Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Wilber L. Norton Journal

A description of the item at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Norton, Wilber L.
Title: Wilber L. Norton Journal
Inclusive Dates: 1831-1848
Quantity: 1 volume (SC)
Abstract: Daily journal of the activities and travels of a resident of 19th century Litchfield, New York. Scattered pages also contain riddles, medicinal recipes and other memoranda.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Nothing is known of Wilber L. Norton beyond the information given in the journal. He resided in Litchfield, New York and did a range of odd jobs including painting, metalwork, haying, and mowing. In many cases it is unclear whether he did these for pay or as daily work on a family farm.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Wilber L. Norton Journal consists of a single volume containing notations of Wilber Norton's daily work and travel activities. Entries are only a single line for the most part, and are generally of the format "One day painting window in shop" or "Half day going to father's and finishing shed." Some entries include a notation of associated dollars and cents, perhaps Norton's wages.

Occasionally the pages contain medicinal recipes (e.g., "Cure for Heaves" in horses), riddles, and other things. Sundays are marked with the simple notation, "Sunday." An entry from 25 Oct 1847 notes, "Finished churn then vaccinated the children."

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Norton, Wilber L.

Subjects

Places

Litchfield (N.Y.) -- History -- 19th century.
Litchfield (N.Y.) -- Social life and customs -- 19th century.

Genres and Forms

Diaries.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Wilber L. Norton Journal,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1969.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 30 Jun 2010
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Memorabilia
SC 525 Journal 1831-1848

Return to top