Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Neagoe, Peter
Title:	Peter Neagoe Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1918-1974
Quantity:	9.0 linear ft.
Abstract:	Papers of the Romanian American artist, novelist, short story writer (1881-1960). Correspondence, diaries, drawings, manuscripts, photographs, sketches, memorabilia; includes some material relating to Neagoe's wife, painter and muralist Anna Neagoe.
Language:	Majority in English, some in Dutch, German, French, Romanian
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Peter Neagoe (1881-1960) was a Romanian-Amerian artist, novelist, short short writer.

Neagoe was born November 7, 1881, in Transylvania (now Romania). He attended the University of Bucharest and the Romanian Academy of Fine Arts before coming to the United States in 1901 to study at the National Academy of Design in New York. He eventually became a naturalized U.S. citizen, then relocated to Paris following World War I. During World War II he worked for the U.S. Office of War Information, preparing radio broadcasts for the Romanian people. He married married Anna Frankeul, an artist, on July 31, 1911. He died October 28, 1960, in Woodstock, NY.

Neagoe wrote essays, short stories, and novels, many about Romanian peasant life, and edited the periodical New Review as well as an anthology of stories and poems by many of Neagoe's fellow expatriates entitled Americans Abroad. While many of his stories had Romanian settings or characters, he also wrote a number of stories set in America. His characterization and style were praised by critics; regarding his book Easter Sun, a reviewer for the Times Literary Supplement wrote, "Mr. Neagoe writes with an unaffected simplicity perfectly adapted to his subject...and one feels that his peasant characters are created out of an intimate understanding, not merely observed." Neagoe also wrote a book of childhood reminiscences entitled Time to Keep, in which he describes his boyhood in Romania.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Peter Neagoe Papers consist of biographical material, correspondence, memorabilia, and writings.

Biographical material contains interviews and essays, as well as several typescript drafts and a published edition of David Sturdevant's monograph on Neagoe.

Correspondence is primarily incoming with a few drafts of outgoing letters, mostly related to the publication of Americans Abroad, an anthology of expatriate prose, and Neagoe's book of short stories, Storm. Correspondence of greatest depth and duration includes that of Djuna Barnes, Alexander Berkman, Kay Boyle, William Aspenwall Bradley, Bob Brown, Whit Burnett, Emanuel Carnevali, John Cournos, John Dos Passos, James T. Farrell, Emma Goldman, Eugène Jolas, Alfred Margul-Sperber, Robert McAlmon, Henry Miller, Edward J. O'Brien, Ezra Pound, Samuel Putnam, Laura Riding, Richard Thoma, Laurence Vail, and William Carlos Williams.

Writings, by far the majority of the collection, comprises manuscripts, typescripts, drafts and notes for more than fifty of Neagoe's stories and novels (both published and unpublished) as well as miscellaneous notes on story ideas. For some titles there are also galleys, camera-ready copy, book jackets, and other material related to production and publication.

Memorabilia includes clippings, diaries, address lists, drawings, photographs (including some used in Americans Abroad), and printed material (issues of magazines containing Neagoe's work).

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

A number of books by both Peter Neagoe and his wife have been transferred to Rare Books for separate cataloging; please refer to the Classic Catalog to locate these items.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Subjects

Places

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Peter Neagoe Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Anna Neagoe, 1976-1984.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: -
Date: Mar 2006
Revision history: 1 Nov 2006 - converted to EAD (AMCon); 8 Nov 2006 - updated with additional material/information, inventory reordered (MRR); 31 Oct 2019 - additions processed, collection rehoused (MS); 27 Sep 2022 - audiocassette added to inventory (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Biographical material
Box 1		General Jan 1950, undated - includes "Peter Neagoe's Personality," 4pp., translated from Romanian; typescript of interview by Girand d'Uccle, 3pp.
Box 1		"The Most Interesting Man I Ever Met" by Ann Neagoe 1958 - longhand and 2 typescript drafts of a 1-page essay
		"Peter Neagoe - an Essay and Some Bibliographic Notes" by Donald F. Sturtevant
Box 1			Book - published by Syracuse University Library in 1964, based on materials from the library's collection
Box 1			Drafts - three drafts of essay used in book

