Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

J. Westbrook Pegler Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Pegler, J. Westbrook (James Westbrook), 1894-1969.
Title: J. Westbrook Pegler Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1940-1962
Quantity: 5.75 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American journalist, columnist, distributed by King Features Syndicate. Collection includes newspaper columns (1942-1962) in the form of typed final copies, clippings of published columns, and a few letters to the editor of the Syracuse Post Standard.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

James Westbrook Pegler (1894-1969) was an American journalist. Born in Minneapolis, Minnesota on August 2, 1894, he was educated at the Lane Technical School and at Loyola University in Chicago. He received an honorary LL.D. from Knox College in 1943. He was a correspondent on the European staff of United Press during World War I (1916-1918) and then served in the U.S. Navy (1918-1919); later he was sports editor of the United News, the Chicago Tribune, the New York World-Telegram, and the Chicago Daily News. In 1944 he moved his syndicated column to King Features Syndicate. His collected columns were published in several books: 'Taint Right (1936), Dissenting Opinions of Mister Westbrook Pegler (1938), and George Spelvin, American (1942).

In his syndicated columns, Pegler criticized many American figures and institutions, including the Supreme Court, the tax system, labor unions, and every President from Herbert Hoover to John F. Kennedy. In 1962 he lost his contract with King Features Syndicate due to outspoken criticisms of executives of its parent company, the Hearst Corporation.

Pegler was a member of the National Press Club and received numerous awards for his work. In 1941 he received the Pulitzer Prize for reporting for his expose of racketeering in Hollywood labor unions. In 1942 he was named one of the country's best adult columnists and in 1944 he won the Gold Medal from the Nassau Bar Association. Other awards include the National Headlines Club Award (twice), the American Legion Award, and the Distinguished Service Medal of Army and Navy Union.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The J. Westbrook Pegler Papers consists of printed materials and writings.

The Printed material consists of clippings and letters to the editor of the Syracuse Post Standard. One set of clippings includes an exchange of opinions in the form of published columns between Grace Lewis - another Post Standard columnist - and Pegler.

The Writings consist of Pegler's numerous columns written between 1942 and 1962, including both Pegler's typed final copies and clippings of published columns from the Syracuse Post Standard. The original envelopes in which the column clippings were received are included with the respective clippings .

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Items are arranged chronologically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Pegler, J. Westbrook (James Westbrook), 1894-1969.

Subjects

Journalism.
Journalists -- United States.
Newspapers -- Sections, columns, etc.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Newspaper columns.

Occupations

Journalists.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

J. Westbrook Pegler Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: --
Date: Aug 1967
Revision history: 5 Aug 2008 - converted to EAD (MRC); 30 Aug 2018 - rehoused, inventory updated (MS); 18 Sep 2020 - additions processed (ZEC)

Return to top

Inventory

Printed material
Box 1 Clippings, Pegler/Lewis 1952
Box 1 Clippings, miscellaneous 1950-1951, undated
Box 1 Letters to the editor 1950-1951, undated - filed together by Pegler
Box 1 Letters to the editor 1947-1954
Oversize 1 The Saturday Evening Post 14 Sep 1940
Writings
Box 1 Columns 1942 Nov-Dec - clippings
Box 1 Columns 1943 Jan-Mar, May, Jul, Nov - clippings
Box 1 Columns 1944 Feb, Sep-Nov - clippings
Box 1 Columns 1945 Jan-Feb, Apr-May, Aug-Sep; 1945, undated - clippings (2 folders)
Box 1 Columns 1946 Feb, May-Dec; 1946, undated - clippings (2 folders)
Box 1 Columns 1947 Jan-Dec - clippings (2 folders)
Box 1 Columns 1948 Jan-Dec - clippings (2 folders)
Box 1 Columns 1949 Jan-Dec - clippings (2 folders)
Box 1 Columns 1950 Jan-Dec - clippings (3 folders)
Box 1 Columns 1951 Jan-Apr - typed final copy (3 folders)
Box 2 Columns 1951 Jul-Dec - typed final copy (6 folders)
Box 2 Columns 1951 Jan-Dec - clippings (3 folders)
Box 2 Columns 1952 Jan-Feb - typed final copy (2 folders)
Box 3 Columns 1952 Mar, May-Dec - typed final copy (9 folders)
Box 3 Columns 1952 Jan-Mar, May-June - clippings
Box 4 Columns 1952 Jul-Dec; 1952, undated - clippings (2 folders)
Box 4 Columns 1953 Jan-Oct - typed final copy (10 folders)
Box 10 Columns 1953 Nov-Dec - typed final copy (2 folders)
Box 10 Columns 1953 Jan-Dec - clippings (2 folders)
Box 10 Columns 1954 Jan-Feb - typed final copy (2 folders)
Box 11 Columns 1954 Mar-Dec - typed final copy (10 folders)
Box 11 Columns 1954 Jan-Feb - clippings
Box 11 Columns 1955 Jan - typed final copy
Box 5 Columns 1955 Feb-Dec; 1956 Jan-Mar - typed final copy (14 folders)
Box 6 Columns 1956 Apr-Dec; 1957 Jan-Apr - typed final copy (13 folders)
Box 7 Columns 1957 May-Dec; 1958 Jan-Jul, Sep-Dec; 1959 Jan-Feb - typed final copy (14 folders)
Box 8 Columns 1959 Mar-Aug, Oct-Dec; 1960 Jan-Oct - typed final copy (10 folders)
Box 9 Columns 1960 Nov-Dec; 1961 Jan-Dec; 1962 Jan-Aug - typed final copy (11 folders)

Return to top