Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

New York Review of Books Records

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: New York Review of Books.
Title: New York Review of Books Records
Inclusive Dates: 1963-1969
Quantity: 14.6 linear ft.
Abstract: Correspondence, incoming and outgoing, of the publisher, advertising manager, and business manager; production papers consisting of editorial, printing, distribution, and advertising records, including review assignment sheets; financial and legal papers, including authors' payment lists, bank statements, budgets, contracts, cost estimates, and remittance lists; and manuscripts, includings tables of contents for various issues, lists of contributors, articles, book reviews, letters, movie reviews, poems, and theater reviews, mainly revised printers' copies.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The New York Review of Books was begun in New York City in February, 1963. Among those primarily responsible for its inception were Robert Silvers, then on the staff of Harper's Magazine, Barbara Epstein and her husband, Jason Epstein, an editor for Random House, and Elizabeth Hardwick, wife of poet Robert Lowell. The immediate reason for its publication was the newspaper strike, which eliminated one of the means by which publishers advertised their new works to the book-buying market and made them eager for some substitute outlet for such publicity. But there was also a longer range reason--belief that a large audience existed for extensive and critical reviews of books which was not being satisfied by the New York Times.Book Review section or the Saturday Review. The strike provided the ideal opportunity to test the demand for and acceptance of such a book reviewing medium.

Many well-known writers and scholars were convinced to write reviews for nothing, and the first issue was financed by sales of advertising space to publishers. This issue was widely acclaimed as a breath of fresh air for the literary world and sold out rapidly. Its success prompted the founders to attempt a second issue, which also met with praise and produced a comparable sales record. The response accorded both issues thus confirmed them in the decision to begin publication on a continuing basis, and the first regular issue appeared in August, 1963. The format was then, as it is now, a bi-monthly tabloid containing articles, extensive and critical book reviews, poetry, advertisements for the book trade, and other items of literary interest.

The decision to publish on a regular basis necessitated additions to the staff. Among those who now became associated with the venture was A. Whitney Ellsworth, formerly on the staff of the Atlantic Monthly, who took on the responsibilities of publisher.

The circulation of the magazine grew to sixty thousand in 1966 and a survey at that time showed that most of the readership was college educated -- a sizeable percentage also having had some graduate education -- urban, affluent, and highly literate. A large percentage of the readers were associated with universities in one way or another. Approximately forty per cent were concentrated in New England and the middle-Atlantic states, with another sixteen per cent on the Pacific coast.

During the middle sixties, the NYRB became more involved in politics. Articles, reviews and David Levine caricatures were increasingly critical of American culture, society, and foreign policy. The increased opposition to the Vietnam war prompted the NYRB to send Mary McCarthy to South Vietnam for reports on and observations about American involvement there. She also went to North Vietnam in order to describe the effect of the war on the people and government of that country. This involvement in radical politics brought the NYRB a certain amount of notoriety. It would be false to say that it became completely politicized, however, for side by side with radical polemics there continued to be reviews of books on art, music, and literature.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The New York Review of Books Records, 1963-1969, include correspondence, production papers, financial and legal papers, manuscripts, and a miscellany.

Correspondence, 1963-1969, consists of incoming and outgoing letters of the publisher, advertising manager, and business managers. It includes routine business correspondence dealing with printing, distribution, subscription fulfillment, subscribers list exchanges, subscribers' complaints, advertising, and various sales promotions.

Production papers, 1963-1969, consist of editorial printing, distribution, and advertising records. The editorial records include review assignment sheets and various materials related to the publication by the NYRB of Herbert Kohl's Teaching the Unteachables. The printing records consist of invoices which detail the printing costs for each issue, a printing cost analysis, press run statistics, and publication schedules. The distribution records include invoices for fulfillment services, return reports of unsold newsstand copies, and miscellaneous field reports on newsstand sales.

Advertising records consist of an ad prospectus, a readership survey, and a sample of various ad layouts.

Financial and legal papers, 1963-1968, include authors' payment lists, bank statements, contracts, remittance lists and reprint statements from Editor's Choice (an outside business which handles requests for reprinting of material from NYRB), remittance advices from Capital Distributing Company, and some miscellaneous materials. The authors' payment lists consist of lists of writers and reviewers printed in every issue and the amount paid to them for their work. The remittance schedules and reprint lists from Editor's Choice consist of monthly statements to NYRB regarding which of its materials have been reprinted, and the amount paid for permission to reprint. Of interest among the miscellaneous materials are various budgets and cost estimates.