	Correspondence
Box 1		Aiken, Conrad 1931-1932 - includes photo
Box 1		Abernethy, Milton A. 1932
Box 1		Amzar, Dimitru C. 1946
Box 1		Bald, Wambly 1931 - Includes photocopy of a correspondence, and photo
Box 1		Barnes, Djuna 1931-1932 - Includes photocopy of a correspondence
Box 1		Barr, Alfred Hamilton 1930
Box 1		Baxte, Michael und.
Box 1		Bela Bartok Archives 1962
Box 1		Berkman, Alexander 1931-1932 - Includes photocopy of a correspondence, and photo
Box 1		Bosschere, Jean de 1932
Box 1		Boyle, Kay 1931-1934 - includes photo and photocopies (of the correspondence)
Box 1		Bradley, William Aspenwall 1931-1934, 1958
Box 1		Breton, Andre 1932
Box 1		Brooklyn Museum 1931-1933, 1946
Box 1		Brooklyn Public Library 1967
Box 1		Burnett, Whit 1931-1933, 1936, 1940-1941 - includes photo
Box 1		Brill, A. A. [Abraham Arden] 1932, 1934
Box 1		Brown, Bob 1931-1932 - includes photo
Box 1		Cannell, Kathleen Bigger 1932
Box 1		Cappon, Alexander Patterson 1940
Box 1		Carneval, Emanuel 1932, undated - includes photo
Box 1		Casals, Pablo 1962
Box 1		Charpentier, Albert 1931
Box 1		Cheyette, Maurice R. 1958-1960
Box 1		Coleman, Emily Holmes 1931-1932 - includes photograph
Box 1		Cotrus, Aron 1938
Box 1		Cournos, John 1931
Box 1		Coward-McCann Inc. 1935-1937, 1948-1949, 1966-1967
Box 1		Cowley, Malcolm 1931-1932
Box 1		Crosby, Caresse 1931, undated
Box 1		Cummings, E.E. 1931-1932
Box 1		Diamant, Gertrude undated
Box 1		Dos Passos, John undated - includes photo
Box 1		Dowling, Allan 1931-1932 - includes photo
Box 1		Eliot, T.S. 1932
Box 1		European Books Ltd. 1935-1937
Box 1		Fadiman, Clifton 1931, 1956
Box 1		Fagel, Henry Guy 1931
Box 1		Farrell, James T. 1931-1935, undated - includes photo
Box 1		Faulkner, William 1931
Box 1		Foley, Martha 1931-1932 - includes photo
Box 1		Ford, Charles Henri 1932 - includes photo
Box 1		Fraenkel, Michael 1929-1932
Box 1		Friesz, Othon 1932
Box 1		Gillespie, A. Lincoln 1932-1933
Box 1		Giurgea, Jul 1937-1940
Box 1		Globe: the International Magazine 1937-1938
Box 1		Godwin, Murray 1931
Box 1		Goldman, Emma 1932-1933
Box 1		Gromaire, Marcel 1932
Box 1		Guggenheim, Peggy 1931, 1968
Box 1		Guillaume, Paul 1931
Box 1		Haas, Robert 1937-1938
Box 1		Hemingway, Ernest 1931
Box 1		Hersch, Virginia 1932, undated - includes photo
Box 1		International Literary Bureau 1933, 1935-1937
Box 1		Jameson, Ruth 1931 - includes photo
Box 1		Jolas, Eugene 1928-1932 - includes photocopies of some correspondence
Box 1		Jolas, Marie 1931, undated
Box 1		Kahane, Jack 1933
Box 2		Kamin, Martin 1957-1959, undated
Box 2		Kreymborg, Alfred 1931-1932 - includes photo
Box 2		Larsson, Raymond E. 1931
Box 2		Lhevinne, Isadore 1932
Box 2		Llona, Victor 1932-1933
Box 2		Loving, Peter undated
Box 2		A. and S. Lyons Inc. 1937-1938, 1940
Box 2		McAlmon, Robert 1931-1932, undated - includes photo
Box 2		Mangan, Sherry 1931-1932 - includes photo
Box 2		Manguin, Henri 1932
Box 2		Margul-Sperber, Alfred 1932
Box 2		Mayfield, John S. 1967 - includes photo
Box 2		Mencken, H.L. 1932, undated
Box 2		Michel, Albin 1934-1935
Box 2		Michel, Albin 1934-1935
Box 2		Miller, Henry 1931-1932 - includes photocopies of some correspondence
Box 2		Moreau, Luc-Albert 1932
Box 2		Morris, Ira 1931-1932, 1962
Box 2		Neagoe, Anna 1932-1933 - regarding art exhibition
Box 2		New York Public Library 1967-1968
Box 2		O'Brien, Edward J. 1932, 1934-1935, 1940, undated
Box 2		Orage, A.R. 1928, 1932
Box 2		Owens, Philip undated
Box 2		Perles, Alfred 1931
Box 2		Pound, Ezra 1931, undated - includes photo
Box 2		Prensky, Eva 1935-1936
Box 2		Putnam, Samuel and Riva 1931, undated - includes photo
Box 2		Queens Bourough Public Library 1968
Box 2		Random House 1937
			See also Haas, Robert.
Box 2		Reavey, George 1935
Box 2		Riding, Laura 1931, undated
Box 2		Rodman, Selden 1931-1932 - includes photo
Box 2		Romania 1934, 1937, 1939, 1967 - includes embassy and consulates
Box 2		Rosenfeld, Paul 1931 - includes photo
Box 2		Sage, Robert 1931-1932 - includes photo
Box 2		Saunders, Marion 1932
Box 2		Schrank, Joseph 1932, undated - includes photo
Box 2		Seabrook, William Buehler undated - photo only
		Sperber, Alfred
			See Margul-Sperber, Alfred.
Box 2		Stein, Gertrude 1931
Box 2		Targ, William 1932
Box 2		Thoma, Richard 1931-1932 - includes photo
Box 2		Vail, Laurence 1931, undated - includes photo
Box 2		Williams, William Carlos 1931-1932 - includes photo
Box 2		Miscellaneous (3 folders)

