Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Title: | Native American Leaders Prints Collection |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1857 |
| Quantity: | 0.1 linear ft. |
| Abstract: | hand-colored prints of Native American leaders |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Red Jacket, also known as Otetiani and Sagoyewatha (1750-1830) was a leader of the Seneca in what is now western New York. The Seneca were British allies during the American Revolution. Red Jacket was known as a skillfull and compelling orator (see for example his speech on "Religion for the White Man and the Red") and a advocate for the rights of his people.
Joseph Brant, or Thayendanegea (1743-1807), was a Mohawk military and political leader in what is now the state of New York. He and his sister Molly were close allies of Sir William Johnson, British Major-General and Superintendent of Indian Affairs for the region. Under the British Brant held several administrative positions, and during the American Revolution he led forces loyal to King George III against the rebels.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Native American Leaders Prints Collection consists of hand-colored engravings of Native American leaders Joseph Brant (Thayendanegea) and Red Jacket (Sagoyewatha).
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Subjects
Places
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Native American Leaders Prints Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Gift of John B. Stevens, Jr., 2017.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: MRC
Date: 24 Jan 2018
Revision history:
Inventory
| Engravings | |||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Red Jacket, Seneca chief 1857 | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Joseph Brant (Thayendanegea), Seneca chief 1857 | ||||||||||