Manuscripts, 1963-1968, consist of tables of contents for various issues, lists of contributors, articles, book reviews, letters, movie reviews, poems, and theater reviews. Most of the manuscripts are typescript revised printer's copies. Included at the end are miscellaneous articles, book reviews, letters, and poems which either could not be assigned by the processor to a particular issue or were not used by the editors, as well as some unidentifiable fragments.

Because all print issues of the New York Review of Books are freely available -- both for searching and browsing -- on the NYRB's website at http://www.nybooks.com/issues/, the chronological listing of manuscripts does not include names of authors or of books reviewed. Authors and titles are, however, given for unpublished and unused manuscripts.

Authors and reviewers whose work occurs most frequently among these manuscripts are the following:

Robert M. Adams, Henry David Aiken, Noel Annan, Hannah Arendt, Neal Ascherson, W.H. Auden
Geoffrey Barraclough, Bernard Bergonzi, Marius Bewley
J.M. Cameron, Noam Chomsky, Louis A. Coser
Denis Donoghue, F.W. Dupee
D.J. Enright, Jason Epstein
Marius I. Finley, R.W. Flint, Edgar Z. Friedenberg
E.H. Gombrich, Paul Goodman
Stuart Hampshire, Elizabeth Hardwick, Francis Haskell, Robert Heilbroner, Matthew Hodgart, Irving Howe
D.A.N. Jones
Alfred Kazin, Murray Kempton, J.P. Kenyon, Frank Kermode
Walter Laqueur, Christopher Lasch, George Lichtheim
Robert Mazzocco, Mary McCarthy, Hans Morgenthau, Helen Muchnic
Conor Cruise O'Brien
J.H. Plumb, V.S. Pritchett
Phillip Rahv, Christopher Ricks
Ronald Steel, I.F. Stone, Lawrence Stone
A.J.P. Taylor, J. Thompson, H.R. Trevor-Roper
Gore Vidal
J. Weightman
Frances Yates

Miscellany, 1965-1970, includes galley page proofs of a book which appears to have been annotated by a reviewer, but for which no review was found, and a typescript carbon draft of a book of memoirs which seems never to have been used. It also includes various printed indices to the Review.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence, advertising records and financial and legal papers are arranged chronologically.

Within the production papers, editorial records are arranged chronologically; printing and distribution records are arranged alphabetically by type and chronologically within that order.

Manuscripts are arranged chronologically according to the date of the issue in which they appeared, alphabetically by type of material, and alphabetically by author within the various types, except that tables of contents and contributors lists are always placed first. Miscellaneous unused items are placed at the end, arranged first by type (e.g., poems, reviews, etc.) and then alphabetically by author.

Miscellany at the end is arranged alphabetically by author.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

All print issues of the New York Review of Books are freely available -- both for searching and browsing -- on the NYRB's website at http://www.nybooks.com/issues/.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

New York Review of Books.

Associated Titles

The New York Review of Books.

Subjects

Books -- Reviews -- Periodicals.
Periodicals -- Publishing.
Publishers and publishing -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Book reviews.
Budgets.
Contracts.
Correspondence.
Financial records.
Galley proofs.
Manuscripts for publication.