	Memorabilia
Box 2		Anna Neagoe 1973, undated - includes clippings of Anna's art and reviews of her shows; typescript stories "My Dog, Jeffy-Boy," "I am Bored"; published story "The Party" in the April 1974 issue of Image along with a feature on her drawings; story about her in the the August 1973 issue of Image.
Box 2		Clippings
Box 3		Date Book 1926
		Diaries - documents the Neagoes' arrival and life in Paris; one copy includes margin notes from a reviewer to Anna Neagoe
Box 3			Diary A circa 1920 - 185 pp. , original typescript (2 folders)
Box 3			Diary B circa 1920 - 185 pp., typescript carbon
Box 3		Drawings (3 folders)
Oversize 1		Drawings, oversize
Box 3		Efficiency Rating, Office of War Information 1943-1944 - evaluation from Peter's time as an announcer for the OWI'sOverseas Operations Branch, Eastern Press and Radio Program Division
Box 3		Horoscope [1918] - typescript, by Angelus Stuart
Box 3		Invitations
Box 3		"Kamin Collection" - original folder label; related to Martin and Sally Kamin, a book publisher; includes correspondence, photographs autographed to Sally, one issue of the Air Courier
Box 3		Lawsuit - in Romanian; handwritten note on folder reads "Interesting Lawsuit by Roumanian Professor"
Box 3		Lists of addresses
		Photographs
Box 3			Americans Abroad - photographs of contributors to the anthology
Box 3			Photos of Neagoe
Oversize 1			Photos of Neagoe, oversize
Box 4			Romania - countryside, people, buildings
		Printed material
Box 4			American Designers Institute roster and directory 1948
Oversize 1			Le Crapouillot Oct 1932 - includes Peter's story, "La Confession de Gavrila", with reproductions of artwork used with the story
Box 4			Industrial Designers' Institute roster and directory 1952
Box 4			The New Review Jan/Feb 1931 - contains Neagoe's story "They"
Box 4			The New Review Aug/Sep/Oct [1931?]; Apr 1932 - contains Neagoe's story "The Greenhorn" (2 folders)
Box 4			Snowy Egret spring 1962 - contains Neagoe's story "Of Men and Beasts"
Box 4			Soldier and the Billy Goat, no. 2
Box 4		Publicity
Box 4		Reader's reports
Box 4		Stationery

