Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Notes on Aristotle manuscripts

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Title: Notes on Aristotle manuscripts
Inclusive Dates: 1664-1679
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft (3 volumes)
Abstract: Three bound manuscripts by three different authors, in Latin, consisting of notes and commentary on various works of Aristotle.
Language: Latin
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Almost nothing is known of the authors of these three manuscripts. As best as can be determined, they are Gabriellis a Dertona, Evaldus [last name undecipherable], and Iosephus Queralt, a brother of the Redemptorist order at the University of Barcelona.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

This collection of Notes on Aristotle manuscripts consists of three hand written volumes. The volumes are unnumbered and their origin is unknown. We have assigned volume numbers for ease of description.

Volume [1], a codex with a yellowish parchment cover, contains a manuscript written by Gabriellis a Dertona, completed 5th April 1666 (see page 358). The content concerns the Introduction into Aristotle's Logic. It does not seem to be a copy of Aristotle's organon but a summary, explanation and commentary on it.

Volume [2], a thicker codex with a brown paper cover (obviously a much later rebinding) contains a manuscript written by a certain Evaldus, whose last name is indecipherable (appears at the very end of the manuscript), completed on the first of June 1664. It seems to be the teaching notes of a course on natural philosophy, based mainly on Aristotle's Physics.

Volume [3], a smaller codex with a brown paper cover similar to that of Volume [2], contains a manuscript written by Iosephus Queralt, a brother of the Redemptorist order at the University of Barcelona in 1679. It contains two works: Aristotle's De generatione et corruptione (fol1-105) and a commentary on Aristotle's De anima (fol 106 ff).

[Special Collections Research Center gratefully acknowledges the assistance of Professor Matthieu van der Meer in compiling this description.]

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Bound volumes, in no particular order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Aristotle -- Criticism and interpretation.
Aristotle -- Study and teaching.

Subjects

Philosophy, Ancient -- Study and teaching.

Genres and Forms

Manuscripts (document genre)

Occupations

Classicists.
Educators.
Scholars.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Notes on Aristotle manuscripts,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unknown.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 14 Oct 2011
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Manuscripts
Box 1 Volume [1], by Gabriellis a Dertona, on Aristotle's Logic 1666
Box 1 Volume [2], Evaldus, on Aristotle's Physics 1664
Box 1 Volume [3], Iosephus Queralt, on Aristotle's De generatione et corruptione (fol1-105) and Aristotle's De anima (fol 106 ff) 1679

Return to top