Occupations

Publishers.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

New York Review of Books Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of the New York Review of Books, 1969.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: EFB
Date: Oct 1970
Revision history: 16 Jul 2010 - converted to EAD (MRC); 3 Jan 2017 - Boxes 5, 6 corrected (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Publisher
Box 1 1963-1965 (10 folders)
Box 2 1966 (12 folders)
Box 3 January 1967-October 1967 (10 folders)
Box 4 November 1967-1968 (3 folders)
Box 4 Advertising manager 1963, 1965, 1967, undated
Box 4 Business manager 1965-1969 (2 folders)
Production papers
Editorial records
Box 4 Book review assignment lists (5 folders)
Kohl, Herbert, Teaching the "Unteachables" 1967
Box 4 Manuscript - typescript and typescript copy and typescript repro and printed material repro and typescript copy, revised
Box 4 Cost projections and cost estimates
Box 4 Background materials for Carnegie Foundation proposal, letters of announcement
Box 4 Letters of praise (possible use for publicity) - typescript reproduction and holograph reproduction and holograph and typescript
Box 4 Miscellaneous related materials - published material and typescript reproduction
Printing records
Box 4 Invoices 1963-1966 (4 folders)
Box 5 Invoices 1967
Box 5 Cost analysis of printing 1965
Box 5 Press run statistics 1964-1965
Box 5 Publication schedules 1964-1968
Distribution records
Fulfillment services
James Watson and Co.
Box 5 Billing schedules undated
Box 5 Fulfillment cost analysis 1964-1966
Box 5 Invoices 1963-1966 (3 folders)
Box 5 Proposed source coding schedule 1965
Creative Contract Services
Box 5 Invoices 1966-1967 (2 folders)
Box 5 Miscellaneous notes on fulfillment problems 1967
Return reports
Box 5 Capital Distributing Co. 1966-1967 (2 folders)
Miscellaneous
Box 5 Field reports on newsstand sales 1964-1965
Box 5 Material relating to circulation, undated 1969
Advertising records
Box 5 Advertising prospectus (subscriptions) 1967
Box 5 Readership survey 1966
Box 5 Ad copy, sample ad brochures, ad orders 1963 (2 folders)
Box 5 Ad copy and layout (Brentano's ad) 1964
Box 5 Ad copy 1966-1967
Box 5 Ad copy (Mary McCarthy in Vietnam) 1967
Box 5 Comments on first publication of NYRB 1963
Financial and legal papers
Box 5 Authors' payments 1963-1967 (4 folders)
Bank statements
Box 5 Chase-Manhattan Bank 1964
Box 5 Marine Midland Trust Co. 1963-1964
Box 5 Marine Midland Trust Co., circulation 1963-1964
Box 6 Contracts 1964-1968, undated
Box 6 Copyright registration certificate 1963
Editor's Choice
Box 6 Remittance schedule for reprints 1966
Box 6 Reprint list 1965-1966
Remittance advices
Box 6 Capital Distributing Co. 1966-1967 (2 folders)
Box 6 Statement of insurance coverage 1965-1966
Miscellaneous
Box 6 Financial material (budgets, cost estimates) 1963-1964
Box 6 Sales figures for February 1963 issue 1963
Box 6 Sales reports, David Levine buttons 1966
Box 6 Statement of ownership, publisher's statement 1965
Manuscripts
Because all print issues of the New York Review of Books are freely available -- both for searching and browsing -- on the NYRB's website at http://www.nybooks.com/issues/, the chronological listing of manuscripts does not include names of authors or of books reviewed. Authors and titles are, however, given for unpublished and unused manuscripts.
Box 6 1963 Aug 29
Box 6 1963 Sep 12 (2 folders )
Box 6 1963 Sep 26 (2 folders )
Box 6 1963 Oct 17 (2 folders )
Box 7 1963 Oct 31
Box 7 1963 Nov 6
Box 7 1963 Nov 28
Box 7 1963 Dec 12
Box 7 1963 Dec 26 (2 folders )
Box 7 1964 Jan 9 (2 folders )
Box 7 1964 Jan 23