	Writings
		Books
			The Adventures of Pacala [unpublished]
Box 4				Draft A - typescript, 150 pp. (2 folders)
Box 4				Draft B - typescript copy, pp. 1-80, with critique sheet
Box 5				Draft B - typescript copy, pp. 81-160
			Alexander [unpublished]
Box 5				Draft A - pp. 1-180 (2 folders)
Box 5				Draft A - pp. 181-268
			Americans Abroad
Box 5				Reviews
			Easter Sun
Box 5				Drafts of synopsis - mix of handwritten and typed
Box 5				Advanced reading copy
Box 5				Camera-ready copy
Oversize 1				Camera-ready copy, book cover
Box 5				Contracts
Box 5				Reviews
			The Greenhorn [unpublished]
Box 6				Draft A - typescript, 235 pp., marked "not like the one published"; two copies, one incomplete (missing pp. 91-117 and 202-235)
Box 6				Draft B - pp. 118-201 only
			The Icon Maker [unpublished]
				It is unclear what precisely this is. Draft C is a complete story called "The Icon Maker," while Draft A includes "The Icon Maker" as a part of a larger piece called "The Cup of the Devil." There are enough similarities to consider them the same creative piece -- as the same titles suggest -- and yet different enough to be treated separately.
Box 6				Draft A - typescript, 106 pp.
Box 6				Draft B - typescript, 112 pp.
Box 6				Draft C - typescript carbon, 100 pp.
Box 6				Miscellaneous drafts - typescript, pp. 38-69 and 82-283, with 3 additional sections labeled as "The Icon Maker" or "taken from the Icon Maker"; envelope holding this marked as "The Icon Maker and Cubin" while pp. 1 has a note "Tentative outline of the biographical novel 'The Cup of the Devil'" (4 folders)
			No Time for Tears
Box 6				Reviews
Box 6			Povestiri - collection of Peter's short stories
Box 6				Published edition, Editura Dacia, Cluuj Romania, with introduction by Ioan A. Popa 1972
			The Saint of Montparnasse
Box 6				Draft typescript - pp. 1-95 with many notes and corrections; includes correspondence
Box 7				Draft typescript - pp. 96-483 with many notes and corrections (4 folders)
Box 7				"Original Brancusi" - longhand drafts
Box 7				"Recollection of Brancusi" - contains "My Recollections of Brancusi," theme of the story "The Saint of Montparnasse", and a piece divided into scenes (as a movie would be) with description of the story
Box 7				Galley A
Box 8				Galley B
Box 8				Galley C
Box 8				Galley front matter
Box 8				Reviews
Box 8				Miscellaneous research material about Brancusi - longhand and typescript notes about Brancusi; exhibition catalog; section taken from a book; title pages from Peter's book, short typed biography of Brancusi in Romanian
			A Selection of Stories by Peter Neagoe; arranged with notes by John S. Mayfield
Box 8				Draft
Box 8				Production records
			Storm
Box 8				Book, Obelisk Press, Paris - bound typescript carbon with stamp on inside cover "As from 1st March 1946 this book is the property of Direct Book Supply Co…."; includes correspondence from donor
Box 8				Contracts
Box 8				Preface - photocopy of preface from book by Eugene Jolas
Box 8				Publicity
Box 8				Reviews
			There is My Heart
Box 8				Draft, "New Version to be used in Esther's book" - includes pp. 204-267, some pages missing; introduction; pp. 13-16 from printed Romanian edition
Box 8				Camera-ready copy
Oversize 1				Camera-ready copy, book cover
Box 8				Contracts
Box 8				Reviews
			A Time to Keep
Box 9				Camera-ready copy
Oversize 1				Camera-ready copy, book cover
