Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Belus F. North Collection

An inventory of his collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: North, Belus F.
Title: Belus F. North Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1862-1870
Quantity: 5 v. (SC)
Abstract: Papers of the Union Army soldier from Marcellus, New York. Civil War diaries, 1862-1865; personal ledger, 1869-1870; and a photograph.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Belus F. North (fl. 1862-1915) was an American soldier who fought with Union forces during the U.S. Civil War.

Originally from Marcellus, New York, North fought as a Private with the 122nd Regiment, New York Infantry, Company F. According to his diary, North joined the 122nd regiment in July 1862 at the Presbyterian Church. North states that the regiment left Syracuse on Sunday, August 31, 1862. Throughout the war, North's regiment participated in numerous battles including the Battle of Antietam, the Battle of Fredericksburg, and the Battle of Gettysburg, and was present at the surrender of Confederate forces at Appomattox Courthouse. North was honorably discharged on June 23, 1865.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Belus F. North Collection contains financial records and diaries from the Union soldier. The Financial records series consists of a single ledger. Accompanying the ledger is a handwritten transcription of C. L. Rich's Diary from September 1862, and a photograph of J. N. Williams's house, dated 1915. The Writings series contains four diaries, written between 1862 and 1865. The diaries chronicle North's experiences as a soldier. At the start of most diaries is a list of engagements that the regiment participated in within the given year. Of Lee's surrender, North wrote (09 Apr 1865), "A day that will live in story, Lee surrendered." He continued:

We - in our places on both sides of the road stood and saw the General and his staff ride to the Head [?illegible] of our General Grant - where the formalities of surrender were concluded.
Our wagon train went back where Lee's tired and hungry soldiers were and rations were unloaded and distributed - then their guns were brou't back in the wagons. Good job!

Within the diaries are miscellaneous items, such as swatches of fabric, a lieutenant's calling card, a photograph of North, and a letter to his Aunt, Hattie Sizer [Harriet Abigail Dauchy?].

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is divided into two series: Financial records and Writings. The latter is arranged chronologically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

North, Belus F.

Corporate Bodies

United States -- Army -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Sources.

Subjects

Soldiers -- United States.

Places

United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Sources.
United States -- History, Military -- To 1900 -- Sources.

Genres and Forms

Diaries.
Ledgers (account books)
Photographs.

Occupations

Soldiers.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Belus F. North Collection
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: LDC
Date: 11 Dec 2008
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Financial records
SC 273, Folder 1 Ledger 1869-1870
Writings
Diaries
SC 273, Folder 2 1862
SC 273, Folder 3 1863
SC 273, Folder 3 1864
SC 273, Folder 3 1865

Return to top