Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

R. F. Outcault Cartoons

An inventory of his cartoons at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Outcault, Richard Felton, 1863-1928
Title: R. F. Outcault Cartoons
Inclusive Dates: 1923
Quantity: 2 linear ft.
Abstract: 1 original Sunday cartoon from the newspaper comic strip Buster Brown.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Richard Felton Outcault (1863-1928) was an American cartoonist and creator of the comic strips The Yellow Kid and Buster Brown.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The R. F. Outcault Cartoons collection contains 1 original Sunday cartoon (in 2 pieces) from the newspaper comic strip Buster Brown (1923). Sunday cartoon: traces of graphite, blue pencil, pen and ink on illustration board, total dimensions approx. 23 x 29 in.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

For original Outcault Yellow Kid cartoons, see the Street and Smith Records.

Special Collections Research Center has collections of over one hundred other cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Outcault, Richard Felton, 1863-1928.

Associated Titles

Buster Brown (comic strip)

Subjects

American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Cartoonists -- United States.
Comic books, strips, etc. -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Cartoons (humorous images)

Occupations

Cartoonists.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

R. F. Outcault Cartoons,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchased, 1963.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MD
Date: 25 Mar 2009
Revision history: 25 Mar 2009 - converted to EAD (MBD); 7 May 2009 - revised (MBD); 12 Jan 2012 - box number revised (MBD)

Return to top

Inventory

Buster Brown [Sunday cartoon] (2 pieces)
Oversize 1 May 13, 1923 [top]
Oversize 1 May 13, 1923 [bottom]

Return to top