Box 9				Reviews
			Truth is a Sharp Thorn [unpublished]
Box 9				Draft - typescript, 329 pp. (3 folders)
			Uncle Gerasim [unpublished]
Box 9				Drafts
					Contains: Introduction to the Stories - corrections original manuscript 8 p. white type Introduction to the Stories - corrections copy 8 pp. white type When Nicolai Filiman…6 pp. longhand yellow, 14 pp. white typescript When Nicolai Filiman…14 pp. white typescript One Has The Letter Another Has The Heart - correct longhand 5 pp. yellow typescript One Has The Letter Another Has The Heart, "II" - original manuscript 13 pp. white typescript One Has The Letter Another Has The Heart,"II" - copy 13 pp. 3 x 5 card attached com white typescript
Box 9				Drafts
					Contains: A Dragon Tamed - corrections longhand 5 pp. yellow typescript A Dragon Tamed, "III" - original manuscript 12 pp. white typescript A Dragon Tamed, "III" - copy 12 pp. white typescript 3 x 5 card attached Uncle Gherasim Catches a Thief - corrected longhand 5 pp. yellow Uncle Gherasim Catches a Thief, "IV" - original manuscript 13 pp. white Uncle Gherasim Catches a Thief, "IV" - copy 13 pp. white 3 x 5 note attached The Source of Fate, "V" - original manuscript 5 pp. white typed The Source of Fate, "V" - copy 5 pp. 3 x 5 note white typed
Box 9				Drafts
					Contains: Peasant Delegation Sees The Metropolitan - correct longhand 3 pp. white typescript Peasant Delegation Sees The Metropolitan, "VI" - original manuscript 12 pp. white typescript Peasant Delegation Sees The Metropolitan, "VI" - copy 12 pp. white typescript 3 x 5 card attached note Uncle Gherasim Confesses a Sin, "VII" - original manuscript 9 pp. white Uncle Gherasim Confesses a Sin, "VII" - copy 9 pp. white 3 x 5 note attached Reforming a Braggart - longhand 7 pp. yellow Reforming a Braggart, "VIII" - original manuscript 16 pp. white typed Reforming a Braggart,"VIII" - copy 17 pp. white typed 3 x 5 card note
Box 9				Drafts
					Contains: Uncle Gherasim Writes a Letter to a Politician,"IX" - original manuscript 7 pp. white typescript Uncle Gherasim Writes a Letter to a Politician, "IX" - corrected copy 7 pp. white typescript Uncle Gherasim Writes a Letter to a Politician,"IX" - copy 7 pp. white typescript 3 x 5 note attached A Loose Tongue, "X" - original manuscript 13 pp. white typescript A Loose Tongue,"X" - corrections copy 13 pp. white typescript 3 x 5 card History - longhand 44 pp. mixed color paper There is No Paradise - longhand 10 pp. Yellow Uncle Gherasim Looks at Modern Art - corrected longhand 5 pp. white Uncle Gherasim Looks at Modern Art - original manuscript 6 pp. white
Box 9				Drafts - additional typescript draft of sections I-VIII
				Miscellaneous notes - longhand 19 pp.
			The Wheat and its Tare [unpublished]
Box 10				Draft A - original manuscript 185 pp. (2 folders)
Box 10				Draft B - typescript carbon, 185 pp.
Box 10				Draft C - typescript, 58 pp., subtitled "Fragment of a Scenario"
			Winning a Wife and Other Stories
Box 10				Camera-ready copy
Oversize 1				Camera-ready copy, book cover
				Cover artwork
Box 10				Reviews - scrapbook of clippings
Box 10				Reviews - scrapbook of foreign reviews
Box 10				Reviews - loose clippings
		Plays
			Mrs. King
Box 11				Draft, longhand
Box 11				Drafts, typescript
		Radio scripts
Box 11			[Untitled script] - original manuscript 78 pp. longhand and typed yellow & white
		Screenplays
