Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

A. J. Pandya Papers

A description of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Pandya, A. J.
Title: A. J. Pandya Papers
Inclusive Dates: TBD
Quantity: 5.0 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the Indian attorney, author, and political reformer
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

A. J. (Anantprasad, or Anant Prasad, Jagganath) Pandya was an Indian attorney, author, and political reformer who spent much of his career in Kenya. Educated in London, he was admitted to Lincoln's Inn in 1935 and called to the bar in 1943. He served as Advocate on the Supreme Court of India and as Principal of the Law College at Unjha, Gujarat, and was the author of several books on Indian law. He was involved in African nationalist endeavors and participated in the Kenya Constitutional Conference of 1962 (Oscar Gakuo Mwangi, "Democracy and Party Dominance in Kenya And South Africa: A Comparative Study of the Kenya African National Union and the African National Congress," p. 289).

[Sources: Library of Congress Authorities, "Pandya, A. J." ; Renu Paul and Mitra Sharifi, "South Asian Law Students at the Inns of Court: Lincoln's Inn, 1864-1947", p. 145; Shirraz Durani, Makhan Singh: A Revolutionary Kenyan Trade Unionist, p. 147.]

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The A. J. Pandya Papers consists of correspondence, printed material, and posters.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact SCRC for more information.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Pandya, A. J.

Subjects

East Indians -- Kenya.
Lawyers -- Africa.
Lawyers -- India.
Nationalism -- Africa.
Political activists -- Africa.

Places

Kenya -- Politics and government.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Memorabilia.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

A. J. Pandya Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Theresa Gregory, 2017.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 5 Sep 2019
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.

Return to top