Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

National Cartoonists Society Interviews

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: National Cartoonists Society.
Title: National Cartoonists Society Interviews
Inclusive Dates: 1959-1962
Quantity: 4 linear ft.
Abstract: Interviews with notable editorial and humor cartoonists, including Herblock, Rube Goldberg, Al Capp, Milton Caniff, Mort Walker and others.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The National Cartoonists Society grew out of the so-called "chalk talks" that a number of cartoonists did for the troops during World War II. The Society was officially formed in March of 1946 with Rube Goldberg as its first president. Within two weeks, the society had 32 members. As of 2011, the Society has 16 regional chapters and continues to foster cartoonists' involvement in worthy causes. See the NCS website at http://www.reuben.org for more information.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The National Cartoonists Society Interviews contains audio recordings of interviews with more than twenty notable cartoonists, both individually and in panel formats. The interviewers are subdivided by interviewee; 25 tapes (plus 50 duplicates) contain interviews conducted by cartoonist Bill Crawford and 10 tapes (plus 20 duplicates) contain interviews conducted by cartoonist Vernon Greene.

Of particular interest are the panels on Pulitzer Prize winners and on Russian cartoonists. In addition there are individual interviews with Mort Walker (Beetle Bailey), Milt Caniff (Terry and the Pirates, Steve Canyon), Otto Soglow (The Little King), Jimmy Hatlo (They'll Do It Every Time), sports cartoonist Willard Mullin, and Pulitzer Prize winners Bill Mauldin, Herbert Block, Rube Goldberg, and many others.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Tapes have been assigned identification numbers and are stored in numeric order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Some of the collection has been digitized. Please contact the repository for more information.

Special Collections Research Center has the papers of more than 150 cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Block, Herbert, 1909-2001.
Campbell, E. Simms (Elmer Simms), 1906-1971.
Caniff, Milton Arthur, 1907-1988.
Capp, Al, 1909-1979.
D'Alessio, Gregory.
Fitzpatrick, Daniel Robert, 1891-1969.
Gill, Tom.
Goldberg, Rube, 1883-1970.
Greene, Vernon Van Atta.
Hatlo, Jimmy, 1898-1963.
Hirschfeld, Al.
Holman, Bill, 1903-1987.
Illingworth, Leslie Gilbert, 1902-1979.
Lewis, Ross A. (Ross Aubrey), 1902-1977.
Lichty, George Maurice, 1905-1983.
Little, Tom, b. 1898.
Low, David, 1891-1963.
Mauldin, Bill, 1921-2003.
Mullin, Willard, 1902-1978.
Patterson, Russell, 1893-1977.
Searle, Ronald, 1920-2011.
Soglow, Otto, 1900-1975.
Swinnerton, Jimmy, 1875-1974.
Walker, Mort.
White, David Manning.

Corporate Bodies

National Cartoonists Society.

Subjects

Caricatures and cartoons -- United States..
Cartoonists -- United States.
Comic books, strips, etc. -- United States.
Editorial cartoonists -- United States..
Editorial cartoons -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Audiorecordings.
Interviews.

Occupations

Cartoonists.
Editorial cartoonists.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

National Cartoonists Society,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unspecified.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 15 Feb 2011
Revision history: 18 Jun 2012 - LCSH updates (MRC); 2 Feb 2016 - Inventory Update (PJM)

Return to top

Inventory

Note on alternate formats:

Some of the collection has been digitized. Please contact the repository for more information.

