Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Typescript: "Nature Seekers in New Mexico"

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Title: Typescript: "Nature Seekers in New Mexico"
Inclusive Dates: 1932
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Typescript essay by an unknown author, about a trip to New Mexico with poet Don Blanding.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The author of this essay is unknown; based on internal evidence, he or she was a teacher (there is mention of "nine months cooped up in a schoolroom") and went to college in Texas. Donald Benson Blanding (1894-1957) was an American poet, sometimes described as "poet laureate of Hawaii." He was also a journalist, cartoonist, author and speaker.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Typescript: "Nature Seekers in New Mexico" consists of a nine-page typescript essay (possibly intended for publication) by an unknown author. The essay is an account of a camping trip near Taos, New Mexico that the author took with poet Don Blanding. The typescript is heavily revised/edited.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Blanding, Don, 1894-1957.

Subjects

Nature in literature.

Places

New Mexico -- Description and travel.

Genres and Forms

Essays.
Manuscripts for publication.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Typescript: "Nature Seekers in New Mexico",
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unknown.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 19 Jun 2018
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Writings
SC 831 Nature seekers in New Mexico 1932 - typescript, 9pp

Return to top