Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
New York City Food Co-op Collection
A description of the cooperatives' collection at Syracuse University
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | |
| Title: | New York City Food Co-op Collection |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1973-1994 |
| Quantity: | 0.25 linear ft. |
| Abstract: | Newsletters and printed ephemera connected with New York City food cooperatives. |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: | Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Park Slope Food Co-op is one of the oldest and largest active food co-ops in the United States. Located in the Park Slope neighborhood of Brooklyn, NY, the members of the co-op contribute about three hours of work every six weeks in exchange for shopping at the store. The 16th Street Food Co-op has operated under three different names during its 47 years of existence: 10th Street Co-op located in the Midwood neighborhood in Brooklyn, NY in 1976; 16th Street Food Co-op on East 16th St near the Avenue H train station in 1978; and finally the Flatbush Food Co-op located on Cartelyou Road in 1985. In 2008 the co-op moved across the street to their newer and bigger space where it continues to operate. The West Midwood neighborhood is located in Brooklyn, NY.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The New York City Food Co-op Collection includes newsletters, flyers, meeting minutes, and other printed material associated with the 16th Street and Park Slope Food Co-ops and the West Midwood neighborhood in Brooklyn, NY.
16th Street Food Co-op includes printed material, such as newsletters, flyers, and the co-op's meeting minutes
Park Slope Food Co-op consists of a collaborative event flyer with the 16th St Co-op and 4 editions of the co-op's newsletter, Linewaiters Gazette.
West Midwood News contains newsletters of the Brooklyn neighborhood, which is near the 16th St Co-op.
Miscellaneous contains material related to healthy eating, vegetarianism, and newsletters from Gary Null, who is a health food/alternative medicine radio show host.
Arrangement of the Collection
The collection is arranged in alphabetical order by co-op and neighborhood.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Corporate Bodies
Subjects
Places
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
New York City Food Co-op Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Purchased, 2023.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: RMH
Date: 24 May 2023
Revision history:
Inventory
| 16th Street Food Co-Op | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Printed material 1976-1989, 1994 - newsletters, flyers, co-op minutes, etc. (2 folders) | ||||||||||
| Park Slope Food Co-Op | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Printed material 1980, 1984, 1987 | ||||||||||
| This folder contains 4 editions of the food co-op's newsletter, Linewaiters Gazette, and an collaborative event notice with the 16th Street Co-Op. | |||||||||||
| West Midwood News | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Newsletters 1982, 1993 | ||||||||||
| Miscellaneous | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Miscellaneous 1973, 1977, 1980-1984 - printed material related to vegetarianism, healthy eating, how to start a food buying club, newsletters from Gary Null, a health food/alternative medicine radio show host, etc. (2 folders) | ||||||||||