Finding Aids
printer friendly version

James K. Paulding Correspondence

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Paulding, James Kirke, 1778-1860.
Title: James K. Paulding Correspondence
Inclusive Dates: 1827-1843
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Approximately 45 letters to and from the American author and Secretary of the Navy.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

James Kirke Paulding (1778-1860) was an American writer. A member of the so-called "Knickerbocker Group," he wrote poetry, novels and plays. With his friend Washington Irving, he was the creator and publisher of the satirical periodical Salmagundi. His extensive knowledge of naval affairs led President Martin Van Buren to appoint him Secretary of the Navy (1838-1841).

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The James K. Paulding Correspondence consists of approximately 45 letters to and from the American author and Secretary of the Navy. Correspondents include the Department of the Navy and various naval officers, politicians, and authors. A complete index to correspondents is given at the end of this inventory.

The earliest letter, dated 12 Jan 1827, is from Paulding to American banker and politician Gulian C. Verplanck. In it Paulding discourses on national and New York City politics (Paulding's brother was at the time mayor of the city), and attacks New York Governor DeWitt Clinton.

There is also one letter from Admiral Hiram Paulding, to "My dear Foote." Hiram Paulding was a cousin of James Kirke Paulding.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Letters are arranged chronologically. An index of correspondents appears at the end of this inventory.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Paulding, Hiram, 1797-1878.
Paulding, James Kirke, 1778-1860.
Verplanck, Gulian C. (Gulian Crommelin), 1786-1870.

Corporate Bodies

United States. -- Navy Department -- History.

Subjects

American literature -- New York (State)

Places

New York (State) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

James K. Paulding Correspondence,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1969, 1971.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 14 Jul 2010
Revision history: 5 Jan 2017 - fixed index coding (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
SC 533 General 1827-1843

Return to top

Index to correspondence

  • [unknown] : 1842 Jan 22
  • Armstrong, William A. (incoming) : 1840 Mar 20
  • Banks, Sirius : See Mercer, G.F.
  • Burns, Andrew : See Mercer, G.F.
  • Carroll, James (incoming) : 1841 Jan 8[?]
  • Clark, Lt. Gaylord : [no year] Aug 30
  • Ferguson, James (incoming) : 1840 Nov 25
  • Hallett, B.F. (incoming) : 1840 Sep 16
  • Henderson, Col. A. : 1839 Mar 22; 1839 Apr 6
  • Holleman, Joel (incoming) : 1840 Feb 17; 1840 Jun 10
  • Holmes, James E. (incoming) : 1841 Feb 8
  • Hunt (Hunch?), H.P. (incoming) : 1841 Jan 4
  • Kearn, John A. (incoming) : 1838 Nov 14
  • Lawson, T.H. (incoming) : 1840 Nov 10; 1840 Nov 20
  • Mason, William : See Mercer, G.F.
  • McKean, John (incoming) : 1839 Aug 14
  • Meanton, A. (incoming) : 1839 Jun 2; 1839 Dec 20; 1840 Feb 25; 1840 Jul 10; 1840 Dec 26
  • Mercer, G.F. (incoming) : 1839 Jan 8
  • Merrick, William D. (incoming) : 1841 Jan 6; 1841 Jan 11
  • Miller, John (incoming) : 1839 Dec 23; 1841 Jan 28
  • Morris, Calvary (incoming) : 1838 Dec 17; 1840 Jul 20
  • Morris, George P. (incoming) : 1839 Jun 17
  • Morris, Thomas (incoming) : 1838 Jul 11
  • Morton, Marcus (incoming) : 1840 Oct 2
  • Navy Board : 1828 Jun 19
  • Nicholson, Capt. A.A. : 1839 Jul 22
  • Nicolson, Commodore J.B. : 1842 3 Jun 5
  • Owens, Hon. G.N. : 1839 Jan 11
  • Russell, Samuel : 1841 Feb 16
  • Sinclair, Lt. Arthur : 1838 Sep 4
  • Smith, Richard : 1841 Jul 6
  • Stewart, Commander Charles : 1839 Dec 24
  • Tolten, Col. John : 1839 Feb 7
  • U.S. Senate : 1839 Dec 23
  • Verplanck, Gulian : 1827 Jan 12
  • Wall, Hon. Garret C. : 1840 Jul 28; 1840 Nov 9

Return to top