Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

OSPAAAL Posters

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: OSPAAAL (Organization)
Title: OSPAAAL Posters
Inclusive Dates: 1968-1970
Quantity: 2 items
Abstract: Posters from the Cuban anti-globalist human rights movement
Language: English, Spanish, French, Arabic
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

OSPAAAL, the Organización de Solidaridad con los Pueblos de Asia, África y América Latina (in English, Organization of Solidarity of the People of Asia, Africa & Latin America), is a Cuban political movement whose stated goals include fighting globalisation, imperialism, and neoliberalism and defending human rights. OSPAAAL was founded in Havana in January 1966 following the Tricontinental Conference, a meeting of leftist delegates from countries around the world.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The OSPAAAL Posters collection consists of two posters. Poster captions are repeated in English, French, Arabic, and Spanish, reflecting the organization's international membership.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advance notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Rostgaard, Alfredo González, 1943-2004.

Corporate Bodies

OSPAAAL (Organization) -- Posters

Subjects

Anti-imperialist movements.
Anti-racism.
Black power.
Political posters, Cuban.

Places

Cuba -- Foreign relations.

Genres and Forms

Posters.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

OSPAAAL Posters,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2020.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 2 Feb 2021
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Printed material
Map-Case Posters 1968, 1970
"Day of Solidarity with the Congo" with depiction of man in traditional African garb, with spear, overlaid on a stylized African mask
"Retaliation to Crime: Revolutionary Violence" showing a stylized open-mouthed panther head with the phrase "Black Power" in the jaws; according to the Hoover Institution, this poster was described at the time by the CIA as having been released and circulated in response to the assassination of Martin Luther King, Jr.

Return to top