Box 8 1964 Feb 6
Box 8 1964 Feb 20
Box 8 1964 Mar 5 (2 folders )
Box 8 1964 Mar 19
Box 8 1964 Apr 2
Box 8 1964 Apr 16
Box 8 1964 Apr 30
Box 8 1964 May 14
Box 9 1964 May 28 (2 folders )
Box 9 1964 Jun 11 (2 folders )
Box 9 1964 Jun 25
Box 9 1964 Jul 9 (2 folders )
Box 9 1964 Jul 30 (2 folders )
Box 9 1964 Aug 20
Box 9 1964 Sep 10 (2 folders )
Box 10 1964 Sep 24
Box 10 1964 Oct 8
Box 10 1964 Oct 22 (2 folders )
Box 10 1964 Nov 5
Box 10 1964 Nov 19 (2 folders )
Box 10 1964 Dec 3 (2 folders )
Box 10 1964 Dec 17
Box 11 1964 Dec 31
Box 11 1965 Jan 14
Box 11 1965 Jan 28 (2 folders )
Box 11 1965 Feb 11
Box 11 1965 Feb 25
Box 11 1965 Mar 11
Box 11 1965 Mar 25
Box 12 1965 Apr 8 (2 folders )
Box 12 1965 Apr 22 (2 folders )
Box 12 1965 May 6 (2 folders )
Box 12 1965 May 20
Box 12 1965 Jun 3 (2 folders )
Box Box 12 12 1965 Jun 17
Box 12 1965 Jul 1 (2 folders )
Box 13 1965 Jul 15
Box 13 1965 Aug 5
Box 13 1965 Aug 26 (2 folders )
Box 13 1965 Sep 16
Box 13 1965 Sep 30 (2 folders )
Box 13 1965 Oct 14 (2 folders )
Box 13 1965 Oct 28 (2 folders )
Box 14 1965 Nov 11 (2 folders )
Box 14 1965 Nov 25 (2 folders )
Box 14 1965 Dec 9 (2 folders )
Box 14 1965 Dec 23 (2 folders )
Box 14 1966 Jan 6
Box 14 1966 Jan 20 (2 folders )
Box 14 1966 Feb 3
Box 15 1966 Feb 17
Box 15 1966 Mar 17
Box 15 1966 Mar 31 (2 folders )
Box 15 1966 Apr 14 (2 folders )
Box 15 1966 Apr 28 (2 folders )
Box 15 1966 May 12 (2 folders )
Box 15 1966 May 26 (2 folders )
Box 16 1966 Jun 9
Box 16 1966 Jun 23 (2 folders )
Box 16 1966 Jul 7 (2 folders )
Box 16 1966 Jul 28
Box 16 1966 Aug 18
Box 16 1966 Sep 8
Box 16 1966 Sep 22
Box 17 1966 Oct 6 (2 folders )
Box 17 1966 Oct 20 (2 folders )
Box 17 1966 Nov 3
Box 17 1966 Nov 17 (2 folders )
Box 17 1966 Dec 1
Box 17 1966 Dec 15 (2 folders )
Box 18 1966 Dec 29 (2 folders )
Box 18 1967 Jan 12
Box 18 1967 Jan 26 (2 folders )
Box 18 1967 Feb 9
Box 19 1967 Feb 23 (2 folders )
Box 19 1967 Mar 9 (2 folders )
Box 20 1967 Mar 23 (2 folders )
Box 20 1967 Apr 6 (3 folders )
Box 20 1967 Apr 20
Box 20 1967 May 18
Box 21 1967 Jun 1 (2 folders )
Box 21 1967 Jun 15 (2 folders )
Box 21 1967 Jun 29 (2 folders )
Box 22 1967 Jul 13 (2 folders )
Box 22 1967 Aug 3 ( 3 folders )
Box 23 1967 Aug 24 (3 folders )
Box 23 1967 Sep 14 (3 folders )
Box 24 1967 Sep 28 (3 folders )
Box 24 1967 Oct 12 (3 folders )
Box 24 1967 Oct 26
Box 25 1967 Nov 9 (3 folders )
Box 25 1967 Dec 21 (3 folders )
Box 25 1968 Jan 4
Box 25 1968 Jan 18 (2 folders )
Box 26 1968 Feb 1 (3 folders )
Box 26 1968 Feb 15 (3 folders )
Box 26 1968 Feb 29 (2 folders )
Box 27 1968 Mar 14 (2 folders )
Box 27 1968 Mar 29 (2 folders )
Box 27 1968 Apr 11
Box 28 1968 Apr 25 (4 folders )
Box 28 1968 May 9 (3 folders )
Box 29 1968 May 23 (3 folders )
Box 29 1968 Jun 6 (3 folders )
Box 30 1968 Jun 20 (3 folders )
Box 30 1968 Jul 11 (3 folders )
Box 31 1968 Aug 01 (3 folders )
Box 31 1968 Aug 22 (3 folders )
Box 31 1968 Sep 12 (2 folders )
Box 32 1968 Sep 26 (4 folders)
Box 32 1968 Oct 10
Box 33 1968 Oct 10 (2 folders )
Box 33 1968 Oct 24 (3 folders )
Box 33 1968 Nov 7 (3 folders )
Box 34 1968 Nov 21 (2 folders )
Box 34 1968 Dec 5 (3 folders )
Box 34 1968 Dec 19
Box 34 1969 Jan 2
Miscellaneous articles, unassignable or unused
Box 34 Brumberg, Abraham, "Poland, Gomulka, and the Jews" - typescript reproduction
Box 34 Fruchter, Norman, "A Real Perspective" - printed material reproduction
Box 34 Howe, Irving, "Toward a Free, Multi-Racial America" - typescript copy
Box 34 Lucas, John, "A Night at the Opera," "Magyar wedding, Irish funeral" - typescript revised
Box 34 Park, Clara Claiborne, "Trollope and the Modern Reader" - printed material reproduction
Box 34 Prynne, Xavier, "The Gang"
