Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Louis Anathe Muller Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Hubbard, Robert J.
Title: Louis Anathe Muller Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1811-1895
Quantity: 1 box
Abstract: Collection of material relating to the real identity of Louis Anathe Muller, French exile and resident of Madison County, NY, 1806-1814. Muller's identity was variously postulated to be the Comte d'Artois (later Charles X of France); his son Charles Ferdinand, Duc de Berry; or Louis-Philippe. Material includes letters, signature tracings, deed of sale, and a reprint of an 1895 presentation to the Oneida Historical Society on the topic.
Language: English, French
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

The mystery of Muller Hill : comprising an entertaining love story of pioneer days, a history of the mysterious settler of the Georgetown Hills, and an interesting article disclosing the identity of the wealthy refugee, who was afterwards Charles X, King of France. 1930. (call numbers New York F127.M2 M99 1902 and New York F127.M2 M99 1930)

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Berry, Charles-Ferdinand de Bourbon, duc de, 1778-1820
Charles X, King of France, 1757-1836
Hubbard, Robert J.
Louis Philippe, King of the French, 1773-1850
Muller, Louis Anathe

Places

France, History, 19th century
Madison County (N.Y.) History

Genres and Forms

Indentures.
Letters (correspondence)
Reprints.
Signatures.
Speeches.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Louis Anathe Muller Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRR
Date: 30 Jan 2006
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 Hubbard, Robert J. 1893-1895 - includes correspondence with various people in the United States and France, and tracings of signatures
Manuscripts
Box 1 "The Muller Mansion" undated - author unknown
Oneida County Historical Society Presentations
Box 1 Mystery of the Muller mansion / Hubbard, Robert J. - originally delivered 10 Oct 1893; reprint; undated
Miscellaneous
Box 1 Deed of sale 1811 - proof of purchase of land in Madison County by Louis Anathe Muller
Box 1 Receipts 1816 - Receipts in Muller's own hand

Return to top