedings.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Pennsylvania Adult Education Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Trenton R. Ferro and Gary J. Dean, 2008[?]

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 22 May 2018
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Conference proceedings
Box 1 Midwest Research-To-Practice Conference in Adult and Continuing Education, 12th 1993 - co-hosted by Indiana University of Pennsylvania
Box 1 Midwest Research-To-Practice Conference in Adult and Continuing Education, 22d 2003 - co-hosted by Indiana University of Pennsylvania
Box 1 Pennsylvania Adult and Continuing Education Research Conference, 1st 1994
Box 1 Pennsylvania Adult and Continuing Education Research Conference, 2d 1995
Box 1 Pennsylvania Adult and Continuing Education Research Conference, 5th 2001
Box 1 Pennsylvania Adult and Continuing Education Research Conference, 6th 2003
Journals
Box 1 PAACE Journal of Lifelong Learning, Vol. 2-Vol. 7 1993-1998 (6 issues)
Box 2 PAACE Journal of Lifelong Learning, Vol. 8-Vol. 15 1999-2006 (8 issues)

Return to top