Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Ernest E. Neal Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Neal, Ernest E.
Title: Ernest E. Neal Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1956-1967
Quantity: 0.25 linear ft.
Abstract: Reports relating to the Philippines.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Ernest E. Neal (1911-1972) was one of the first African American foreign aid officers to work for the United States Agency for International Development (USAID). For part of his career he was Special Assistant for Community Development and Chief of the Rural Development Division for its US Operations Mission to the Philippines and Deputy Director of USAID/Philippines.

For more information about Neal's work, see "South to South across the Pacific: Ernest E. Neal and Community Development Efforts in the American South and the Philippines," by Satoshi Sakano (2005).

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Ernest E. Neal Papers consist of reports relating to USAID's Rural Development efforts in the Philippines, as well as writings by Neal (speeches, addresses, and a printed booklet).

Reports contains quarterly narrative progress reports, reports on two regional seminars, and a "Terminal Report" written in July of 1958. There are also an assortment of later reports, including two brief summaries for the State Department, one "Monthly Report" (April l1966) and several papers on proposed education projects.

Writings consists of a published booklet entitled "Men, Ideas and Institutions: The Keys to Development" and the typescripts of numerous speeches and addresses, including a keynote address given at the Philippine Association of Social Workers conference in 1956.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Reports are in chronological order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Neal, Ernest E.

Corporate Bodies

USAID/Philippines.
USOM to the Philippines.
United States. -- Agency for International Development.

Subjects

Community development -- Philippines.
Economic development -- Philippines.
Rural development -- Philippines.

Places

Philippines -- Politics and government.
Philippines -- Rural conditions.

Genres and Forms

Addresses.
Reports.
Speeches.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Ernest E. Neal Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Ernest E. Neal, 1970.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 22 Mar 2010
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Reports
Box 1 Quarterly Narrative Progress Reports Jul 1956-Jun 1958 (9 reports)
Box 1 Regional Community Development Seminars Jan 1957 (2 reports)
Box 1 Terminal Report of Ernest E. Neal Jul 1958 (2 reports)
Box 1 Miscellaneous 1965-1966
Writings
Box 1 Booklet, "Men, Ideas and Institutions: The Keys to Development" 1967
Box 1 Speeches and addresses 1956-1958

Return to top