Recordings, audio
Oversize 1 E. Simms Campbell interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_001)
Oversize 1 Caniff and Patterson interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_002)
Oversize 1 E. Simms Campbell interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_003)
Oversize 1 E. Simms Campbell interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_004)
Oversize 1 Caniff and Patterson interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_005)
Oversize 1 Caniff and Patterson interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_006)
Oversize 1 Al Capp interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_007)
Oversize 1 Al Capp interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_008)
Oversize 1 Capp and Goldberg interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_009)
Oversize 1 Capp and Goldberg interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_010)
Oversize 1 Capp and Goldberg interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_011)
Oversize 1 Al Capp interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_012)
Oversize 1 Fitzpatrick and Dilliard 1962 interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_013)
Oversize 1 Fitzpatrick and Dilliard 1962 interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_014)
Oversize 1 Fitzpatrick and Dilliard 3-20-? interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_015)
Oversize 1 Fitzpatrick and Dilliard 3-20-? interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_016)
Oversize 1 Fitzpatrick and Dilliard 1962 interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_017)
Oversize 1 Fitzpatrick and Dilliard 3-20-? interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_018)
Oversize 1 Rube Goldberg interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_019)
Oversize 1 Rube Goldberg interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_020)
Oversize 1 Leslie Illingworth interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_021)
Oversize 1 Leslie Illingworth interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_022)
Oversize 1 Rube Goldberg interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_023)
Oversize 1 Leslie Illingworth interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_024)
Oversize 1 Jimmy Hatlo interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_025)
Oversize 1 Jimmy Hatlo interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_026)
Oversize 1 Hatlo and Campbell interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_027)
Oversize 1 Hatlo and Campbell interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_028)
Oversize 1 Hatlo and Campbell interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_029)
Oversize 1 Hatlo interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_030)
Oversize 1 Herbert Block interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_031)
Oversize 1 Herbert Block interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_032)
Oversize 2 Al Heirsheld, n.d. [Al Hirschfeld] interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_033)
Oversize 2 Al Heirsheld, n.d. [Al Hirschfeld] interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_034)
Oversize 2 Herbert Block interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_035)
Oversize 2 Al Hirsheld [Al Hirschfeld] interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_036)
Oversize 2 Bill Holman interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_037)
Oversize 2 Bill Holman interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_038)
Oversize 2 Ross Lewis interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_039)
Oversize 2 Ross Lewis interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_040)
Oversize 2 Ross Lewis interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_041)
Oversize 2 Bill Holman interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_042)
Oversize 2 Tom Little interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_043)
Oversize 2 Tom Little interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_044)
Oversize 2 Low and Mauldin interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_045)
Oversize 2 Low and Mauldin interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_046)
Oversize 2 Tom Little interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_047)
Oversize 2 Low and Mauldin interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_048)
Oversize 2 Bill Mauldin interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_049)
Oversize 2 Bill Mauldin interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_050)
Oversize 2 Willard Mullin interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_051)
Oversize 2 Willard Mullin interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_052)
Oversize 2 Bill Mauldin interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_053)
Oversize 2 Willard Mullin interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_054)
Oversize 2 Mullin-Hershfeld interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_055)
Oversize 2 Mullin-Hershfeld interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_056)
Oversize 2 Mullin-Hershfeld interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_057)
Oversize 2 Pulitzer Prize Winners (Herbert Block (Herblock), Rube Goldberg, Edmund Duffy, Edmund Valtman, C. D. Batchelor, Bill Mauldin) interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_058)
Oversize 2 Pulitzer Prize Winners (Herbert Block (Herblock), Rube Goldberg, Edmund Duffy, Edmund Valtman, C. D. Batchelor, Bill Mauldin) interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_059)
Oversize 2 Pulitzer Prize Winners (Herbert Block (Herblock), Rube Goldberg, Edmund Duffy, Edmund Valtman, C. D. Batchelor, Bill Mauldin) interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_060)
Oversize 2 Pulitzer Prize Winners (Herbert Block (Herblock), Rube Goldberg, Edmund Duffy, Edmund Valtman, C. D. Batchelor, Bill Mauldin) interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_061)
Oversize 2 Pulitzer Prize Winners (Herbert Block (Herblock), Rube Goldberg, Edmund Duffy, Edmund Valtman, C. D. Batchelor, Bill Mauldin) interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_062)
Oversize 2 Russians (Vitali Goriaev, Ivan Semenov) interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_063)
Oversize 2 Russians (Vitali Goriaev, Ivan Semenov) interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_064)
Oversize 2 Russians (Vitali Goriaev, Ivan Semenov) interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_065)
Oversize 2 Pulitzer Prize Winners (Herbert Block (Herblock), Rube Goldberg, Edmund Duffy, Edmund Valtman, C. D. Batchelor, Bill Mauldin) interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_066)
Oversize 3 Searle and Illingworth interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_067)
Oversize 3 Searle and Illingworth interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_068)
Oversize 3 Solgon and Searle interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_069)
Oversize 3 Solgon and Searle interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_070)
Oversize 3 Searle and Illingworth interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_071)
Oversize 3 Solgon and Searle interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_072)
Oversize 3 Walker and Little interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_073)
Oversize 3 Walker and Little interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_074)
Oversize 3 Walker and Little interviewed by Bill Crawford 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_075)
Oversize 3 Stephen Becker interviewed by Vernon Greene 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_076)
Oversize 3 Stephen Becker interviewed by Vernon Greene 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_077)
Oversize 3 Berry and Goldberg interviewed by Vernon Greene 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_078)
Oversize 3 Berry and Goldberg interviewed by Vernon Greene 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_079)
Oversize 3 Greene and Becker interviewed by Vernon Greene 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_080)
Oversize 3 Berry and Goldberg interviewed by Vernon Greene 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_081)
Oversize 3 Dunn and D'Alessio and Terry interviewed by Vernon Greene 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_082)
Oversize 3 Gill and Kurzman interviewed by Vernon Greene 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_083)
Oversize 3 Dunn and D'Alessio and Terry interviewed by Vernon Greene 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_084)
Oversize 3 Dunn - D'Alessio and Terry interviewed by Vernon Greene 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_085)
Oversize 3 Gill and Kurzman interviewed by Vernon Greene 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_086)
Oversize 3 Gill and Kurzman interviewed by Vernon Greene 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_087)
Oversize 3 Greene and Caniff interviewed by Vernon Greene 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_088)
Oversize 3 Greene and Caniff interviewed by Vernon Greene 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_089)
Oversize 3 Hasen, Edson and Johnstone interviewed by Vernon Greene 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_090)
Oversize 3 Hasen, Edson and Johnstone interviewed by Vernon Greene 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_091)
Oversize 3 Hasen, Edson and Johnstone interviewed by Vernon Greene 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_092)
Oversize 3 Greene and Caniff interviewed by Vernon Greene 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_093)
Oversize 3 Hirschfield and Terry interviewed by Vernon Greene 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_094)
Oversize 3 Hirschfield and Terry interviewed by Vernon Greene 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_095)
Oversize 3 Hirschfield and Terry interviewed by Vernon Greene 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_096)
Box 1 Lichty interviewed by Vernon Greene 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_097)
Box 1 Lichty interviewed by Vernon Greene 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_098)
Box 1 Swinnerton interviewed by Vernon Greene 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_099)
Box 1 Swinnerton interviewed by Vernon Greene 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_100)
Box 1 Lichty interviewed by Vernon Greene 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_101)
Box 1 Swinnerton interviewed by Vernon Greene 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_102)
Box 1 White and Kavanagh interviewed by Vernon Greene 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_103)
Box 1 White and Kavanagh interviewed by Vernon Greene 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_104)
Box 1 White and Kavanagh interviewed by Vernon Greene 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: nci_105)

Return to top