Box 11			Illeana the Possessed - screenplay by Alyce Pollock from the novel by Neagoe
		Short stories
Box 11			All for Bread - alternate titles: "The Peasants of Green-Valley to the Bishop", "That God may Give us Rain", "Cry for Bread"; also rendered into verse form by Abe Kramer
Box 11			Alter Ego - alternate title: "Hard-Luck Tom"
Box 11			Arcum-Intensio Frangit; Animum Remissio
Box 11			As God Decrees
Box 11			The Biggest Wolf
Box 11			Big Gods and Little Fishes, an allegory of 1935
Box 11			Bitter Fruit
Box 11			Blossoming World
				See also material filed under alternate title, His is the Kingdom.
Box 11			Burlac - alternate title: "Gypsy"
Box 11			The Case of the Venial Sin - alternate titles "The Venial Sin"
Box 11			Cherished Hope
Box 11			Damn Fate
Box 11			The Dear Lady
Box 11			Dear Uncle - more like an open letter recounting Neagoe's thoughts and reminiscences of life and philosophy to an imagined uncle; includes longhand pieces, typescript manuscript 134 pp., and a "second version" of pp. 1-48
Box 12			Dear Uncle - same title as above, but different content
Box 12			Dialogue
Box 12			Dreams of Spring Come True in the Winter - alternate title: "Dreams of Spring"
Box 12			Drum Beat in Harvest Time - longhand original and typescript drafts
Box 12			The Expected Visitor - handwritten note in pencil "This is part of the book which [completed] has 185 pages"
Box 12			Eyes Too Eager - longhand original and typescript drafts; alternate titles: "Plot" or "The Plot"
Box 12			Fading of the Rainbow
			Fairy Tales by Peter Neagoe (2 folders)
				Contains: As the service so the reward The fairy queen of the mountains Ileana Simziana The man of stone Only with cattle can a man drive poverty out of his house Pacala The poor man's clever daughter The story of luck Tugulea, the lame boy Why live fools and bright people mixed in society Youth without old age and life without death
Box 12			Forgotten by Gabriel
Box 12			Fortunate Prevision
Box 12			Fortunes of War
Box 12			French translations of stories by Lucienne Escoube
				Contains: Les costands de Marseille Epilogue Une henreuse precaution Les jeux du destin Josephine L' Oncle Gherasim, translated by Mathilde Cambi
Box 12			Gavrila's Confession - printed pages, with last page typed manuscript
Box 12			Genius - longhand original and typescript draft
Box 12			The Gift of the Star
Box 12			A Gypsy and His Bear
Box 12			Haste Makes…
Box 12			The Heart Has its Own Reasons - alternate title: "Ask Not the Heart"
Box 12			The Hermit's Grace
Box 13			Hey-Day
Box 13			His is the Kingdom
				See also material filed under alternate title, Blossoming World.
Box 13			The Home
Box 13			The Home Remedy
Box 13			Horoscope
Box 13			Josephine
Box 13			Joseph's Bargain
Box 13			The Lamb and the Wolves
Box 13			Light in the Darkness - longhand original and typescript drafts; two copies marked in pencil "for a play", another one marked as "project for novel"
Box 13			Little Marie the Goosegirl
Box 13			Long Live Life - longhand original and typescript draft
Box 13			A Loose Tongue - longhand original and typescript draft
Box 13			Lupu the Haiduc
Box 13			Man Must Choose
Box 13			Mariana
Box 13			The Minstrel of Arles
Box 13			The Miracle
Box 13			El Monte de los Olivos - in Spanish; unclear whether Neagoe wrote this, because there is nothing else written in Spanish in his writings
Box 13			Mr. Warren - longhand original
Box 13			The Noble End
Box 13			Not Too Much to Ask
