Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Louis I. Newman Papers

An inventory of at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Newman, Louis Israel, 1893-
Title: Louis I. Newman Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1926-1968
Quantity: 0.5 linear feet
Abstract: Papers of the Rabbi, writer. Correspondence; manuscripts; and printed material including newsletters, a poem, sermons, and a book. Notable correspondents include Albert M. Bender and Nelson Glueck (president of Hebrew Union College).
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Louis I. Newman was an American rabbi, scholar and writer. Despite having no formal rabbinical training he was ordained in 1918 by Steven S. Wise, a Hungarian-born Reform rabbi and Zionist leader, and eventually became the rabbi for Congregation Rodeph Sholom in New York City. Newman was active in the Zionist movement, held a leadership position in United Palestine Appeal, and during World War II he campaigned in the United States for assistance and support in smuggling Jews from Europe to Palestine. He did not hesitate to use his pulpit to publish his strongly-held beliefs; in 1939 his condemnations from the pulpit of British policy toward Palestine led the Board of his synagogue to pressure him to resign from United Palestine Appeal.

Newman is the editor or author of several books, among them The Hasidic Anthology: Tales and Teachings of the Hasidim, The Talmudic anthology: Tales and Teachings of the Rabbis, A "Chief Rabbi" of Rome Becomes a Catholic (concerning Rabbi Israel Anton Zolli who was baptized a Christian in 1945), and a collection of sermons entitled Biting on Granite. He also wrote a number of pamphlets and booklets and at least one song, and his sermons have been published.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Louis I. Newman Papers is divided into three series. A good amount is related to Albert M. Bender, philanthropist, book collector, and patron of the arts; the material suggests that Newman was writing something about Bender.

Correspondence-subject files contains correspondence to, from, or about Albert M. Bender, and newsletters and President's Reports from Hebrew Union College. Printed material consists of programs and other items published by Newman's Congregation Rodeph Sholom and miscellaneous other printed material. Writings contains typescripts of articles and essays by Newman, research material and notes on Albert M. Bender, and a copy of Newman's book Hasidic Anthology.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Folders are arranged alphabetically within series but material has not been arranged below the folder level and is in no particular order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Rabbi Newman's papers originally included a number of published books which have been transferred to Rare Books for separate cataloging. Please refer to the Classic Catalog for a complete listing of these.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Bender, Albert M. (Albert Maurice), 1866-1941.
Glueck, Nelson, 1900-
Newman, Louis I. (Louis Israel), 1893-1972.

Corporate Bodies

Congregation Rodeph Sholom (New York, N.Y.).
Hebrew Union College.

Associated Titles

Hasidic anthology: tales of the Hasidim.

Subjects

Jews, United States.
Judaism, Clergy.
Rabbis, New York (State), New York.
Zionism.
Zionists, New York (State), New York.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Manuscripts for publication.
Programs (documents)
Sermons.
Sheet music.

Occupations

Rabbis.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Louis I. Newman Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Louis I. Newman, 1968-1971.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 12 Sep 2007
Revision history: 12 Sep 2007 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence-subject files
Box 1 Bender, Albert M. ca. 1926-1950
Box 1 Hebrew Union College 1967-1968 - newsletters and correspondence from Israel (from Nelson Glueck and others) (2 folders)
Printed material
Box 1 Congregation Rodeph Sholom 1966-1968
Box 1 Miscellaneous 1964, 1965
Writings
Box 1 Articles and essays 1947, 1960?, 1967 - includes Newman's personal account of the U.N. Partition Decision of November 1939; some items may be sermons
Box 1 Bender material - notes, fragments and drafts concerning Albert M. Bender
Box 1 Book: The Hasidic Anthology, Schocken Books 1963

Return to top