Finding Aids
printer friendly version

9/11 Newspaper Collection

A description of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Title: 9/11 Newspaper Collection
Inclusive Dates: 2001
Quantity: 12 linear ft.
Abstract: Collection of newspaper items related to the World Trade Center attacks on September 11, 2001.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The September 11 attacks, often referred to simply as 9/11, were a series of coordinated terrorist attacks on the United States on September 11, 2001. The hijacking and deliberate crashing of four commercial airliners by members of terrrorist organization al-Qaeda killed more than 3000 people, and had profound and long-lasting effects on American (and to a lesser extent European) politics, foreign policy and domestic security efforts.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The 9/11 Newspaper Collection consists of newspaper items related to the World Trade Center attacks on September 11, 2001.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Qaida (Organization)

Subjects

Journalism -- United States.
September 11 Terrorist Attacks, 2001.
Terrorism -- Press coverage
Terrorism -- United States.
Terrorism and mass media.
Terrorism investigation -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Newspapers.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

9/11 Newspaper Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Marshall Matlock, 2003.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 31 Oct 2010
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.

Return to top