Box 13			A Novelists Survey of the Arts
Box 13			Ochi - in Romanian
Box 13			Of Man and Beasts
Box 14			Old Bill Carver
Box 14			Old John
Box 14			The Old Oak - includes facsimile of payment check to Neagoe signed by well-wishers
Box 14			Omicron and Omega
Box 14			On the Jewish God - short, only 1 page
Box 14			On the Squares of Paris - alternate title: "The Strong Men of Marseille"
Box 14			On the Word
Box 14			One Care
Box 14			The Orange
Box 14			Orchids for Mr. Smith
Box 14			Paris Projections
Box 14			Pere Dumas
Box 14			Peter the Great
Box 14			The Play of Destiny
Box 14			The Rivals
Box 14			The Rooster Who Outwitted the Fox - includes signed letter outlining book sale proceeds
Box 14			Sculpture
Box 14			The Sea - includes clipping of a short prose piece by Negoe entitled "Joy of Life"
Box 14			The Seed
Box 14			A Simple Case
Box 14			Soul and Soil
Box 14			Spring
Box 14			Stefan, the Miracle Man
Box 14			Story
Box 14			Strange Provision - alternate title: "Monsieur de Paris"
Box 15			Surreality
Box 15			There are No More Tomorrows
Box 15			There is No Paradise - alternate title: The Sculptor"
Box 15			Three After Anyone
Box 15			Till Death Do Us Part
Box 15			Tom Stark's Wisdom
Box 15			The Troubadour
Box 15			Twice Lucky
Box 15			Two Lessons in One
Box 15			Unto Your Children's Children - alternate title (crossed-out): "Bitter Fruit"
Box 15			Victims
Box 15			The Village - longhand original and typescript drafts; more an undeveloped story idea than actual short story
Box 15			Wax and Flames
Box 15			We Bought a House
Box 15			Where There is Smoke
Box 15			Who Conquers Himself
Box 15			The Wisdom of Dr. DeCasaros
Box 15			The Wonder Worker
Box 15			You Know as Well as I
		Speeches
Box 15			Miscellaneous 1934, 1936, 1944, undated
				Contains: Speech May 10th, 1934 - buff paper 5 pp. typescripts About Language (Y.M.C.A.) Sun. March. 15, 1936 - 7 pp. white type Martha Dean Program April 10, 1936 - 7 pp. white type World Peaceways Talk March 19, 1944 - 3 pp. white type Trends in Modern Literature, undated - 17 pp. Elements of Time & Memory in Literature - lecture, Mar 30 [no year given], 3 pp. white typescript
		Miscellaneous
Box 15			Artist biographies - longhand and typescript, in English and French; includes Paul Cezanne, Edgar Degas, Paul Ganguin, Claude Monet, Auguste Renoir, and Vincent Van Gogh (2 folders)
Box 15			Epigrams
			Notes - nearly all in longhand; titles given are those on original folders
Box 16				"Ideas - Notes - Misc." (2 folders)
Box 16				"Ideas to be looked over P.N."
Box 16				"Items to be looked over - Misc. Notes"
Box 16				"Notes for stories" - Longhand and typescript
Box 16				"Notes-Ideas-Misc" - typescript pieces
Box 16				"Notes - Ideas - Misc. P.N." (2 folders)
Box 16				"Notes to be Examined" (2 folders)
Box 17				"Notes to be Examined" (2 folders)
Box 17				"Original notes"
Box 17				[Untitled] (3 folders)
Box 17			"What is Surrealism" - discussion of Peter's 1932 booklet of the same name
Box 17			Miscellaneous fragments

	Miscellaneous
Box 17		Photocopies of collection material - unclear why these were copied or by who and for what purpose; all are stamped "photocopied from original manuscript in Syracuse University Library"
Box 17		Preface to From a Paris Garret by Richard le Gallienne - photocopy
Box 4		Sullivan, LT 842; Davidson, LT 5732 12/17/1940; 7/14/1948 (Audio cassette) (ID#: neagoe_p_001)

Return to top