Box 34 Solomon, Barbara Probst, (no title) - typescript revised, typescript reproduction revised, typescript reproduction revised
Box 34 Spark, Muriel, "Correspondence and Telephone Dept. of Miss Aurora Cavallo, Novelist" - typescript copy
Miscellaneous book reviews, unassignable or unused
A-G
Box 34 Cavell, Stanley, Huxley, Aldous, Literature and Science - typescript revised reproduction
Box 34 Decter, Midge, Mailer Norman, The Presidential Papers - typescript revised reproduction
Box 34 Delaisse, L.M.J., Braunfels, Wolfgang, introduction to, The Lorsch Gospels - typescript revised
Box 34 Enright, D.J., Said, Edward W. Joseph Conrad and the Fiction of Autobiography; Meyer, B.C., Joseph Conrad: A Psychoanalytic Biography; Mudrick, Marvin, ed., Conrad: A Collection of Critical Essays - galley 1, galley 2
Box 34 Fraser, G.S., Righter, William, Logic and Criticism; Turbayne, Colin Murray, The Myth of Metaphor; Frank, Joseph, The Widening Gyre - typescript revised
Box 34 Gass, Oscar, Scigliano, Robert, South Vietnam: Nation Under Stress; Honey, P.J., Communism in North Vietnam; Fall, Bernard, The Two Viet-nams; Warner, Denis, The Last Confucian; Burchett, Wilfred G., The Furtive War; Tregaskis, Richard, Vietnam Diary; Thai, Nguyen, Is South Vietnam Viable?; Fifield, Russell H., Southeast Asia in United States Policy - typescript revised
Box 34 Geyl, Pieter, Holborn, Hajo, A History of Modern Germany, 1648-1840 (vol. II) - holograph and typescript reproduction revised
Box 34 Goldstein, Sally, Blechman, Burt, The War of Camp Omongo; Ludwig, Jack, Confusions; Johnson, Pamela Hansford, Night and Silence Who Is Here: An American Comedy - typescript
Box 34 Goodman, Perceval, Doxiadis, Constantinos A., Architecture in Transition; Wingo, Jr., Lowden, Cities and Space: The Future Use of Urban Land - typescript revised, typescript copy, revised, (incomplete?)
H-Z
Box 35 Higgins, Trumbell, Goerlitz, Walter, Paulus and Stalingrad: A Life of Field Marshall Friedrich Paulus; Chuikov, Vasali Ivanovich, The Battle for Stalingrad - typescript revised
Box 35 Hoffman, Stanley, Aron, Robert, France Reborn; White, Dorothy Shipley, Seeds of Discord - typescript revised
Box 35 Johnston, Oswald, Burgess, Anthony, A Clockwork Orange - typescript revised
Box 35 Kolko, Gabriel, Miller, Herman P. Rich Man, Poor Man - typescript revised reproduction
Box 35 Laquer, Walter, Sykes, Christopher, Crossroads To Israel; Litvinoff, Barnet, To the House of Their Fathers; (Pearlman, Moshe), Ben Gurion Looks Back in Talks With Moshe Pearlman - typescript revised, galley
Box 35 Martin Kingsley, Gingham, June, U Thant: The Search For Peace; Kelen, Emery, Hammarskjold - typescript copy revised, galley reproduction revised; also includes author's correspondence
Box 35 Morris, Ivan, Gluck, Jan, ed., Ukiyo: Stories of Post-war Japan - typescript revised
Box 35 Palmer, R.R., Cobban, Alfred, The Social Interpretation of the French Revolution - typescript revised
Box 35 Pryce-Jones, Alan, MacNeice, Lewis, The Strings Are False; Bolton, Isabel, Under Gemini - galley repro revised
Box 35 Scriven, Micheal, Hogben, Lancelot, Science in Authority - holograph, typescript copy revised
Box 35 Sorrentino, Gilbert, Oppenheimer, Joel, The Love Bit, Four Young Lady Poets; Hollo, Anselm, Red Cats; Oppen, George, The Materials; Rexnikoff, Charles, By the Waters of Manhattan; Williams, William Carlos, Pictures from Brueghel; Eshelman, Clayton, Mexico and North; Meltzer, David, We All Have Something to Say To Each Other; Rothenberg, Jerome, The Seven Hells of the Jigoku Zoshi; Spicer, Jack, The Heads of the Town Up to the Aether - published material
Box 35 Waskow, Arthur I., Millis, Walter and Real, James, The Abolition of War; Larson, Arthur ed., A Warless World; Chamberlain, Neil W., The West in a World Without War - typescript revised reproduction
Miscellaneous letters, unassignable or unused
Box 35 Henry Aaron to the Editors
Box 35 Lionel Abel to the Editors
Box 35 Henry David Aiken reply to Flint
Box 35 Eva Bernhardt to the Editors (incomplete)
Box 35 Conor Cruise O'Brien replies
Box 35 Sally Bird to the Editors
Box 35 Bernard F. Cataldo to the Editors
Box 35 Oscar Collier to the Editors
Box 35 Leonard Conversi to the Editors
Box 35 Robert Flint to the Editors
Box 35 Robert Freeman, Jr. to the Editors
Box 35 Micheal Fried to the Editors
Box 35 Hugh Geeslin, Jr. to the Editors
Box 35 Max Geltman to the Editors
Box 35 Max Gilman to the Editors
Box 35 Harry Goldman to the Editors
Box 35 Amnon Goldworth to the Editors
Box 35 E.H. Gombrich to Bob Silvers, telegram
Box 35 Andrew Hacker reply to Mr. Geeslin
Box 35 Paul Horgan to the Editors
Box 35 Russell Jacoby to the Editors, galley 1
Box 35 D.A.N. Jones to Bob Silvers
Box 35 Gene G. Kassebaum and Gayathri Rajapur to the Editors
Box 35 Stanley Kauffmann to the Editors
Box 35 John Kinnaird to the Editors
Box 35 Richard Kurman to the Editors
Box 35 Herbert Leibowitz to the Editors
Box 35 S.M. Malkin to the Editors
Box 35 Charles J. Mann to the Editors
Box 35 Laurence Michel to the Editors
Box 35 John Muggeridge to the Editors
Box 35 Hans P. Neisser to the Editors
Box 35 Conor Cruise O'Brien to the Editors
Box 35 William Park to the Editors
Box 35 Leonard Perlman to the Editors
Box 35 Murray Polner to the Editors - holograph
Box 35 Joel Porte to the Editors
Box 35 Dennis Powers to the Editors
Charlton Price to the Editors - holograph; revised
Box 35 Richard Reinitz to the Editors
Box 35 James Rieger to the Editors
Box 35 Alan Ritter to the Editors
Box 35 Eugene J. Rosen to the Editors
Box 35 Mark Roskill to the Editors
Box 35 Milton Rugoff to the Editors
Box 35 Andre Ryerson to the Editors
Box 35 J.R. Schuh to the Editors
Box 35 James Scully to the Editors - typescript, reproduction, revised
Box 35 Harvey Schapiro to the Editors
Box 35 Geoffrey Barraclough replies
Box 35 David E. Sopher to the Editors
Box 35 Owen Thomas to the Editors
Box 35 James Toledano to the Editors
Box 35 Alan Trachteberg to the Editors
Box 35 Parker Tyler to the Editors
Box 35 Marius Bewley replies to Veysey
Box 35 John C. Weston to the Editors
Box 35 Marshall Windmiller to the Editors - typescript reproduction
Box 35 Karen Wittgenstein to the Editors
Box 35 Wayne D. Wolchek
Miscellaneous poems, unassignable or unused
Box 35 Neal Ascherson, no title
Box 35 Kenneth Burk, "Statements of Attitude," "Major Lobotomy" - galley
Box 35 Richard Eberhart, "The Killer: On the Assassination of President Kennedy"
Box 35 Frederick Seidel, "My Friend Anne Hutchinson" - typescript copy revised
Box 35 Richard Wilbur, "The Lilacs"
Unidentifiable fragments
Box 35 Review of book on Apollinaire (?)
Box 35 Review of book on Middle East - typescript reproduction galley inserts
Box 35 Review of book on English Parliament
Box 35 Review of unknown book
Box 35 Fragment from April 16, 1964 folder (?)
Miscellany
Box 35 Ayer, A.J., untitled book 1965 (?) - galley page proofs, with marginal comments by Anthony Quine, printed material annotated
Box 35 Thomson, Virgil (?), Memoirs (?) - chapters 3-13, typescript copy revised (3 folders)
Index
Box 35 Vol. I and Vol. II 1965 - published material, typescript copy revised
Box 35 Vol. I - Vol. XI 1969 - published material
Box 35 Vol. XII - Vol. XV 1969, 1970 - published material

Return to top